We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #85 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This option is not too bad if you are staying in the Ville Nouvelle of Fes, but if you are on a holiday trip I would recommend to stay in the medina.
Our room was OK. Clean, but also a bit run down. The bathroom (in a closet) was tiny and it took ages for the shower to warm up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    38
    37
    15
    11
See reviews for
15
31
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We arrived in Fes from Rabat with low hotel expectations (our experience in Rabat was overpriced and poor quality hotels in the city center) . We were pleasantly surprised by this pretty little hotel.The lobby and pool are lovely, the restaurant very good and the central location is excellent. You can walk to the train station a few blocks away. The rooms are good quality for a three star hotel in Moroc. We definately recommend this one for groups, families, couples etc.k

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainetSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

As a backpacker this is the only place that has provided me a swimming pool!

I had a room with a small balcony overlooking the street. I did not have any problems of smoke/noise as mentioned in the blog. Rooms & toilets were clean.

Staff were not interactive.

Note that breakfast is not included as part of the tariff...contrary to most other tourist places in Morocco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kumaresh_sekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I thought the staff was super friendly and helpful. Customer service in Morocco isn't really a known concept the majority of the time, but we were given a great breakfast and the staff always greeted us at the door and were very helpful.

A member of our group complained that his TV didn't work, but who goes to Fez to watch TV? We never even got around to using ours. The location was great, only a few blocks away from Hassan II and near plenty of bars and restaurants, although there isn't really much of nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittini51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Room was clean and spacious. Comfy beds. Fantastic breakfast. Staff was kind of snooty though - not very friendly or helpful. Maybe because we were young backpacker types, and the hotel seemed to cater more to business travelers. There wasn't a working remote control available for the TV in our room. Also, not much to do in the area.

The place was pricier than most places we stayed. Though the room was good, I'm not sure it was all really worth what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyisgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Just about good enough. Good central location in the new town. The best part of the hotel is the swimming pool. When I asked if the pool was open I got a strange look and told "yes" with a look that siad "why wouldn't it be?". I think, as other reviews indicate, the reception staff need some training in customer service skills.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudger1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Spent 2 nights here and found it to be excellent value for money (about 300 dirhams per night) In contrast to other reviewers I found the staff very friendly, the reception staff were smiling and joking. Even the cleaning staff were friendly- asking if I'd slept well etc. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and there was hot water in the morning and evening. That was all I was interested in. The only down side is that it's a good 30-40 mins walk to the medina. I'd go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pageit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.6 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#52 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#83 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#51 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mounia
Hotel Mounia
#74 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zahrat al Jabal
Zahrat al Jabal
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.7 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#61 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: 9 Rue Abdelkrim El Khattabi, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing