We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular, Spectacular”
Review of Dar Seffarine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Seffarine
Ranked #7 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

An amazing oasis (especially after six months of travel). Fez teems with activity all around this wonderfully restored Dar. Every detail is perfect and Allah (the owner) didn't stop there, he has enlisted a staff that is the best we've come across during our word tour. Need something, just ask (and even if you didn't ask directly if one of the staff hears you ask for something they can provide they will). It was like being in home but in an incredible setting. AND.. don't miss having dinner the meals are excellent and exceptionally reasonable. If you're going to Fez don't miss this one. NOTE: Unfortunately, if you have trouble with stairs this could be a problem unless you stay on the first floor and make special arrangements for breakfast ahead of time if possible since breakfast is in a dinning room on the roof and there is no elevator. Other than that this place is perfect!!!!

Room Tip: While we didn't stay in the suite it is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

We come to Morocco every year for business. Our trip would not be complete without our stay at Dar Seffarine. Everything about the Dar is wonderful - the staff, the owners, the restoration and decor, the breakfasts, the dinners, and the other guests. Alaa also gave us a very interesting tour through the house, giving us information about the history and culture, as well as the architecture. Thank you all at Dar Seffarine once again for making our stay so special yet again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metroviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Perfectly restored, beautiful B&B in the centre of the medina of Fez. The owners and the entire staff were very friendly and helpfull. The rooms were big and comfortable and, like the whole Dar, build up in a very traditional way with wonderfull artscraft. For us it was an oasis in the very busy and lively medina. Breakfast was very good and If you choose to have diner at the B&B, the meal was very tastfull. We very much enjoyed staying at Dar Seffarine and would like to recommend it to everyone who wants to spend some time in Fez.
Francien.

Room Tip: All rooms are big enough and very comfortable. If staircases are difficult toen you schuld ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The place is beautifully and tastefully restored with all the modern conveniences. The owners, Alaa and Kate are wonderful hosts and the staff is friendly and extremely helpful. The food Is terrific. We stayed for four nights and ate dinner three times at Dar Seffarine. Other guests agreed, the meals were much better than anywhere else in Fes. Breakfast was terrific. One of the most positive aspects of our stay here was eating with the other guests at breakfast and dinner. Met very interesting people from all over the world. Great conversations. Good exchange of travel info, and much laughter.
Overall, my wife and I can't Imagine a better hotel experience at any price. We are recommending to any and all who are planning on visiting Fes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Dar Seffarine is a gorgeous old house off of Place Seffarine. The 700 year old structure, with dizzyingly high ceilings off a central courtyard, is beautifully restored. Charming worn tiled floors and doors remind you that this is the real deal. Bedrooms are large but bathrooms are tiny and may not be suitable for those needing a lot, or really, any bathroom-counter space. The Wifi connection, however, did work in our room.
The first week in April, after some heavy rains, we and some of the other guests had problems with mosquitos that made sleeping at night difficult. The next morning, one young woman’s face was covered in bites.
Dinners are served family style in the roof-top dining room. Started with a vegetable soup followed by an assortment of small plates – fava beans, a smoky eggplant and tomato spread and potato fritters; and a chicken tagine with prunes and apricots. Some of the best food we’ve tasted in Morocco. Conversation between guests flows freely in the convivial atmosphere.
Breakfast is also served family style. An impressive selection of mostly bread products and fruit plates, accompanied by jams, butter, eggs and processed cheese. Big thermoses of hot coffee, tea and milk complete the spread.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This trip to Morocco (our 11th) included Fes and only naturally we stayed at Dar Seffarine. Really this place just gets better every year but only on this visit of five days did I realise the important part played by the guests in our enjoyment. The building is very authentic and the food morning and night is unsurpassed, the staff are all a delight as are both the owners Alaa and Kate.
It was my wife who pointed out the "quality" of the guests and how much the varied personalities and nationalities really added to the pleasure of a Dar Seffarine stay. It seems that Dar Seffarine attracts very special guests.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent 2 nights here at Dar Seffarine in March and all I can say is wow. It is a beautiful Dar in the middle of the old medina, and has been lovingly renovated by the owners. On our first night there, the owner came by and gave us a tour of the dar, pointing out all the architecture features and how each little element was influenced by Islamic architecture. We stayed in the Kobbe Suite, which is one of the most expensive rooms, but split among three people, it was totally worth it. It was definitely the biggest room I've ever stayed in, with a huge living/sitting area, a huge bedroom area, and maybe 20 feet high ceilings with stained glass windows. Waking up in the morning, it really felt like I was sleeping in a cathedral or mosque, rather than a hotel.

Dar Seffarine also has a wonderful dinner service, which we took advantage of. Lots of guests seem to join, and it is a great way to meet other people over amazing food. They also have a wonderful terrace over which you can see all of the old medina - check out the sunset from here. Our experience here was amazing - would definitely return!

Room Tip: Kobbe Suite is amazing - if you have the chance, definitely splurge.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Roumana
Dar Roumana
#8 of 223 in Fes
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#9 of 223 in Fes
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Rcif
Riad Rcif
#6 of 223 in Fes
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Seffarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Seffarine

Address: 14 Derb Sbaa Louyate | Seffarine, Fes 30020, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £66 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Seffarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Seffarine Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing