We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riad 9 - a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Numero 9

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Numero 9
Ranked #38 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Madison Wi.
1 review
“Riad 9 - a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

This is truly a gem of a place. You are welcomed as a personal guest at this meticulously restored riad within the old city a short walk from the souks. The riad itself is magnificent in its restored details (tilework, decorative wood carvings,etc.) and the beautiful rooms were very comfortable and quiet. We were given an excellent orientation and map of the area with suggestions for things to see. Arrangements were made for us to visit the nearby roman ruins of Volubilis. A bonus to the relaxing surroundings are the housekeeper, who speaks english and french, and is more than helpful, and her sister, the cook, who will cook dinner if you wish, served us exceptional food each evening with elegant table settings amid candlelight. Her tajines, soups and pastilla were delicious and we never wanted to eat elsewhere. The rooftop terrace where we were served breakfast has fantastic views over Fez and is a great place to read, relax and listen to the calls to prayer across the rooftops. Excellent on all counts and a special experience - enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
181
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

Walking through the door at Riad 9 in Fes began our adventure into that rare combination of traditional and modern accommodation rarely found in first-time visits to a country. Stephan and Bruno's Riad captures the unique history, art, and culture of Morocco. Our three days were a sensory feast--the restored Moorish architectural details accented with period antiques, carefully selected art work throughout, a roof-top terrace where we began and ended our days listening to the calls to worship from the dozens of Minarets surrounding us, uniquely designed rooms providing privacy, comfort, and connection to this Riad's former history, and gourmet breakfasts and dinners which were prepared, described, and served as if we were family members who had just returned from afar. We spent another week in other parts of Morocco, but nothing compared to our first days in Fes at Raid 9.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo462010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

This Riad is ideal for a short break in Fez, We had the place to ourselves and had a wonderful meal was prepared on the evening of our arrival. Stephen Di Renza spent time suggesting places to see and eat. A few minutes orientation meant we could find our way around quite easily. The Riad is beautifully restored and has the added bonus of a spacious roof terrace. We will definately stay again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Equitator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We traveled with two daughters age 5 and 9 during the summer of 2009. We were lucky we managed to get a room as it was during the Fes Festival of Sacred Music. We booked based on the rating on TripAdvisor and we definitely made the right choice!
The riad is centrally located inside the medina. Perfect location to explore the old city. We stayed in the large suite at the top floor and it was huge. We love the decor and there were plenty of art books / coffee table books placed around the room and throughout the riad. We were there when the weather was rather warm and the room had no fan or air-conditioning so the first 2 nights were quite uncomfortable but it was better when the weather cooled down a little.
Our daughters loved the cats, Tasche and Bleu and the many pets that Stephen and Bruno had including birds and a tortoise! Children will love this place.
Stephen and Bruno were the perfect hosts. They provided us with the information we needed and recommended places to visit, restaurants to go to, what to buy and where to buy etc. They even loaned us some guidebooks. Atika and her sister Kitoum also took good care of us. One night, when my husband and I wanted to watch a performance at the Fes Festival, Atika kindly agreed to babysit our daughters and they had a great time together.
The breakfast was excellent with homemade jams / preserves by Bruno and Moroccan breads / pancakes and pastries cooked by Kitoum. Lovely assorted honey from the local market and of course, fresh orange juice. One of the most memorable breakfasts I've had.
We would definitely stay here again and I will recommend this place to anyone going to Fes.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

My husband and I planned our first trip to Morocco to celebrate an anniversary and we chose to spend the actual day in Fes at Riad No 9 and we are so glad we did. The riad is beautiful..clearly restored with love and care and decorated with a creative eye. Stephen and Bruno are wonderful hosts and together with Atika made our stay want of nothing. The food is amazing...as is enjoying breakfast on the very nice rooftop terrace. The views from terrace give you a sense of Fes that you don't get on foot and is a lovely place to sit and take it all in. We stayed in the bedroom on the 3rd floor which is very spacious and comfortable. The location is perfect for exploring the medina...but the space is so nice you'll also love just enjoying a glass of wine in the riad. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

My husband and I recently returned from a 15-day tour of Morocco the highlight of which was the ancient imperial city of Fez and more precisely, the charming Riad Numero 9.
From our first contact by mail American-born Stephen was helpful, informative and pleasant. He took the time to answer my endless questions -this was our first trip to the country- and gave us a good idea of what to expect from transportation and weather to local customs and dress.

The riad's lovely housekeeper Atika met us at the train station and accompanied us to the riad. The taxi ride, porters, tips... were covered by the riad which eliminated all the haggling... that we had to deal with in the other cities we visited, leaving us to visually absorb this medieval walled-in city.

Riad 9's other owner, French-born Bruno (ex-Paris restauranteur), greeted us with a cup of organic vanilla and violet tea (direct from his tea merchant in Paris) and his own freshly baked petits-fours.

Our room was a two-room suite which took up the third floor. The decoration was wonderfully eccentric (Stephen is ex-fashion director of Bergdorf Goodman and creative director for Dunhill): baby python-covered end tables, Vietnamese temple hangings, deco barber chairs in the bathroom...

Interestingly, the place still feels authentic due to Stephen and Bruno's immaculate restoration of the 18th century property. Breakfast's were a delight and varied from day to day. Each morning we were warmly greeted by Atika and her sister Ki-Toum and served freshly squeezed juices with ginger, local breads, home-made jams (sweet potato, banana, plum with rosemary...), wild honeys, yogurts, spiced pumpkin omelettes... around a sunken Japanese table in the central courtyard next to a lovely fish pond.
Afternoon tea on the roof garden was a true "pleasure for the eyes". The riad offers one of the best vantage points over the medina and its tranquility is in stark contrast to the hustle and bustle going on below.

We opted to dine in more than once and found Bruno's Franco-moraccian cuisine not only inventive but the best we tasted throughout our entire trip!

I could go on and on about the beautiful decoration, food, ideal location ... but what really made this place special was the people. It's obvious that they put not only a lot of time and energy into their project but also lots of attention and love.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_slama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dane in Paris
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

I highly recommend 'Riad Numbero 9'. It really is a beautiful and peaceful oasis right in the middle of the exciting Medina. It's only a short walk from the Karaouine and the Moulay Idriss Mosques, and surrounded by nice Souks. The decor is excellent, full of surprises, made with local crafts mixed with 'treasures' brought back from various trips around the world. There's a fantastic view on the Medina from their big and cozy roof top terrace. Stephen and Bruno are great hosts, they really make you feel at home. Extremely generous with their knowledge about the city, they are also very helpful with good dinner, Spa, cultural addresses. Have a wonderful stay :-) X-tian

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XtianFromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#30 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#9 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Rcif
Riad Rcif
#7 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Property: Riad Numero 9
Address: 9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad n°9 is an 18th century bourgeois residence that has been reincarnated as a boutigue bed and breakfast. The decisive factor in purchasing the property was the roof terrace which has sweeping views over the medina. Riad n°9 was originally purchased as a vacation home in 1999 and underwent a 3-year restoration process. We uncovered all the original 18th century mosaics, carved wood and plaster and hand-painted wood. In 2007, we opened to the public and changed nothing believing guests would appreciate the "personal" touches throughout. Our philosophy is to offer guests the possibility of appropriating the space for themselves and experiencing what an authentic medina home feels like. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing