We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Roumana
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,466
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
403
27
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
27
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyasmina suitetamarind suiteroof terracethe ground floormoroccan twistbath productsarchitectural gemhigh ceilingspublic spacesstunning courtyardcall to prayercarved plasterwhere breakfast is servedtile workmagical placetucked awayan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Dar Roumana is a palace, hidden away in the Fez Medina. So tranquil, after the hustle and bustle outside, which you need after a day walking the souks! The roof terrace is seriously stunning, with amazing views over Fez and the mountains, perfect for relaxing and watching the sun set. Our room was beautiful, absolutely huge, very clean, traditional Moroccan features over looking the inner courtyard. The hosts, Justine and Didier were so friendly and helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They organised a guide one day for us who was great, (regretfully I have forgotten his name, he was a scholar, Justine will know it). A guide is very handy to have showing you around the maze that is the medina. Each morning the breakfasts at Dar Roumana were super yummy; very fresh, hot bread & pastries, baked on the premises. Overall 10 out of 10, we will definitely be returning to Dar Roumana.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi-cush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

There's never been a more fitting word than Magnificent !
Dar Roumana is a little off the busy streets, on the heights of the medina, which grants you not only calm, but also one of the most beautiful view of the medina from the rooftop terrace.
From the beautifully renovated patio to the huge and typical rooms, and last but not least the oh-so-nice welcome of Didier, Justine and Mohammed, our whole stay has been great, and we can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelandRaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I can't praise Dar Roumana enough. Everything about it was exceptional. It is a beautifully and lovingly restored riad with incredible tile, wood and plaster work in the main courtyard that just blew us away. The welcome was also very warm and friendly, very relaxed and informal which made us feel right at home with Justine and Didier. Their Moroccan staff were also very polite and friendly. We didn't meet the owners as they were out of town.

Our room was the Argana, right at the top of the riad with a very comfortable bed and lovely touches such as fluffy towels and gorgeous soap/shower gel etc. There was a lot of attention to small details and the little booklet provided in the room about local facilities, tips, restaurants etc. was very helpful. Justine was also great for tips on where to go shopping and eating and was very generous with her time and local knowledge.

There was a great library to sit and read in and check emails and the roof terrace was the real treat. Great for lying in the sun or sipping tea late in the afternoon. It has great views over the whole medina and was heavenly for relaxing after a long day walking/haggling round the narrow lanes of old Fes!

The food was fantastic, we had dinner at the riad 2 out of the 3 nights (for the food but also to have dinner in the amazing courtyard). Very creative and prepared with a lot of passion. The wine was a little pricey but there was a very clear menu of all the drinks and the charges. Overall, it was all exceptionally good value for money. I couldn't believe how lucky we were. We paid more for less in the riad we stayed at in Marrakech.

The only thing that I wish could have been different was the stray dogs barking outside our bedroom window into the small hours. This, unfortunately, was a regular feature in most of the places we stayed in Morocco. There seems to be a real problem with this. It was such a comfy bed too!

Overall, highly recommended. We felt very spoilt and well looked after and were very sad to leave. We wish we could have taken it with us to all the other places we visited in Morocco!! Thank you Justine and Didier!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Dar Roumana deserves all the good reviews it has received. Didier, Justine and Mohammed are the most amazing and incredibly kind hosts. Dar Roumana is a fantastic, historic building, with wonderful views from the roof terrace.

Didier, Justine and Mohammed saved the day for me, when my luggage was lost by Atlas Blue airline and I had nothing for a walking trip in the Atlas Mts. Mohammed bargained for me in the medina when I had to buy a new set of clothes. Didier even lent me some of his. While I was away, Didier chased up the airline to try and find my bag. The team represents customer service that is beyond 'outstanding'.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Justine and Didier made us feel very at home. Nothing was too much trouble and they couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming - we loved every minute!
Dar Roumana itself is astonishing, the pictures do not do it justice as it is jaw droppingly beautiful. It is designed so that there is always somewhere quiet to sit if you do not want to interact with other guests, and the house is so peaceful it's a pleasure.
Fez is just as the Lonely Planet guidebook describes it "like stepping back into another century" with a surprise round every corner.
If you need a guide ask for Azzedine, he was very informative and articulate and we had a most interesting day discovering Fez, and finding out about Moroccan life in general.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews