We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Dar Cordoba”
Review of Riad Dar Cordoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Cordoba
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We had a wonderful time at Dar Cordoba. The riad is beautiful, so clean and quiet, and in the best location. Every afternoon when we'd come home from sightseeing, the boys would have mint tea and pastries for us. We loved sitting down with them around the table and talking about their life. Nothing was too much trouble, they booked us a fabulous guide for the medina and gave us great advice on travel options to Casablanca and Tangier. We were sorry to leave but brought home great memories.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

Clean, darkly atmospheric, great big breakfast, accomodating staff, good air conditioning, a little cramped

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry7899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Located in the "posh part" of the Fes medina, behind an unpretentious front door in a blank wall down a narrow street sits one of the best places to stay I have ever been in. Both the physical appearance and the quality of the service were exquisite, exceeded only by the breakfast. Our room, the Sfar suite, combined comfort with a feeling of luxury conveyed by its very generous size and by its double-height cedar-ceilinged proportions. What a great place!
There was no problem in paying by credit card, just as there was no problem getting a drink of mint tea, or British-style tea with milk at any time, including for the visitors who came to see us while we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Immlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

One block off from the Medina, you will find a beautifully restored riad that serves as a respite from the hectic goings-on outside. Mohammed, the very hospitable manager, will have hot mint tea upon your request as well as an excellent breakfast and if need be, advice on how to best maneuver your way thorough the Moroccon culture.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

As others have mentioned, this charming riad is a little hard to find. However, once you arrive, any difficulties will be quickly forgotten when you step into the beautiful courtyard. Technically, Riad Dar Cordoba is a "dar" and not a "riad" as the ornately decorated courtyard is enclosed, not open as in a riad. My group had three rooms, all of which were exquisite.

However, the highlight for us was the food. We opted for the half-board option, and we were not dissappointed. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit preserves, rolls, fresh-made "Moroccan Crepes" (a flaky corn-flour flatbread whose name escapes me at the moment), fresh OJ, tea, and coffee. Dinners were equally outstanding. Each night we were treated to 3 delicious courses followed by tea. Our last night, which was the first night of Ramadan, we enjoyed a traditional Ramadan evening meal, which was stellar.

The only difficulty we had with the riad came at checkout. We inquired as to whether it would be possible to pay with credit card. The manager, Mohammad, attempted to dissuade us by stating that we would have to pay the service fee. Because of large international withdrawal fees imposed by our banks for using ATMs abroad, it actually came out slightly cheaper to pay the service fee and use a credit card instead. When we told Mohammad we would gladly pay the service charge, he still refused to take credit card (he never did tell us why), which forced us to go out of our way to find an ATM in order to pay for our rooms. While this did little to tarnish our fond memory of the trip, it is in line with comments other reviewers have made that the service can sometimes leave a little to be desired.

That said, we would certainly recommend Riad Dar Cordoba to anyone traveling to Fes. The pluses so far outweigh the minuses that it really is a can't miss choice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at Riad Cordoba while on our honeymoon in March. It’s a little difficult to find, but luckily the Riad manager Mohan arranged for us to be picked up at the train station. As is typical for a medina, the streets are small and narrow, and it’s difficult to tell what’s behind the walls, but once we walked in the front door we were mesmerized. The Riad is beautiful with a lovely inner courtyard surrounded by 3 levels. The carvings and tiles are magnificent, and the overall feeling was one of peace.
Mohan greeted us and graciously offered tea while we checked in. It’s our experience that the people of Fez are a little more reserved than those we met in Marrakesh, but don’t let that throw you - they are very nice and warm once they get to know you a little.
We had the Suite Sfar, and it was beautiful. It was very large with a private bathroom, and was very comfortable and quiet.
The arrangements Mohan helped with – from dinner to a tour guide were all excellent. In fact, we should have used him for all meal recommendations as the times we went out on our own were not good. The restaurant recommendations were all excellent, but most of all the guide Abdul. He spoke perfect English perfectly and was very knowledgeable. During our day with him, we learned a lot as he shared both history and culture in a way that was very compelling. There were the typical stops to shops, but we never felt pressured to buy anything. He stayed with us well beyond the original agreed upon time and seemed to be very open and honest about different aspects of the city.
English is not Mohan's first language, but we did not have any issues communicating with him. He was very warm and friendly and offered help for any needs we had during our stay. Overall our stay at Riad Cordoba was fantastic, and we’d highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanTwohig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

What can I say other than our stay at Dar Cordoba was amazing. Arriving in Fes after taking a four-hour train ride with no air conditioning in 110+ degree heat, Mohammed ensured that we were picked up from the train station by a reputable cab service and had mint tea waiting for us upon arrival. From there he handled all of our bags and made us feel like family.

The next day we awoke to a traditional Moroccan breakfast of mint tea, coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, pastries, and fruit. Everything was fresh and just what we needed to fuel our bodies for a busy day.

In addition to coordinating our travel, Mohammed also arranged for us to be accompanied by a wonderful tour guide named Aziz. Aziz was amazing, very protective of us women when it came to hustlers that frequent the medina, and extremely knowledgeable about the sites and the best shops to visit. Out of the three weeks we traveled throughout Europe and Morocco, Fes was really the only place we bought gifts for ourselves and our family and friends. And this was solely because of the places Aziz brought us to.

While we only stayed three days and two nights, we fell in love with the city, Mohammed, Aziz and the many others we met during our stay. The next time, we plan to stay at least two weeks in Morocco and will be sure to visit Dar Cordoba and Mohammed again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genius0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#23 of 100 in Fes
185 reviews
0 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#20 of 100 in Fes
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Tafilalet
Riad Dar Tafilalet
#22 of 100 in Fes
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#32 of 100 in Fes
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#33 of 100 in Fes
78 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#47 of 100 in Fes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Cordoba

Address: 15 Derb El Guebbuss Douh Batha, Fes 30110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Fes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming upon this riad, the traveller is transported into the splendours of Moorish art and architecture that reflect the deeply entwined history of Spain and Morocco. This ambience, along with the warm hospitality offered by the staff, will make your experience here unforgettable. Resplendent with carved plasterwork, mosaic tiles (known as zellij), doors and window frames of carved cedar wood, painted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Cordoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Cordoba Fes
Riad Dar Cordoba Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing