We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Riad I experienced”
Review of Dar Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Golden
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

When we arrived at the Riad there was standing water on the bathroom floor and the room was in poor shape. We were told to take it or leave it and not given any alternative. Despite the fact that we never stayed there we never got a refund. Since then they are just ignoring us. I my opinion that makes them THIEVES!!
Do yourself a favor and stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2007

We received a confirmation of our booking the 8th April for the AICHA Suite VIP for the 28th April to the 1st May.
We had to pay the total amount in advance (the 20th April), and we received a confirmation on the 24th.

How surprised we were when we arrived and when M. BENHAMOR told us that the Riad was full and gave us a room with awry sanitary and no window!!!! Telling us we should be grateful for having a room during this week-end!!!

As we didn't received any compensation and that M. BENHAMOR refuse to talk with us on the phone, we sent a complaint to the Tourism office of Fès.

Fortunatly the moroccans we met during our journey were tremendous and pleasant!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gildas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

The riad is beautiful, at least the patio and dining/breakfast area. The owner and staff are also friendly. But the rooms are not very comfortable, despite the big beds. The lights are very dim, the room and bathroom are very cold, and this riad feels more commercial and less personal that other places we have stayed in during our holidays in Morocco. It is also overpriced for the somehow unstylish and unpersonal rooms and breakfast. In short, it is OK but we have seen much better for the the same or lower price.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2006

My wife and I stayed for one week in this riad in November 2006 and found it to be full of character and beautifully restored. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the owner, Rachid.

Our room was very spacious, with a very comfortable bed and clean linen, but because of its large size, and that of the bathroom, it was a little cold. Also, the bedroom lighting is quite subdued, so bedtime reading is difficult.

A small point, we only had access to 4 TV channels - and the 2 English language channels were news channels only. After a long day rambling around the medina or sightseeing, it would have been nice to relax with a good film.

However, we would highly recommend this riad for visitors to Fes

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction, Propriétaire at Dar Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010
Google Translation

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2006

We celebrated my girlfriend's birthday at the Riad Al Pacha in Fes in December 2005 and found the accomodation and the service very, very good.

We negotiated an excellent price via email beforehand. Upon arrival we were met at the airport by a most friendly guide and driven to the Riad. We then had our room upgraded to a lovely suite, with great views of the medina (see pics).

The whole house was exceptionally well looked after, and the staff friendly without being overbearing. It's also well worth eating in the Riad, with fantastic local produce prepared by the owner's family which is far superior to the mostly poor local restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdrianRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

I remained at Riad Al Pasha with my husband during five days. I reserved directly by the Internet and we arrived the morning, Loubna accommodated us as if we were long-term friends and the continuation Pasha which we were affected was still better than it looked on the Web site. The architecture of this riad so beautiful and is well maintained. The rooms are well maintained and comfortable, a beautiful terrace of roof with sights above the city and the surrounding mountains.
Riad received a reward for its restaurant. The only thing is that you must let them know in advance that you will come to the dinner or the lunch so that they prepare with you. It is normal in all Riads. after having tested a meal in their restaurant, we decided to dine our there each night. Food is excellent and the menu is the typical dishes not only of Tagine and Necks which you see in the majority of the restaurants, but there are more traditional dishes as well which are to be discovered interesting.
I must say that the personnel of Riad Al Pasha is incredibly interesting and the service is fabulous. We really liked the place.
The total stay at Riad Al Pasha was pleasant. The owner Rachid and Loubna are very quite informed and have a bottom extended in the field of hospitality.
Congratulations with the owner and the personnel of this Riad for a so pleasant and accessible place.

1  Thank cristinagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction, Propriétaire at Dar Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2006

April 6-9, 2006 We stayed in Riad Pasha. Located in Medina, Fes garden Tour starts near it. Has nice lobby and dining room. But rooms are not very comfortable. For the price 100 Euro per night they do not provide any room cleanup, no towel exchange, any soap or shampoo. Sheets and towels rather grey then white. In our room we had air conditioner and TV, 2 beds, but without any chairs or tables. Other available room was bigger, but with windows to the common area it was too noisy. Riad has 11 rooms, all was full and even in our room on the top floor you will not sleep until all diners are left and you will wake up when early raiser start breakfast.

6  Thank trolala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#50 of 100 in Fes
659 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
3.1 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 76 in Fes
188 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Golden

Address: 7 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten Talàa El Kbira, Fes 30100, Morocco (Formerly Riad Al Pacha)
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £37 - £809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Golden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haj Palace is a new riad hotel and is located in the heart of the ancient Medina, a historical part of Fes. Fes was founded at the end of the XIII century as the residence for the Royal family Merinid and served as the first capital of Morocco. Our hotel showcases a rare blend of ancient architectural traditions and modern conveniences. The interiors of our riad have been restored in the style of the XIII century glory with it's unique colour arrangements, room decor and the layout of the Court. By staying at the Haj Palace you will be immersing yourself in the history of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Pacha Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing