We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lobby, but that's all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mounia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mounia
Ranked #73 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice lobby, but that's all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel has a nice lobby, but average rooms and poor food.
ROOM: First there was no electricity, but they repaired it after we warned them. Then there was no water, so we had to go again to the front desk to ask them to repair.
FOOD: The dinner was average. When we asked for a big bottle of water, the cap was already opened and there was a dent on the plastic bottle, so it was suspicious that they poured in tap water. Rather ask for a sparkling water, even if it is a bit more expensive. The breakfast was poor, the croissants and baguettes were at least one day old. Except dried olives they did not offer any kind of vegetable or fruit (like tomatoes, etc). The unpacked butter was in a bowl of ice, which of course melted after a time, so it was a mixed butter with water. Single-packed cheese with old baguette was my breakfast.
NEIGHBORHOOD: In the evening we went out to look around, but the neighborhood of the hotel did not look safe, so after 10 minutes of walk we rather turned back... luckily we stayed only one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiccaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    48
    87
    33
    25
See reviews for
29
72
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Absolutely terrible experience!

Very unfriendly staff. Our room didn't have warm water.
Even though we went down for breakfast on time it was already cleaned up and after complaining we got some pathetic leftovers.
The overall stay was unpleasant and we demanded to speak to the manager.
After a lot of lies and dodging our requests, they called in a thug who pretended to be a manager which later chased us out into the street - after I go fed up and told him to go have a 'relationship' with a camel. The situation and their behavior were completely ridiculous.

This hotel is definitely not worth the money or your nerves. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Perched on top of a neighboring hotel, this was recommended to us for the food and the view - unfortunately, neither was to be enjoyed: it was pouring cats and dogs, and the whole dining experience was compromised by the chocking smoke enveloping the entire dining area from the open kitchen and grilling area. The service was extremely lacking: both efficiency and courtesy; the grilled combo my husband ordered was dry, overdone and charred; my vegetable tajine was bland and the vegetables were soggy. As no alcohol is served in most restaurants in Morocco, there was nothing to dilute the forgettable experience.

Lesson learned! The second night, we made a lovely picnic of Moroccan wine, local cheeses, sausages, artisan bread and juicy fruits. So much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here two nights with family of four in august 2012. The rooms are clean and spacious but the hotel has little atmosphere. More like a business hotel. It is located far away from the medina. Restaurant is good and staff is friendly. They have a very small garage for cars if needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield,England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel is typically "a corner of heaven" in this busy area of the Nouvelle Ville,in Fez.
Such a warm welcome (un acceuile vraiment chalereux) made me feel very comfortable to know that I am in the company of genuinely nice & friendly people.
I was on half-board and was lodged in a lovely clean room with large windows and good lighting facing the streets down below.
Fresh towels were provided daily.Warm showers available.The cleaning staff was very polite & helpful at all times.The meals were very well prepared by a very professional chef and served by excellent dining room personnel.
Breakfast buffet-style consisted of a variety of croissants,brioches,cakes and fruit.Hot & cold drinks available.The pleasant aromatic smell of coffee welcome the guests to breakfast.Tea with fresh mint was a special delicacy enjoyed my many.
I intend to visit again.I thank ALL the staff for their generous effort to make my stay a happy one.Sayda at the reception offered me good advice and spent time chatting with me although she was always very busy in her role.I treasure this memory of meeting her.She is a caring person and truly dedicated to her work at the hotel.

Room Tip: Situated on a busy street in this semi-industrial part of the city,it is best to choose a room towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel was pretty okay... not especially fancy but it was clean and you get a couple channels on your tv... Don't pay for breakfast... it's DISGUSTING... Do go to Marrarech restaurant, one block away for delicious food. Pretty quiet area by the way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis-Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Hotel is located in Ville Nouvelle, not really within walking distance from the medina, as opposed to what the LP said. We usually paid 20 dirhams for 2p for a petit taxi (meter price plus tip) to the medina. During our stay we saw many tour groups and busses at the hotel, but that didn't bother us. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels are supplied. Breakfast include tea, coffee and fresh eggs and pancakes. For dinner I would recommend using the LP for tips; we certainly did and we found it to be very useful and accurate. We went to an cybercafe nearby to check emails, much cheaper than using it at the hotel.
For a hammam experience, we went to Nausika Spa in the ville nouvelle, which we found to be very good. Although it has a modern interior, the treatments on offer were authentic and good value for money (180 dirhams for a scrub, a body wrap, towels, bathrobe and slippers plus unlimited use of sauna facilities). I saw only moroccan women there during my treatment, which I took to be a good sign.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pocketdiver97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#82 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zahrat al Jabal
Zahrat al Jabal
#83 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#51 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#86 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#68 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mounia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mounia

Property: Hotel Mounia
Address: 60 Rue Zerktouni, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mounia 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mounia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mounia Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing