We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Riad in central Fez”
Review of Riad Numero 9

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Numero 9
Ranked #45 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is a fantastic Riad right in the centre of the old part of Fez. Beautifully decorated, fantastic host (Stephen), yummy breakfasts, and a very relaxed feel. The pick up and drop off to the airport is a nice touch as well. We arrived to find that Stephen had upgraded us to the top floor (this room is an entire floor) which was stunning. Stephen was a great host, giving us great tips and some interesting stories! We both thoroughly recommend Riad 9 as a place to stay and relax in Fez.
Paul and Hilary

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulJamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Riad Numero 9
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We just left Riad #9 a 3 days ago and I can't say enough about the wonderful time we had there. We arrived late at night and Stephen took the time to welcome us, explain the geography of the city, what to do/not to do, etc. The Riad is very traditional, very welcoming and we loved the central location. We absolutely recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickg509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I stayed at Riad No. 9 for three nights in July and it was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Morocco. The Riad is warm, relaxing, and a great haven in the chaos of the Medina. Stephen, Bruno and Atika are wonderful hosts. The experience was like staying at the (very stylish) home of an old friend. As a solo traveller, I also appreciated the great company and conversations I had with Stephen and Bruno over dinner. Be sure to try Bruno's cooking -- it is not to be missed. I had wonderful meals in Marrakech and Essouaira, but found Bruno's cooking to be by the far the best I had in Morocco. Stephen was also very sweet to give me a book to read on my 7 hour train ride to Marrakech. It made the ride go by much faster and that much more entertaining.

So if you want a place that's centrally located, a place to relax and listen to music, a place to read on a beautiful terrace, a place to have sumptuous, gourmet cuisine, and a place where your hosts treat you like old friends, look no further than Riad No. 9. You'll be loving life and you'll be loving Fes. Thank you Stephen, Bruno and Atika!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We could not have found a better place to stay for our family. They have created a stylish and peaceful home for guests in the middle of a very unfamiliar culture. Stephen and Bruno and Atika are warm and generous people. It was a pleasure to stay with them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nunesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Four of us arrived in May from New Zealand hoping for a colourful and comfortable first few days in Fes after the long haul flight from the southern hemisphere.
We were overwhelmed to find ourselves in a riad with more than aesthetically lovely surroundings and good service. Stephen and Bruno have created a very special place where their generosity, conversation, ideas, gorgeous food and an amazing culture of care for guests and staff made our stay unforgettable. While we were there work was in progress on the roof and in the adjoining building but, because we became so interested, even workmen with hammers were a delight. You will not find better than this

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Alisonnz255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My wife and I spent the first four nights of our two week Moroccan adventure at riad n°9. What an amazing decision that turned out to be....literally the highlight of our trip.

For starters as other reviewers have stated, the riad itself is stunning. A beautifully restored home in the heart of the medina in Fes, with panoramic views on the rooftop terrace, authentic Moroccan tile and woodwork throughout and a gorgeous atrium and koi pond on the main floor. The decor is authentic Moroccan with just the right touch of eclectic style for a uniquely fun atmosphere.

But rather than simply reiterating all of the things that make this wonderful riad so great (of which there are many), I would rather discuss what really sets it apart. The personal touch...

Stephen and Bruno are the most remarkable hosts one could imagine. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed we were literally treated as guests in their home. They shared so much with us beyond advice for visiting Fes and maintaining the comforts of our stay. They became friends who would share in the delight of our daily experiences, invite us to join activities with them and even provided some delightful samples of Bruno's amazing patisserie and other culinary pleasures. We enjoyed many delightful conversations together over the course of our stay and their two assistants Atika and Kitoum took care of our every need and were so attentive, courteous and helpful.

Even leading up to the trip, I emailed the riad many times for advice and planning tips (probably too many, and some not even concerning Fes). Stephen responded graciously every time with helpful information and connecting me with the right people I needed.

Fes is a delightful city to visit and offers a terrific immersion into Morocco without all of the touristic crowds and activities and our choice to stay at riad n°9 provided a perfectly peaceful and beautiful start to a wonderful trip.

...and we left Fes with new friends.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Beautifully restored, brilliant food by Bruno, stories and advice by Stephen. Riad 9 or the Riad of Stephen and Bruno is an oasis in a wonderful city. We loved it so much, we got engaged on the rooftop, complete with turtles and birds. Treat yourself - you will love it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_kram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 100 in Fes
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Dar Roumana
Dar Roumana
#9 of 216 in Fes
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#7 of 216 in Fes
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Address: 9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £88 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad n°9 is an 18th century bourgeois residence that has been reincarnated as a boutigue bed and breakfast. The decisive factor in purchasing the property was the roof terrace which has sweeping views over the medina. Riad n°9 was originally purchased as a vacation home in 1999 and underwent a 3-year restoration process. We uncovered all the original 18th century mosaics, carved wood and plaster and hand-painted wood. In 2007, we opened to the public and changed nothing believing guests would appreciate the "personal" touches throughout. Our philosophy is to offer guests the possibility of appropriating the space for themselves and experiencing what an authentic medina home feels like. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing