We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of potential - simply disappointing!”
Review of Dar Al Andalous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Al Andalous
Ranked #60 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loads of potential - simply disappointing!”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The building is stunning, the location is great! It's a shame it's poorly run and not maintained to the standard of their asking rates. 

The Riad went for €150 on sites like Expedia - same price as the 5-star Sofitel (which I didn't book as I wanted a more traditional experience) and not far from the amazing Riad Fes (w the Relais & Chateau name backing their excellent service). 

I booked this Riad based on the comments and photos posted on trip advisor and other sites. My experience was far from meeting the expectations set from those positive reviews and lovely photos - not to mention the hefty price tag especially when compared to the standards set by other riads that I stayed in during my trip. 

In hindsight, the online booking experience should have warned me! Knowing that calling the hotel directly allows you to negotiate the price, I booked using their own website where I got an automatic response but never a confirmation of availability... I phoned to reassure these dates and spoke to Kabiri and negotiated the rate down to €100 -should have gone down to €60! 

The language barrier didn't help but everything was okay and was told to phone upon my arrival to get directions to the hotel... Arriving at Fez, I phone the Riad as advised. From my experience in Marrakech I was expecting somebody from the Riad to meet us at a central point and be guided to the Riad. All I got is "get a taxi to the Riad." Of course our taxi driver didn't know the Riad and we had to rely upon some of the thugs/ Fassi faux guides - another story in its own right - to take us to our Riad. 

Upon arrival, the host although kind and friendly was simply incompetent. None of the lights of the riad were on. None of the plants from the photos were in the grand room either - the riad felt cold and eerie like an abandoned house. The mint tea was not started even though they knew we were coming, and he made us wait 15 min before bringing it out along with the Moroccan-government required forms. He was also unable to highlight (let alone recommend) any important sights and must dos in Fez! Simply not what you expect from a hotel charging €150 a night!

The second night the owner (again friendly - but who has no idea what the word hospitality means!) came along ONLY to collect the money - which is the only thing he is interested in! Didn't care how was our stay - and providing any feedback would have been pointless! All he's interested (along with half the city) is ripping off tourists. Such a shame and truly unfair to all the lovely Berber and Moroccan people that we met throughout our 10 day journey in this beautiful country.

If I were you I'd spend my hard earned money elsewhere...

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jctrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    26
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
47
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The Dar Al Andalous is in a great location close to the medina. The service was excellent with a family atmosphere which made us feel very much at home.

Our room was beautiful and we feel this lovely hotel, so wonderfully restored to its former glory, made our holiday special. We will be going back to chill again one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie_Jeff_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed in this riad for approx 4 days and it was a lovely and relaxing time. Situated close to the main gate into the souk. The rooms were clean and the atmosphere chilled out. The riad had a hammam on the premises and a kitchen that cranked out some tasty meals. The staff was really attentive and Zahra who runs the place was extremely helpful. Stop on over there and stay awhile.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Upon arriving, we were welcomed with some mint thee. Our room was not ready yet, but it took only 5 minutes bofore it was ready.
The room itself was lovely and very spatious.
The main lounge is huge and the walls consists of beautifull mosaics. However, the roof was made of glass what drastically increased the temperature in the lounge to an unbearable level. Luckily, during dinner (very expensive for Moroccan standards), they opened it.
Overall a nice riad in the middle of the medina. They can also arrange a guide for you if you want.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The moment I entered into this riad, I was amazed by the beautiful architecture and decor. We were greeted with mint tea

(which I realize to be a standard check-in procedure at many of the riads, but still nice). The riad was full and the standard

room with twin beds that we reserved online was double-booked, but the manager upgraded us to the suite.

Our room was on the ground floow next to the lobby, but thanks to the heavy wooden door & double windows the noise from

lobby and dining room didn't bother us. The room was equipped with a TV, an AC and a refridgerator (nice to have!). We also

had a complementary bottled water and a fruit basket on the first day. The only The shower booth was very small and water

pressure was somewhat weak. The breakfast included fresh orange juice, coffee and several different kinds of Moroccan

bread which was prepared after we showed up in the dining room so they were warm. The riad was very conveniently located just a few min walk from Batha square where there was a petit taxi stop, and 5 min walk to Bab Boujloud. The way back to the riad was easy to find, and although it was located at the end of an alley, there were many people in the alley (mostly mothers with children) so we did not feel unsafe. And there was a staff that would open the door as soon as we rang the door bell, any time of the day.

The riad would also arrange a large taxi to/from the airport, a licensed guide for medina and serve Moroccan dinner at night upon request, although we didn't use their guide nor ate at the riad because we thought it was a little pricey.

This riad was probably not the cheapest option in the area, but it was beautiful, clean and showed us a very pleasant Moroccan hospitality. If I go back to Fes, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, Herts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

This riad is so easy to find. close to the old Medina. Wwhen you walk in its so lovely and clean. Its much cleaner than other riads, and value for money. The room was fantastic. Well decorated with a TV and fridge but not a great deal of drinking water! The bathroom was nice but no shower curtain. You can have a nice bath instead though. The staff are so friendly and really helpful. Try the hammam here too. The rof terrace is fantastic, we were up there every night listening to the prayer calls and the background hustle/bustle of the old medina. Sometimes you will here some live folk music in the distance. The dinner is ok, I would give it a go. I think this was the friendliest place we stayed at in Fes, Morocco. Lots of fond memories here. Really enjoyed my stay. Made very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The dingy alley location is a stark contrast to the beauty of this guest house. It is magnificently restored, but the current management seems more focused on maximizing revenue, than on providing a great experience to the guests.
Our driver was unable to find the riad and they did not answer their fone during the afternoon of our arrival, when we were searching for them. We were greeted with mint tea and a glass of wine upon arrival, but the evening before checkout we were told that wine by the glass was not available - only by the bottle. A request for some nibbles or cheese and bread with an afternoon drink found us being pressed repeatedly to order cooked specialties or dinner. The hour delay in obtaining the bread and cheese or fruit or nuts continued despite our continued refusal of a meal cooked for us.
We did not dine in the riad, but the other guests who did reported that the food was average at best, and not recommended.
in walking distance are the excellent Maison Blue and a nite club with a great floor show and belly dancers
The guest rooms on the ground floor open directly onto the hotel lobby. Don't plan to sleep late because they are lacking adequate drapes to provide privacy or insulate from the noise of breakfast preps. The bath/toilet facilities for these rooms require a 25 step climb. Men of average height will find that they cannot relieve themselves without being seated, since the ceiling is so low.
The bathrooms are wonderfully equipped with jacuzzi tubs but it is very awkward to shower since no shower curtain is provided and the shower head on hose must be hand held when in use. A simple bracket would solve the problem.
The wardrobe was not deep enough for hangers and very few were provided.

The 2nd floor suites require a 32 step climb and ours had an air conditioner that dripped constantly when in operation. Quite dangerous with 220 volt current on a wet tile floor alongside the bed. Management was unable to rectify the problem. They also had trouble keeping the slow internet service working. It was out more than 1/2 of our 3 days and explains the extensive problems we had confirming our reservation via email.
It is not possible to find a place to read in your room since the room lighting is very minimal.

Ladies will find it difficult to shampoo their hair ,since the shampoo provided is in an unopenable packet and three hands are required.
The bath towels are of a very coarse quality but hair dryers are provided.
It is with great regret I post this less than favorable review, but the prices charged do not match the quality we experienced in other riads in our two week tour of Morocco

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Layla
Riad Layla
#31 of 98 in Fes
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Marjana suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Damia
Riad Damia
#32 of 98 in Fes
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#27 of 98 in Fes
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
0.4 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#47 of 98 in Fes
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Andalous

Property: Dar Al Andalous
Address: 14 Derb Bennani | Quartier Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#36 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Al Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Al Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Andalous Fes
Dar Al Andalous Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing