We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once the negotiations had ended it was a great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Pacha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Al Pacha
Ranked #77 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Once the negotiations had ended it was a great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Beautiful riad in a great location for the medina. There will be negotiations to be had if you booked a standard room through hostelworld but it's worth it for the few extra quid. The owner is not just a good negotiator but also an excellent host helping with anything you need.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hicky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    8
    11
    30
See reviews for
11
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We were able to get a really good deal during one of their promotions and we were pleasantly surprised. The riad is completely redone beautifully, the rooms all have a different character and we were allowed to view a few rooms before selecting the one we wanted. The breakfast is very simple (pancakes or bread with jelly) but the coffee is great.

The only downside to this riad is the owner. I'm not sure if it was just us, but he seemed a little keen to get us to a certain hammam downtown and wanted to take us out to dinner or make us dinner at the riad. In short, he was overly "welcoming" when we just wanted to be left to wander all day. Didn't seem as pushy as in the previous entries, but he could benefit from sticking to being welcoming without offering to take us everywhere.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor has windows all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlasshrugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

We had seen beautiful pictures and our group went ahead and booked the rooms, then I saw the reviews on this site and we all panicked thinking that we had made a mistake..

This riad was a joy to enter the first night we arrived, and every day after that.
It was an oasis, clean, calm and peaceful. The language barrier was no barrier at all as the staff are good natured and patient. This is like an open house, so you will not be waited on hand and foot, but needs you have will be met. There is a freedom to walk and sit freely; there are seating alcoves off the main inner courtyard space (where breakfast is served), with beautiful little birds chirping. There is a smaller but equally as beautiful outer courtyard to be enjoyed. Rashid –the manager- passed by some mornings at breakfast to see how our stay was going and through such meetings, he ended up giving us places to visit and wonderful recommendations.

The only negative thing I have to complain about was that the rooms (in winter months) can get cold! I recommend asking the staff to assist with the heating system as we were not too successful at getting it to work!

All in all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Being a family which includes two teenagers, we're always looking for places to stay which offer the comforts of home, plus enough to see and do to keep that dreaded boredom at bay! With the help of luxury-riads.com, we found the Riad al Pacha, which, we're pleased to say, not only comes up to scratch from a comfort point of view, but is also well placed amongst the hustle and bustle of downtown Fes. And the absolute cherry on the cake is that by booking with luxury-riads.com, the rates we got were far more favourable than we would have got if we had just walked in off the street. Well worth a 4/5 rating.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shortstrawYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

Do not book this Riad ! The owner is horrible ! He is only interested in money.
The atmosphere is so cold there. You get no information, no one is interested in you.
They are very rude !
The rooms are beuatifull but breakfast is always the same : panecake, juice (water with limonade), bread and jam
Fes is great but choose another Riad, please !
They don't deserve to run a Riad.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Star35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

Riad al Pacha

The good news about Riad al Pacha, the hotel we stayed at in Fes, is that it’s in a terrific location inside the medina, close to the Bab El Guissa and one of Fes’ main walking streets, with parking very close by. The bad news is that the owner, Mr. Rashid, is unscrupulous and purposely double books his rooms in an attempt to earn more money.

We had made reservations directly with the riad via email for the Suite Zineb VIP with a view of the court yard. We gave them our AmEx number to lock in the room.

When we arrived (April 28/08) we were impressed by the grand, covered central court yard, with wonderful inlaid marble and tile, and exquisitely carved plaster. We were warmly greeted by Mr. Rashid who offered us mint tea and an explanation of how, over the course of three years during the early 1990s, he had restored and renovated his riad.

But we soon realized it was all fake hospitality when Mr. Rashid said with a voice of acted regret, “there’s been a terrible mistake, your room isn’t available, but I have a room for you on the ground floor. And tomorrow I’ll have your room for you.” When we showed him the email he had sent us confirming the Suite Zineb VIP, he said “yes but there’s been a terrible mistake, I’m so sorry.”

The room he gave us the first night was so tiny, there was hardly any room for our suit cases, it was dark, with a window that opened on to the back ally so that at night, the stench of cat urine wafted in.

The next morning Mr. Rashid said “there has been a terrible mistake, you will not be able to switch rooms, the room you reserved is not available.” I then had a fit in front of all the guests having breakfast, saying this was unacceptable, that he had to give us another room, and that I was really angry. Rashid, shocked at my reaction and uncomfortable about being chewed out in front of his customers, blinked and said he’d check with his colleague at the front desk to see if there was a different room available. As it turned out, the women at the front desk said yes there was another room we could have, and because of all we had been through, she’d give it to us for the same price as the small room we had had the night before, 80 euros a night. We then got into an argument with Mr. Rashid, who said the new room normally costs 140 euros a night. We agreed to pay 90 euros a night. The new room was beautiful, with a view of Fes, high ceilings, and lots of natural light.

During our stay at Riad al Pacha we spoke to three other guests who had booked specific rooms only to be told upon arrival that those rooms were not available, they would have to accept a smaller/inferior room. A receptionist at a nearby riad told us he had heard similar stories about guests making reservations at Riad al Pacha only to be told their rooms were not available.

The coup de grace was that at the end of our 3 day stay, as Mr. Rashid was waiting for my credit card charge to be electronically confirmed, I asked him how was business and if he was full. Forgetting all we had been through, he said proudly “yes, I’m double booked.” I said what happens when everybody shows up. He said “I try to get people to share rooms.”

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DanArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2008

The palace is beautiful, but as a hotel it really does not work.

- the whole place is cold in winter - little is done against that;
- some of the rooms can hardly be heated adequately;
- the light is terrible;
- the rooms are not comfortable - no chairs, no or useless space;
- breakfast is insipid: four kinds of bread and 1 kind of jam;
- it is not clear who is responsible for what

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
3.2 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#38 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.9 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#82 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zahrat al Jabal
Zahrat al Jabal
#83 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Pacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Pacha

Property: Riad Al Pacha
Address: 7 Derb El Miter, Fes 30100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haj Palace is a new riad hotel and is located in the heart of the ancient Medina, a historical part of Fes. Fes was founded at the end of the XIII century as the residence for the Royal family Merinid and served as the first capital of Morocco. Our hotel showcases a rare blend of ancient architectural traditions and modern conveniences. The interiors of our riad have been restored in the style of the XIII century glory with it's unique colour arrangements, room decor and the layout of the Court. By staying at the Haj Palace you will be immersing yourself in the history of Morocco. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Pacha Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing