We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fes Inn - Sodetel
Ranked #80 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

At first we thought this to be a decent tour-allocated accommodation. Good firm bed, big bathroom. However, issues with the wifi at first – everyone had same problem – eventually but reluctantly they powercycled the modem and fixed the problem. Next, our air con had no remote – again not such a big issue but when handled badly its annoying. Front desk girl said she'd get someone to look but half hour later and nothing – went back to desk and she gave me a remote for another room which didn’t work – then a guy came to look at it and gestures where the remote was? He then showed us that the mode on the unit was not adjustable so we made do with leaving on winter thermostat setting. No hairdryer in room and when we asked for one, we got the classic half-melted fire hazard. They also left the window open after cleaning room while we were out – this on a ground floor can mean easy theft for anyone so willing! Breakfast should be avoided. Coffee, tea and juice were just passable. The rest, a mix of breads, pastry, pancakes, gluggy scrambled eggs, bad sausage etc. and most basic cereal. No fruit to speak of at all. Had to ask for a cereal bowls, some cutlery etc and saw one waiter handling food barehanded.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berliner_Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    66
    49
    25
    18
See reviews for
21
53
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I really don't like posting such negative reviews, but the Fes Inn earned it. Despite the fact the rooms were comfortable and wifi was available, there is trouble lurking. First of all, another reviewer mentioned the bottled water incident -- the hotel doesn't permit guests to bring in their own beverages [keep in mind that some of us brush our teeth with bottled water]. The hotel charges much more than the local shops & insists you purchase on site. Much worse than this, upon departure [I was with a group of 15], the staff ran after us [after they were tipped] and accused two people of stealing a dirty bath towel. They kept us on the property for almost 45 minutes making accusations and demanding $150 MAD [way more than the price of a towel] if we wanted to leave. They even demanded to search bags. It was completely insane & our guides told us the staff had done this before. Such dishonest behavior cannot be rewarded with more business, even if the rooms are nice. This was the ONLY negative experience I had during a 10 day visit in Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Cesena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,197 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,072 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

rooms with air conditioner, LCD TV, very well hotel in a beautiful city. very recomended it. we spent only one night but it was wothwhile. friendly staff and nice location only a bit outside the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I saw a woman entered the hotel with two bottles of water while I was sitting in the lobby for wi-fi. A body guard stopped her in a rude way. Those water bottles are not allowed in the hotel, he said. Woman said him in English there was no minibar in hotel rooms and needed those water. Thereupon, second bodyguard came in the lobby. They began to resist women with physical contact while they were shouting at the same time. Poor receptionist could do nothing all the things happened in front of reception. Other customers in the lobby saw that awful scenery as well. Yes ! A bottle of water bought from outside can not allowed in the hotel according to universal rules, however nobody can not behave a woman such a rude manner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustafa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of a Peregrine Tour. If you are not up early and the hotel is busy, expect no hot water! The hotel is also in a seedy area well away from the medina and other restaurants. Breakfasts are poor with watery eggs - they are unable to keep the buffet stocked when busy. The air con didn't work and the toilet seat was broken. One afternoon we returned to find no towels in the room and on another occasion our windows were left open by the maid and we were on the ground floor! Try another hotel!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Winelovers1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed a few nites here - the hotel is nice enough - though they would only supply one key to the room, which when sharing created a little hassle and more foreward planning. The bathroom in my room was a little odd shaped and the doors wouldn't close properly. Though other rooms I saw were quite beautiful. The breakfast buffet was not that great - the eggs where watery and odd tasting.

The pool was a highlight and staff there were extremely accommodating with towels etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityChick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is great for the budget traveler wishing to have the use of a pool. We ended a long car journey in Fes and wanted to relax rather than have the hassle of the medina. We chose this hotel because of the price (barely £5 more per night than a riad) and the pool. We made a good choice!

The pool is great, lovely palm trees, a bar and free towels. It is just over the road from the hotel and offers a tranquil retreat from the city.

The breakfast was reasonably good for a buffet, a good choice of food and didn't run out even though we were eating towards the end of service. As usual with buffets, some of the cooked foods were overcooked, but it was generally to the standard I was expecting.

The rooms were clean, with a shower and TV with movies. There wasn't a view, but it was fine for what we wanted.

The major downside to this hotel is its location. Sadly it is down a partly unlit street, away from the new or old town. However, Fes's taxis do tend to run on the meter (apart from at night, expect to pay double or treble the meter price, still quite cheap though) - around 10 Dirhams to the new town, around 35 to the old town.

The hotel organised a tour guide for the old city at around 250 Dirhams for the morning. He was very nice, showed us to some good locations with good selections of crafts (no overwhelming pressure to buy) and gave us a lot of good information on the city. One piece of advice is to be aware of which day you do this on. We did this on a Friday when almost everything is closed, and you do lose a lot of the atmosphere from that. We weren't informed of this by reception when we booked, and thought that we really should have been as it does change necessity of the tour.

Overall a very good hotel, let down somewhat by the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fes
0.0 mi away
Palmeraie
Palmeraie
#36 of 40 in Ouarzazate
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Batha
Hotel Batha
#73 of 99 in Fes
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#85 of 99 in Fes
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Merinides
Les Merinides
#65 of 99 in Fes
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
0.0 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#56 of 99 in Fes
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fes Inn - Sodetel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fes Inn - Sodetel

Property: Hotel Fes Inn - Sodetel
Address: 47 Rue 2 | Sidi Brahim, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fes Inn - Sodetel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fes Inn - Sodetel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fes Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing