We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean, great service and food and well-located in the ancient city.”
Review of Riad Dar Cordoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Cordoba
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, great service and food and well-located in the ancient city.”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Overall awesome experience...would stay there again if we go.
Location: Situated right on the edge of the ancient city, close to taxi stand, so convenient to go elsewhere in Fes.
Rooms and riad: Beautiful rooms and riad. Well kept and clean. Access to a private roof deck.
Service: The caretakers really take care of you, and make you feel at home. They can also arrange all tour guides for you (and the ones associated with riad are very good).
Food: Fabulous. Cook is assistant to a chef who teaches Morocco cooking...so food's just brilliant. Need to give them a few hours to prepare, and let them know what you want (you have an entire book to choose from). Have the Harira soup and msemmen.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandalfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    85
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
173
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The location is fantastic- close to the edge of the city and easy to get a cab to or from, but also near enough to the sites so it's easy to make it to and from the riad in the morning and at night. The exterior of the building belies the beauty inside. There are gorgeous carved wood doors, painted ceilings, metal-work lamps, beautiful paintings, etc. The riad is better than going to a museum- it's a lovely place to stay and relax or just to eat breakfast in the morning.

Moha and the rest of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and spacious, the heat was perfect in our room (we controlled it), and the rooftop has an amazing view of the city. Though a bit pricier than some other riads, the beauty and service are certainly worth the price. Stay in one night and do dinner at the riad-- the food is delicious.

Room Tip: Zarka is a beautiful room with lots of space. The only catch is that the ceiling is short. Heigh e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed 2 nights in this riad and it was amazing. The Hotel is stunningly decorated and my room was clean and very large for one. Breakfast was included and excellent. Nice rooftop views over the medina and located just inside the medina so it's quite easy to find. Staff were friendly and beds very comfortable.
If your looking for a little luxury and don't mind paying for it this is your place. If you want dinner in make sure you book in the morning for dinner otherwise it's too late by early afternoon. A little tight with the mint tea compared to other riads. As with all riads because of the design sound travels and nothing is unheard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne_wishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This was my first visit to Morocco and was a little nervous about travelling there on my own. I used the company 'naturally Morocco' to find accommodation for me and they came up with the Dar Cordoba. They arranged 'pick up' from the airport and the man was there waiting even though the flight got in about half an hour early. It takes about 30 minutes to get to the Dar Cordoba and when you get there you just need a bit of time to take in the beauty of the place! It is stunning. Waiting for you is some refreshing mint tea and little cakes.

My room was the suite on the ground floor and is again decorated beautifully. The staff Fatima and Moha were both very helpful and I certainly felt well looked after. The breakfasts are very good and filling, and if you get chance, have a meal prepared in the Dar of trditional Moroccan food. I ate in one evening and I have to say that it was probably the most flaversome meal I have ever had. Make sure you don't have too much to eat before because it is a real feast!!

From the Dar it takes about 5 minutes walk to get into the medina so it is perfectly placed. The Dar is situated down a quiet street so make sure you make note of certain 'landmarks' so you can find your way back. The local people are mostly very friendly and a couple of times when I got lost in the medina, they would point me back in the right direction. Incidently, there is a cafe run by a Yorkshire man near the water clock called cafe clock. This is a nice place to come and chill and it is frequented by locals and back packers alike. They also do things like learning to cook traditional Moroccan food and have musicians playing the traditional music there which is a fantastic night.

I believe the staff at the Dar can arrange a tour of the medina which is a must so you can at least get your bearings as it is a real maze. The company I booked through recommended a guide to me who was very helpful (although I found that I spent much more than I had intended to being taken into lots of the shops!!). So if you are on a budget and doing the tour on your own, it might be worth mentioning to your guide that you just wish to see the historical places of interest to save embarrasment when you have been taken into a beautiful carpet shop and have to decline what they are trying to sell you!

It is probably a good idea to let Moha arrange taxi back to the airport as this is reliable. I thought I could arrange my own way back so phoned the taxi driver who had collected me from the airport two days before I was due to leave, and booked him to take me back to the airport. However on the day of departure, the time came and went. I phoned him, he said he would be there in 10 minutes. 10 minutes came and went so Moha got one of his people to take me in the end!! At the airport be warned though, your case will be whisked out of the car and put on a trolley before you know it. The chap who took my case into the airport then tried to say that a 100 Dh tip was normal!! 10 to 20 Dh is plenty so make sure you still have some small change unless you can rescue your case before they take it.

I would definately recommend the Dar Cordoba for a really memorable stay in Fez.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamila_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Very good riad. near to the center of fez.Is a sort of museum. They organize tour of the medina of Fez (32€) and tour of Meknes and Volubilis (72€). Tell to the guide that you don't want to go to make shopping and to the restaurant because he takes a commission from the sellers.
If you book in advance you can have the suite for 80€ and the normal room for 60€.
Good brekfast . Wirless internet.
The people of the riad are really kind.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sicisub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Overall, it was a comfortable stay. However, there are a few things that kept it from being perfect. First, it really is a good idea, when flying to Morocco, to have the inn send you a taxi. However, our flight was cancelled, and we ended up taking a bus to Fes from another city in Morocco (long story), which dropped us in the modern section of Fes. Which meant we had to to figure out our way to the Riad. We tried to call when we knew our flight was being cancelled, but unluckily, our cellphones were not working in Morocco, and we couldn't amass enough change to phone the numbers we had for the Riad, which turned out to be cellphone numbers in Spain. The owner of the Riad is in Spain! He is not onsite. We emailed repeatedly, telling him where we were, and what we were doing, and of our delays. We never heard anything back, we didn't know the owner was in Spain and not actually on-site in Fes. We had communicated with him before via email. The Riad is on a quiet, comfortable, safe, but very difficult to locate street... the Riad and the street are also completely unmarked, so it's not really obvious. Our petit taxi driver was lost and baffled, and we had something of an adventure going around (and a 20 minute walk toting all our luggage in small streets) If you get seriously lost, tell people you're in the 'Batha' part of town and get them to take you to the fountain area, which is right around the corner.

When we arrived at 8am instead of the planned 8pm the previous night, a young gentlemen, while helpful in getting our bags to our room, settling us in with a tasty breakfast, told us he had been up waiting for us all night and had missed the opportunity to go out with his friends. We told him we tried to call, and had been emailing steadily, which is how we found out that the owners weren't even in the country. He repeated that he had been up all night and his friends teased him for not coming out. I felt like HE was waiting for an apology from ME, and I said, hey, sorry you couldn't go out with your friends, he curtly told me it was ok, his friends came over to the inn anyways. This young man was otherwise helpful, he arranged for a guide to the old medina (completely necessary, this is "Advanced Medina"-- if you think you're ok because you could navigate Marrakech, think again), and other things went OK. He doesn't speak English, but we could luckily communicate in Spanish. This is different from the owner, whose English in Emails is fine. The guy on-site was polite about bringing tea, and gave us early check-in and let us out of our reservation for the first night. I finally got a politely awkward email from the owner much later in the day, expressing hope that we found the Riad and could check in. Needless to say, this was not the welcome we expected in Fes.

Luckily, the young lady on staff speaks both English and Spanish very well, and was extremely helpful in help us think through daily activities, getting us to a hammam, and answering questions about what to expect there. She suggested good things to take home to friends, and fielded questions about Morocco and Fes in a friendly and professional way. She really made our stay comfortable and seemed to understand what would work best for us, a thoughtful person, mentioning, for example, that there's wireless Internet in-house.

The Riad itself is clean, attractively decorated, and architecturally pretty, with true old-world charm. Breakfast is served in the covered courtyard, and if you'd like an omlette or boiled egg, that's an option, or else bread, cheese, yogurts, pancakes, and fruit. The Riad isn't far from small convenient shops to purchase bottled water or to go for dinner, and it's reasonably close to the Medina in a quiet street.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirytus, Propietario at Riad Dar Cordoba, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
This review seems completely unfair and it has the wrong recipient is not our fault for the delay and subsequent cancellation of her flight, but Royal Air Maroc .

As to the inconvenience she had to find the riad, would have easily solved calling Dar Cordoba, buying dirhams to call from a pay phone or asking at the airport for information,how to use the cell phones in Morocco (She had 7 hours to learn from 8:00 pm to 03:00 am, the lag time she had passed at Casablanca airport before leaving to Fez by bus ).
 The e-mails she sent me were answered and the response was that recipient was out of office.

It is totally out of context her critics on weather the owner lives all of the time or not in the riad. The important thing is that professionalism and fair treatment of both Mohammed and Fatima,the people who manage Dar Cordoba,towards her was fair and welcoming at all times.

They were all night waiting for her call so they could send a taxi to pick her up.

 Also we did waive the first night that she had reserved, something to which we had every right under the terms of cancellation policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The Riad Dar Cordoba is a step up (in fact many) from the average Riad. What makes it a special place ? (1) The decor is like a palace ....in fact it was built for the one of the local dignitaries. When you step into the interior courtyard you want to pinch yourself and ask if it is real – the most beautiful Islamic decoration (2) The staff who run the riad – multi-lingual who can never do to much for you (3) Food - for at least one evening eat at the Riad – the food is classic Moroccan and so well prepared.....a real escape from the “tourist Moroccan” food you will experience during the day. The breakfasts are also good (4) Location - In the Medina but in a quiet lane. Also the taxi can get within 1 00 metres of the door . Bedroom , overlooking the courtyard, rather dated but more than adequate. Other info. Have the Riad send a taxi to pick you up at the Rail/airport – you will be ripped off otherwise . Whatever you are told about guides , don’t bother. With a map & guidebook you will do fine, without being hustled into shops. We stayed with two teenage boys – all agreed this is a real find.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 98 in Fes
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#32 of 98 in Fes
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 98 in Fes
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 98 in Fes
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Salam Fes
Riad Salam Fes
#26 of 98 in Fes
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#10 of 98 in Fes
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Cordoba

Property: Riad Dar Cordoba
Address: 15 Derb El Guebbuss Douh Batha, Fes 30110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming upon this riad, the traveller is transported into the splendours of Moorish art and architecture that reflect the deeply entwined history of Spain and Morocco. This ambience, along with the warm hospitality offered by the staff, will make your experience here unforgettable. Resplendent with carved plasterwork, mosaic tiles (known as zellij), doors and window frames of carved cedar wood, painted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Cordoba Fes
Riad Dar Cordoba Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing