We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Couldn't ask for more”
Review of Dar Roumana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Roumana
Ranked #9 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The Dar Roumana is breathtakingly beautiful and the service was impeccable! It was definitely a highlight to our Morocco experience.

The Dar itself is spectacularly restored. The floors, walls, doors, lighting, furniture, fixtures, ... so beautiful and well chosen. If you stay here you should take the time to look at the album with the restoration photos and floor plans. If Jennifer is around she'll explain the work that was done. This gave us a greater appreciation of the Dar.

We stayed in the Argana suite for 3 nights and the Tamarind suite for the last night (we were only supposed to be in Fez for 3 nights but as soon as we walked into the Dar we knew we would want to extend our Fez stay). Both rooms were very spacious and comfortable with AC, good water pressure and temperature. Although you have to climb more stairs to get to the Argana suite it offers a lot of privacy and it is very quiet. The Tamarind suite is on the second floor with windows facing the courtyard. The Tamarind is less private but it is a BEAUTIFUL suite. The suites and service are as if you were staying at a boutique hotel. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was always very good. Afternoon mint tea with cookies was an eagerly awaited treat after a day in the medina.

We found the staff of the Dar Roumana impeccable, friendly and enthusiastic. There was Jennifer who's the owner, Justine and Didier who are the managers, and Mohammed who is the night staff.

Our first contact when we arrived at the Dar was Mohammed. We arrived in the evening after an 8 hour bus ride from Chefchaouen (3 hours were spent on the side of the road waiting for a mechanic to fix the bus!). After helping us to get settled, Mohammed walked us to a restaurant and asked that someone from the restaurant walk us back to the Dar. He was always smiling, very helpful and would make a great mint tea in the afternoon.

Justine and Didier were full of information and tips on Fez. They attended to all our needs. We opted for the cooking class with Didier. What a great day! Although he is not allowed to "guide" tourists, he gave us a tour of the main attractions, introduced us to the better vendors (medicine man, herb man, honey man, jewelry store) and we bought the ingredients for our meal. Didier so enthusiastically taught us about Moroccan cuisine and together we prepared a delicious meal.

Jennifer was also full of information and gave us such great insight into the real Moroccan life and the life of the female foreigner. She did such an amazing job restoring the Dar.

In a nutshell:
Pros: Absolutely beautiful Dar
Fantastic staff who will go the extra mile to make you happy
Big and comfortable suites
Beautiful terrace with great views
Located in a quiet area

Con: I must admit that at first the location may seem like a con (zigzag and some alleyway-like streets) but in reality the Dar is well located because it is away from the noise, close to one of the Babs (entrance) and not far from the main streets leading to the East and West of the Medina. It would be a pity to miss out on this experience based on this.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingToMorocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    27
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
69
225
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and it couldn't have been a better experience. Jen and Sebastian are the most gracious of hosts. They can arrange for anything, and make sure that your stay in Fes is a memorable one. They not only have many suggestions for what to do in Fes, but can provide recommendations for many other areas of Morocco. And trust me, when travelling through Morocco, that can be very helpful.

Jen is a trained chef and provides AMAZING meals 3 times a week. The place is a palace. Our room had 20ft ceilings!! They have done an imaculate job at restoration. And the view from the roof is unparalleled. The best place to eat breakfast in all of Fes.

I really can go on for ever but the best thing I can say is, if your going to Fes, you have to stay here. It will be a luxurious and authentic experience you will never forget. Please read our full review of Fes at www.globetraveller.ca.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTravellerMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This Dar was more than a stay, it was a story.

The rooms are wonderful, everything from the walls to the decor speaks to you. The breakfast was classy but hearty enough for the busy day ahead, and the common areas a pleasure to just "be" in. The view across the medina from the roof top garden is one of the best in Fes.

We took the opportunity to do the "MasterClass" with Chef Jennifer, wonderful experience sourcing all the food at the medina markets in the morning and cooking in the afternoon. Great learning experience for our child also, who enjoyed every minute, even grating those onions!

We stayed 4 nights and would gave stayed longer if we could have.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Dar Roumana is a palace, hidden away in the Fez Medina. So tranquil, after the hustle and bustle outside, which you need after a day walking the souks! The roof terrace is seriously stunning, with amazing views over Fez and the mountains, perfect for relaxing and watching the sun set. Our room was beautiful, absolutely huge, very clean, traditional Moroccan features over looking the inner courtyard. The hosts, Justine and Didier were so friendly and helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They organised a guide one day for us who was great, (regretfully I have forgotten his name, he was a scholar, Justine will know it). A guide is very handy to have showing you around the maze that is the medina. Each morning the breakfasts at Dar Roumana were super yummy; very fresh, hot bread & pastries, baked on the premises. Overall 10 out of 10, we will definitely be returning to Dar Roumana.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-cush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2009

There's never been a more fitting word than Magnificent !
Dar Roumana is a little off the busy streets, on the heights of the medina, which grants you not only calm, but also one of the most beautiful view of the medina from the rooftop terrace.
From the beautifully renovated patio to the huge and typical rooms, and last but not least the oh-so-nice welcome of Didier, Justine and Mohammed, our whole stay has been great, and we can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelandRaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I can't praise Dar Roumana enough. Everything about it was exceptional. It is a beautifully and lovingly restored riad with incredible tile, wood and plaster work in the main courtyard that just blew us away. The welcome was also very warm and friendly, very relaxed and informal which made us feel right at home with Justine and Didier. Their Moroccan staff were also very polite and friendly. We didn't meet the owners as they were out of town.

Our room was the Argana, right at the top of the riad with a very comfortable bed and lovely touches such as fluffy towels and gorgeous soap/shower gel etc. There was a lot of attention to small details and the little booklet provided in the room about local facilities, tips, restaurants etc. was very helpful. Justine was also great for tips on where to go shopping and eating and was very generous with her time and local knowledge.

There was a great library to sit and read in and check emails and the roof terrace was the real treat. Great for lying in the sun or sipping tea late in the afternoon. It has great views over the whole medina and was heavenly for relaxing after a long day walking/haggling round the narrow lanes of old Fes!

The food was fantastic, we had dinner at the riad 2 out of the 3 nights (for the food but also to have dinner in the amazing courtyard). Very creative and prepared with a lot of passion. The wine was a little pricey but there was a very clear menu of all the drinks and the charges. Overall, it was all exceptionally good value for money. I couldn't believe how lucky we were. We paid more for less in the riad we stayed at in Marrakech.

The only thing that I wish could have been different was the stray dogs barking outside our bedroom window into the small hours. This, unfortunately, was a regular feature in most of the places we stayed in Morocco. There seems to be a real problem with this. It was such a comfy bed too!

Overall, highly recommended. We felt very spoilt and well looked after and were very sad to leave. We wish we could have taken it with us to all the other places we visited in Morocco!! Thank you Justine and Didier!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zelmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Dar Roumana deserves all the good reviews it has received. Didier, Justine and Mohammed are the most amazing and incredibly kind hosts. Dar Roumana is a fantastic, historic building, with wonderful views from the roof terrace.

Didier, Justine and Mohammed saved the day for me, when my luggage was lost by Atlas Blue airline and I had nothing for a walking trip in the Atlas Mts. Mohammed bargained for me in the medina when I had to buy a new set of clothes. Didier even lent me some of his. While I was away, Didier chased up the airline to try and find my bag. The team represents customer service that is beyond 'outstanding'.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.6 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#8 of 207 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#10 of 207 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Roumana

Property: Dar Roumana
Address: 30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Riad guesthouse in the ancient medina with a 360 degree panoramic view from the furnished roof terrace, where drinks and breakfast is served. All rooms (4 suites and 1 double room) are decorated with traditional arts and crafts, intricate carved plaster, high cedar ceilings, mosaic tile floors, and hand-crafted furniture. At the heart of the Riad is an ornately tiled courtyard with a sunken fountain where our restaurant is located. The cuisine is French/Mediterranean with a Moroccan twist and dining with us is a highlight for our guests. Other amenities include an intimate salon with fireplace, large library, DVD/TV salon, roof-top BBQ, and free WiFi access. The managers provide a full concierge service to help our guests with any arrangements they might need and allow them to experience the best of the Fes Medina and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Roumana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Roumana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing