We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why does this riad have consistently high reviews?”
Review of Riad Numero 9

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Numero 9
Ranked #39 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Why does this riad have consistently high reviews?”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I had read about Riad #9, rated no. 1 by trip advisor travelers.. I wondered why this particular place would have such a rating, and decided that I wanted to be sure to stay there if possible. Meeting the owner,Stephen di Renza, his staff, and living there for four days gave me all the information I needed. Their personal and individual attention, the priority they give to details and assisting with your plans that make your stay enjoyable and less stressful...and having stayed at other riads in other cities...They are #1....in my book.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzhast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
181
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Staying at this beautifully decorated riad right in the midst of all the hustle and bustle of daily life in the medina gave us an amazing first glimpse into the treasures that Fes has to offer. First, there was an intimate, candle-lit dinner prepared by Bruno to welcome us; his super yummy "french toast" made with local bread, homemade jams, fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning to jumpstart the day and of course, some much appreciated, seasoned advice of how to get the most out of our short stay and navigate our way through the medina by Stephen made this long weekend a memorable experience! Last but not least, I could not have imagine doing all the baboush, food and spice shopping without the expert help of Attika!

It was all simply divine!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durendomiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Fez is an amazing city... and as it does not need any help being interesting and just magical. But Riad numero 9 just made it one of these places that I will never ever ever forget, for the rest of my life. Arriving up the little street at it's hidden door, this house goes almost unnoticed and catches one COMPLETELY off guard once you step inside! Everything in there is thought out, decorated eclectically, bright! An architectural Rothko! my eyes were just running all over the place, with my heart in it's hands. Meeting Stephen was an absolute joy, and we would looked forward to chatting with him every minute we could... during breakfast with Bruno's amazing confitures, and Atikas warm presence... In the afternoon, we enjoyed the rooftop with an amazing sweeping view of this old old city, sometimes, with the chants rising from all over! It gives me chills still, today, just thinking about it. We were very fortunate to have found Riad numero 9, and would recommend it blindly. Needless to say that I cannot wait to go back...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I love this house, every inch of it has been meticulously dressed in design, comfort and fun. We kept discovering new features – like the goldfish pond in the floor of the central room and the orchids and birds around the house. Bruno’s cooking is amazing, breakfast was a huge treat and both he and Stephen are excellent hosts. The terrace is gorgeous and the view breathtaking! If you can stay for dinner and request it on the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexieLexie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Riad 9 has to be one of the best traveling experiences of my adult life. The visual indulgence of colors, patterns and light of a new culture was an immense joy. Yet despite the visual seduction of being in a new land, Stephan , Bruno and Atika truly make Riad 9 a truly great destination. My wife and I have since returned to the chaos of city life, yet we still have a warm place in our hearts for Stephan and Riad 9.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I've never felt strongly enough about a hotel to post my opinion until now.
We were looking for an exotic location to spend our honeymoon, consulted this site, decided on Fez and made several enquiries.
The response from Riad Numero 9 convinced us that this was the place we were looking for: small, intimate, exotic, romantic and comfortable.
Having never visited Morocco we had loads of questions which were always thoughtfully answered immediately.
The riad organized pick-up, porter services... and included that in the price which was highly appreciated since we had no foreign currency.
There are only three guest rooms and we went for the master suite which was even more grand than the beautiful photos we had been sent.
Our suite was actually two rooms and took up a third of the property. The bedroom had completely hand-painted ceilings that were twelve feet high. The bathroom was just as big with an enormous walk-in shower (for two!).
Dinner the first evening was amazing: radish-top soup, moroccan-style assorted salads, French leg of lamb and poached pears in bitter, melted chocolate all the work of French chef bruno, one of the owners who's currently working on a restaurant next door.
Stephen, an American and the other owner provided us with lots of little tips (where they eat, favorite walks, what to expect to pay for lanterns as well as tourist traps to avoid.).
The decoration was spectacular yet we felt comfortable enough to relax.
The service (thank you smiling Attika and Kitoom) was always excellent and discreet.
Upon departure we learned that our first meal was compliments of the house to celebrate the first night of our honeymoon.
We were extremely touched by the generosity of riad numero 9 which will remain a treasured memory.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocages4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2009

What a wonderful way to begin our Moroccan honeymoon. Riad Numéro 9 in Fes was by far our favorite place to stay during our two-week whirlwind tour of Morocco. While we could wax on about the beautifully appointed rooms and magazine worthy decor, what really stood out for us was the hospitality. Hosts Stephen and Bruno have a generosity of spirit that is second to none. After staying three days, plus an extra, unplanned night due to some tummy trouble, we left feeling that Stephen, Bruno, and Atika (their great house manager and talented chef) had become our friends. We will return to Riad #9 because of that friendship.

Highlights:
* Private, authentic Moroccan dinner on the riad's roof deck.
* Stephen and Bruno's tips on activities, restaurants, and shopping (knowing a range for what we "should" pay for gifts/art was invaluable).
* Atika's chicken soup (a miracle cure).
* Stephen's red pony-hide slippers.
* Fes! A bustling, walled city that must be experienced to fully appreciate.
* Our day trip by grand taxi to Volubilis, Moulay Idriss, and Meknes. Our driver, Mahjoub, was recommended by Riad Numéro 9 and he was warm and gracious.

If you haven't been to Morocco, you need to go. And when you do, you must stay at Riad Numéro 9.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamDNA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#10 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Rcif
Riad Rcif
#8 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Property: Riad Numero 9
Address: 9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad n°9 is an 18th century bourgeois residence that has been reincarnated as a boutigue bed and breakfast. The decisive factor in purchasing the property was the roof terrace which has sweeping views over the medina. Riad n°9 was originally purchased as a vacation home in 1999 and underwent a 3-year restoration process. We uncovered all the original 18th century mosaics, carved wood and plaster and hand-painted wood. In 2007, we opened to the public and changed nothing believing guests would appreciate the "personal" touches throughout. Our philosophy is to offer guests the possibility of appropriating the space for themselves and experiencing what an authentic medina home feels like. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing