We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad if you pay low season price...”
Review of Hotel Mounia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mounia
Ranked #69 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not too bad if you pay low season price...”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel was pretty okay... not especially fancy but it was clean and you get a couple channels on your tv... Don't pay for breakfast... it's DISGUSTING... Do go to Marrarech restaurant, one block away for delicious food. Pretty quiet area by the way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis-Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    55
    92
    33
    25
See reviews for
31
74
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Hotel is located in Ville Nouvelle, not really within walking distance from the medina, as opposed to what the LP said. We usually paid 20 dirhams for 2p for a petit taxi (meter price plus tip) to the medina. During our stay we saw many tour groups and busses at the hotel, but that didn't bother us. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels are supplied. Breakfast include tea, coffee and fresh eggs and pancakes. For dinner I would recommend using the LP for tips; we certainly did and we found it to be very useful and accurate. We went to an cybercafe nearby to check emails, much cheaper than using it at the hotel.
For a hammam experience, we went to Nausika Spa in the ville nouvelle, which we found to be very good. Although it has a modern interior, the treatments on offer were authentic and good value for money (180 dirhams for a scrub, a body wrap, towels, bathrobe and slippers plus unlimited use of sauna facilities). I saw only moroccan women there during my treatment, which I took to be a good sign.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pocketdiver97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

A few steps away from the main drag, the rooms are immaculate if a bit small. In may we got a triple room for 462 Dh, which turned out to be the most comfortable room we have had on this trip. Ok breakfast, great towels, but no free wifi. A dodgy area at night compared to the rest of morocco as there are a lot of bars around.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Not a lot has changed. The same mildly unfriendly/aloof female staff are still on reception, however the wait staff and house keeping are friendly. The standard of cleanliness is excellent.
One cleaner was particularly diligent as I was unwell on arrival and she got me a small bucket in case I was sick again. She quietly popped into my room every hour or so and went beyond the call of duty ensuring I was okay and did not require extra assistance (she even emptied and cleaned the little bucket!).
Wifi works well in the lounge area and discovered by accident that it also works from some of the bedrooms. They do charge however it is not expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay01nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I have been to this hotel a couple of times, once in 2009 and again in January 2011. I loved it the first time around but its even better now. The rooms are a good size and they are very clean and comfortable! The staff go out of their way to help you and always made me feel welcome. The hotel is well located and there is lots to do around and nearby. I would come back again anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashpacker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband, my daughter and I stayed for one night at the Hotel Mounia. They have one elevator for 5 floors, so be patient. The room was clean, but some things were broken (door handle, tiles). There was an air conditioning, but it was too noisy to leave it one during the night. The staff is friendly. The bar was a little too smoky. The breakfast wasn't great, there wasn't much choice. The coffee was disgusting, so we asked for expresso. They charge extra for this, but it's worth it. Good coffee and a nice smile. The guide they recommend is not to be trusted. Use an official guide if you visit Fes. It's a cheap hotel, so don't expect too much. The entrance is nice, but the rest is quit simple.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0nneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

These guys stole my $2,500 computer. I had it in my room, I went out for the day, door was locked- when i returned the maid had cleaned, and my computer was gone.

The staff shrugged, essentially accused me of making it up, and did absolutely nothing. The police were just as unhelpful, but what do you expect in Morocco. Since it was certainly an inside job, I would say that this is one of the worst places you can stay in Fez.

Avoid the nightmare, book elsewhere. Can't say you weren't warned.

Jonny

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonny096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#90 of 99 in Fes
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Rose du sable
La Rose du sable
#2 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#58 of 99 in Fes
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
2.5 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#56 of 99 in Fes
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zahrat al Jabal
Zahrat al Jabal
#85 of 99 in Fes
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mounia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mounia

Property: Hotel Mounia
Address: 60 Rue Zerktouni, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mounia 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mounia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mounia Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing