We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather 2* than 4*”
Review of Hotel Volubilis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Volubilis
Ranked #93 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The staff at this hotel didn't welcome us in the friendly way that is common in Morocco. The room was large in size, but failed to meet any other expectations I had for a 4 star hotel. There was neither a safe nor a fridge / minibar in the room, the amenities in the bathroom were pitiable, the shower gel came in subminiature portions. In the bathroom there was even mould on the tiles (due to lack of ventilation)! The rooms were serviced in a strange way: E.g. used towels were removed but no new ones provided, shower gel was not replenished etc.
Our room and the entire hotel appear due for a refurbishment.
Breakfast: In a 4 star hotel I expect friendly waiters (we had snotty ones), espresso coffee (not available although ubiquitary in Morocco), and a more attractive choice from the buffet.
Next time in town I would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank global_freq_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

Poolside service of olives and bread along with a local bottle of white wine was a pleasant surprise. Our Trafalgar tour provided a buffet dinner at the hotel restaurant since not much is within walking distance of this courtyard hotel with rooms facing the pool. Rooms are simple but comfortable with a/c, polished floors and a tiled bathroom. Our room was on the ground floor with palm trees and flowering shrubs screening our patio from the pool. A light breakfast of breads, hard boiled eggs, local tea, mint tea, and orange juice, cheeses and ham. A woman fried up flour tortilla-like flat bread on a hot skillet in olive oil, which tasted great with the fig jam, dates and honey. There is a smoky locals bar in front of the lobby and a small gift shop that sells stamps. Sandwiches and salads, along with beer and wine are available on the restaurant and terrace facing the pool for lunch.

Room Tip: Main level has private patios thanks to the lovely landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Rooms spacious , arab style , clean, nice pool, nice garden, good location , service is good but staff is rude would recomend it sply if u want to save ur budget otherwise go for sofitel palais jamai which is fabulous

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheriemam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Jouxting the Palais des Congrès,the hotel Volubilis takes its name from the ruins of the roman city by Meknes 80 km away.Enjoy the swimming pool and the shade of the palm trees .This hotel belongs to the tour operator FRAM company supplying tourist groups to fill bedrooms and restaurant .Food is reasonably good but buffet dinners cannot compete with Turkish abundance and variety .For breakfast ask for scrambled eggs.The Fram office in the lobby proposes expensive tours for individuals.A shop also located in the lobby sells post cards and stamps. Change is available at the front desk at the prevailing bank rate.

Room Tip: Ground floor bedrooms around the swimming pool could be also called cabanas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyCarnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gince61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Unser Zimmer wurde zugeteilt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank sarahsasa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#50 of 100 in Fes
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#56 of 100 in Fes
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#90 of 100 in Fes
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#63 of 100 in Fes
642 reviews
1 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#47 of 100 in Fes
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Menzeh Fes
Menzeh Fes
#91 of 100 in Fes
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Volubilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volubilis

Address: Avenue Allal Ben Abdellah, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £37 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Volubilis 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Volubilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volubilis Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing