We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well located, friendly”
Review of Dar Roumana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Roumana
Ranked #9 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well located, friendly”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Dar Roumana was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in during my rest trio to Morocco. You can't see much from the outside, but the inside is amazingly beautiful, with extra-high ceilings and beautiful tilework. The roof terrace is great, as the building of the Dar is slightly higher than the others around, which allows for beautiful views over the medina on one side and the Merenid tombs on the other. It is a great experience to just sit there and listen as the call to prayer starts and goes around as the sun sets. The service is great too, thanks to Vanessa, the manager, who is very attentive to our needs, and her team (e.g. she arranged for a great little doggy bag breakfast on our last day because we were leaving so early). Overall, highly recommended - stay as long as you can!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mcl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    27
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
70
233
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a great place. Nothing from the outside but once inside WOW! Our room was large and comfortable, the food fantastic and all the people involved in running the Dar Roumana were very friendly and helpful. This Riad is close enough to the Medina to make exploring Fes very easy but it is so peaceful and quiet inside that you could be forgiven for thinking that you were staying in the desert. Definitely the Jewel in the Crown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for 4 nights during our honeymoon in Morocco. We booked the Argana room for 2 nights and the Yasmina room for 2 nights, and we were upgraded to the Yasmina room a night early for no charge. The Yasmina room was huge and covered with ornate tile-work, the Argana room was rustic and quirky, and both were full of fresh roses. There are many common areas for sitting and taking your afternoon tea, including a library, a computer room, and a rooftop terrace. The entire dar was impeccably clean and well maintained. The staff are so helpful and friendly that after a day it feels as comfortable as your own home. The manager Vanessa gave us a great orientation to the city when we arrived, and helped us arrange a cooking class at a nearby cafe. Her husband Vincent is the chef 5 nights a week, and his cooking was the best we had on our whole trip. On Monday night another staff member serves Moroccan food, and her chicken tagine was among the very best of the many great Moroccan meals we shared. We stayed in many dars and riads across Morocco while on our honemoon, but Dar Roumana was the most beautiful and had the best food. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have spent 3 nights at this old but nicely restored Riad which is stunning. Really amazing tiles on th walls make it so beautiful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very friendly and the manager was very kind and helpful with everything. We also had dinner which was great. It was a fusion of Moroccan and French cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DemosDemosthenous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I spent four nights. Our room on the ground floor was spacious and comfortable.

Food and service were excellent even on chef's night off. We loved the ground floor dining area in the centre of the building but open to the sky four floors up, with breakfast on the roof.

The whole place ran smoothly with high quality guides for private tours. Very well located for sightseeing.

Staff very helpful and friendly.

Wifi worked well.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: In the hot months a room with A/C would probably be advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We ended our tour of Morocco in Fes and saved the best for last. Dar Roumana is possibly one of the most stunning riads you'll see anywhere in Morocco - it has been beautifully and tastefully renovated.

We booked the Yasmina suite, but on arrival were delighted to have been upgraded to the Yasmina Suite. Vanessa (the general manager) greeted us warmly and after a tour of the medina showed us to our room - we both audibly gasped on entry, it was that stunning. Beautifully appointed, with a terrace, fantastic linens, toiletries and plush towels, we felt like royalty.

Everything about our experience at Dar Roumana was fabulous, right from the time of booking and the helpful and proactive emails from Vanessa, to booking tour guides and hammam/spa treatments for us on arrival. All the staff were so helpful, and went out of their way to provide assistance and advice. We had some challenges at the Fes airport after our stay and Vanessa and her team have been so generous with their time in helping us resolve them.

The restaurant is first class and both the meals we had there were exceptional - world class. The roof terrace offers probably one of the best views of the medina available in Fes. Hearing the Adham (call to prayer) from the 300+ mosques in the medina from the roof terrace at sunset was such an evocative, magical experience. The sound rolled around the hills like waves - quite remarkable.

We've stayed at some fairly fabulous properties around the world, but nothing as magical as Dar Roumana. We'll never forget the wonderful time we had in Fes, nor the warm, authentic hospitality of Vanessa, Vincent, Mohammed and Gail.

Do yourself a favour and stay here! You'll need at least 3 nights!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book the Yasmina Suite - it's a truly remarkable space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great and unforgettable. The welcome, helpfulness, service, food and furnishings/decor, views and comfort were exemplary. The building interior is on a par with the best of the Alhambra and Seville's Alcazar. We recommend this Dar to anyone. We suggest they add further banisters to the staircases to help the over 60s and avoid the 'elevator' background musac in the dining room.

Room Tip: The 1st floor rooms are more private and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_helen_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 99 in Fes
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#8 of 216 in Fes
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Roumana

Property: Dar Roumana
Address: 30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Riad guesthouse in the ancient medina with a 360 degree panoramic view from the furnished roof terrace, where drinks and breakfast is served. All rooms (4 suites and 1 double room) are decorated with traditional arts and crafts, intricate carved plaster, high cedar ceilings, mosaic tile floors, and hand-crafted furniture. At the heart of the Riad is an ornately tiled courtyard with a sunken fountain where our restaurant is located. The cuisine is French/Mediterranean with a Moroccan twist and dining with us is a highlight for our guests. Other amenities include an intimate salon with fireplace, large library, DVD/TV salon, roof-top BBQ, and free WiFi access. The managers provide a full concierge service to help our guests with any arrangements they might need and allow them to experience the best of the Fes Medina and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Roumana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Roumana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing