We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Fes”
Review of Dar Seffarine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Seffarine
Ranked #7 of 221 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

From the moment we left the airport to be greeted by the friendly driver sent to meet us we were fantastically well taken care of by everyone at Dar Seffarine. The Dar itself has been superbly restored in the most careful and considered way, by owners Kate and Alaa, avoiding the kitch or over opulent trap that others in the city have fallen into and providing a comfortable, relaxing, and yet extraordinary place to stay. The rooms and suites are all spacious, beautifully decorated, well furnished and provide a welcome retreat from the intensity of the city beyond. The Dar is located perfectly for exploring the city and away from the more touristy areas of Fes. The city itself must be one of the most extraordinary and fascinating cities in the world. The Dar's roof terrace provides a great place to take in the city and relax away from the frantic streets below.


Kate, Alaa, Mohammed, Zouhir and the rest of the staff take brilliant care of you and you'll often find yourself provided with a refreshing afternoon mint tea. They are hugely knowledgable about their city and could not have been more welcoming or helpful. They organised a guide for us on a couple for days which was great for finding things we wouldn't have experienced otherwise. Breakfasts of breads and preserves, eggs, teas, coffees and fresh fruit are the perfect start to the day and dinners at the Dar were so fantastic you won't feel the need to dine out. In our 7 nights stay we never felt the need to go elsewhere. Dar Seffarine has only a few rooms so dinner feels like a family event and a great chance to meet the other guests. On a couple of nights Kate and Alaa cooked for us and their friends and gave us two most memorable and enjoyable evenings we could wish for.

It's the perfect place to stay in a city that will intrigue any visitor. We will definitely be returning.

Chris & Rachel

Room Tip: All are superb. We liked 'William' - great value, quiet and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This stunning riad was recommended to us my my cousin who stayed here almost 6 years ago on her honeymoon. Every single detail of the stay was perfection from the room to the food to the staff -- we simply could not have asked for more. We arrived in Fes after 8 days in Morocco, and this charming house was exactly what we needed to unwind. My husband and I are avid travelers and stay at a lot of nice hotels/homes, but this gem was really something special. On our last night we chatted with the owner over a beer before the mouth-watering 5 course dinner was served. Be sure to eat at DS, it was some of the best food we have on our 3 week trip! We will be back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdl11984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed at this beautiful dar a couple of months ago. We were on our honeymoon and quite accidentally happened to find this place to stay. Lucky we visited Morocco during ramadan so the big beautiful house was not fully booked. Theres not many rooms in this dar anyway which makes it perfect place to get some peace and quiet after a rather busy and hectic day out in city. The house alone is worth the visit but wait till you get to chat with the owners! We had the best time and best laughs talking with our hosts who we could now call our friends. We ended up having dinner at the house almost every night cause the food was divine. We miss this place and the nice people who have so beautifully renovated it. We're hoping to see both the house and the people again in the future. We'd recommend this place to everyone. Siiri & Ash

Room Tip: Any room is beautiful but go for the full experience and pick the main suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiiriHeiskanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at, and I have traveled all over the world. Every detail of this 600 year old house has been restored perfectly and the entire place is immaculate and beautifully maintained. Fes is a chaotic place, but once you enter Dar Seffarine, you have arrived in paradise. It is completely peaceful and quiet. The rooms are very large, and gorgeously furnished. It is small, and they encourage a community atmosphere. We met more people there than at all of the other places we went to in Morocco combined. The meals are served family style, so it is easy to get to know folks - when we were there most were from Australia, some from London and some from the US. The food at Dar Seffarine is the best we ate in Morocco (and that is really saying something as we ate many wonderful meals). Breakfast is included, and the elaborate dinner is modestly priced. We had another restaurant recommendation, but ended up eating at Dar Seffarine all four nights of our stay because we could not imagine any better food. The staff is very attentive and lovely and can accommodate anything you ask for. They arranged a day trip for us, transportation to our next city, and even walked us to the cash machine when we weren't sure how to get there.. If you are planning a trip to Morocco, put this place at the top of your list.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Dar Seffarine for 3 nights in Aug 2013. The Riad itself is a beautifully restored 600 yr house. The rooms are extremely spacious and clean - there are no locks on the door and the lack thereof was never a concern or problem. The rooftop is very well laid out and offers great views of the medina. After a day in the souks, it was extremely relaxing to sit on the rooftop and enjoy the nice breeze.
The location is convenient and even though the house is close to the Seffarine square, it's very quite. Mohammad was a great host, offering fresh hot mint tea on arrival to helping out with directions and recommending great places to eat.
Overall it was a great experience and I would recommend Dar Seffarine to anyone visiting Fes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurpreet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Dar Seffarine is an ancient traditional Moroccan royal home in the magical city of Fes, one of the undeniable highlights of Morocco. Your visit to Fes will truly be a complete quintessential Moroccan experience with a stay at Dar Seffarine.
Like stepping back in time, Kate and Alaa, the owners and restorators of Dar Saffarine, have brought a ruin back to its former magnificence. Their passion for the history, culture and architecture permeate throughout this carefully and perfectly restored home, and their hospitality and kindness make you feel as if it was your home. The staff are like part of the family and really care about your comfort and experience, it is in so many ways that Alaa and Kate have created a beautiful atmosphere inside this magical Riad.
We spent 3 nights at Dar Seffarine, and it will always be a memory of the perfect four days in Morocco. It is the ideal home base from which to explore the Fes Medina and arrange trips to nearby towns and sites. It is a great place to connect with other travellers and share stories or find peace and quiet if you chose. The rooftop gives you an enveloping panorama of the Fes Medina with a great sunrise and a beautiful sunset.
And if this has not captured your attention, Alaa and Kate are amazing people and chefs … I miss them already and plan to visit again!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have air con and are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leolo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had the extreme pleasure of spending a week at Dar Seffarine in June with four friends, so 5 crazy ladies on a Moroccan adventure of a lifetime! Dar Seffarine turned out to be the most wonderful experience. Our hosts Allaa and Kate have made an exquisite haven in the hustle and bustle of the old medina os Fes. Our daytime manager Mohammed was a delightful young man who prepared a wonderful breakfast for us every day and was most helpful with anything we requested. Also he was funny and entertaining with his very clever ability to mimic accents and to speak several languages very well indeed! At night we were taken care of by Zouhir another very nice young man whose mum and sister prepared wonderful dinners for us after our rooftop sundowner drinks.All on all a stay we will never forget, and I think very fondly of our time spent there. If ever I were to return to Morocco, I would not hesitate to visit Dar Sefarine again. Rona from Avalon NSW Australia

Room Tip: Any room is great but I was on the top floor and the stairs were good exercise! All were lovingly pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Rcif
Riad Rcif
#6 of 221 in Fes
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Roumana
Dar Roumana
#8 of 221 in Fes
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#1 of 221 in Fes
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#14 of 221 in Fes
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Seffarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Seffarine

Address: 14 Derb Sbaa Louyate | Seffarine, Fes 30020, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £68 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Seffarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Seffarine Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing