We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Riyad, impeccable service, magnificent food”
Review of Dar Seffarine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Seffarine
Ranked #1 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Riyad, impeccable service, magnificent food”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Recently traveled to Morocco with 22 friends to celebrate my 50th birthday. A few of us stayed longer and we spent 3 nights in Fes at Dar Seffarine (based on a variety of recommendations). From the moment you are greeted and walked through the gate into the medina and along one of 9100 streets, you feel transported into an exotic world. Upon entering the Riyad, your visual senses are overwhelmed by thousands of tiles/mosaic works and an offering of mint tea. Some of my guests had their own rooms while others shared. All well designed/deluxe and well appointed. The breakfasts of crumpets, fresh fruit, pancakes with honey, strong tea/coffee, eggs---were deliciously fresh. Best of all were the 2 dinners we ate. By far the best tagines we had the entire trip. The riad arranged for us to have the tour guide Driss Mabrour show us around the medina. He has a fabulous wealth of knowledge about the history of Fes, the Berbers, comparative religion, cultural practices--you name it. Evening sunset on the terrace with a view of the 9th century university and all of Fes, with the call to prayer, was magical. Best of all the service. This is a family run place and each guest made to feel part of the family.

Room Tip: we had a beautiful room on the 2nd floor, but an unfortunate rooster crowing all night long next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biotechmadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    20
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
66
261
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Clusaz, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Well, how do you deal with a large group of people who all want to do different things and are somewhat annoying in the process? The team at Riad Dar Seffarine coped with aplomb like I've never seen, providing drivers, guides, tea galore and endless smiles with impeccable service throughout our stay.

Our bathroom had a slightly musty, damp smell, but the rooms are so massive that the bathroom aired out quickly. The food is worth staying in for between visits to the medina and beyond.

Bring ear plugs for some of the rooms as there's a rooster nearby that likes talking through the night. Friends on the other side of the riad heard nothing, and the staff told us a nice story about their attempts to stop the sounds of birds...no idea whether it was true but it was funny.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed 4 days at Dar Seffarine in December and must say it is definitely the most beautiful restored riad – and palace – I have ever seen! The combination of the overwhelming architecture, the amazingly wonderful and large rooms (suites!), the breath-taking roof terrace, the relaxed atmosphere, the most delicious food served at the common dinner each evening and the very sweet, friendly and helpful staff at Dar Seffarine – all this made my stay unforgettable! Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The building is beautifully restored. The rooms are spacious and kept very clean. The service was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying at Dar Seffarine to anyone traveling to Fes. You must have dinner one night at the hotel. It was the best and most authentic Moroccan meal I had in Morocco.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Woohoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our train from Casablanca was three hours late; nonetheless, TeamSeffarine had a driver (and guide to walk us through the medina to the hotel) waiting at the station late on a Saturday night.

And things got even better from there.

The dar is magnificent. The central court awes and overwhelms. They could easily charge admission to tourists just to see the public space; it rivals some of Fes' actual attractions. We spent hours each day relaxing in the lobby, reading, lolling around, even giggling at it all over tea and coffee.

Our second floor suite was tastefully decorated in Moroccabilia, without wandering under the transom into kitsch. Service was polite without being intrusive.

Breakfast was served every morning, communally. We're fairly private people, but we grew to really enjoy this feature. Some of our fellow guests wet a hoot. And it was fun to sit with a melange of accents and passports and swap stories.

We ordered dinner at Dar Seffarine twice. The first meal was outstanding; one of the better meals we had in Morocco. The second meal was merely good, but not memorable. Which still makes it better than most of the other food we had around town.

So so so highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortonbrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I recently stayed at Dar Seffarine and was really impressed with the beauty of this beautifully restored riad set just steps away from lively Seffarine Square.

Owners Alla and Kate and their team (Mohamed, Zouhir, his charming sisters and Jamal) all went out of their way to make every guest feel welcome and at home. Each evening they prepare a delicious home cooked meal which guests enjoy communally in a cozy room off the terrace.

The rooms are stylish with tasteful and understated decorative touches that perfectly compliment the rich centuries old tile and wood work.

This is a unique and stunning place and the perfect home away from home while visiting Fes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I rarely write reviews, but I wanted to share our incredible experience at Dar Seffarine. From the moment we arrived, we were treated so warmly. From the owners to the cook to the two managers, Zuhair and Muhammed, everyone accommodated requests with a smile. We were traveling with our four year old son, and they were especially sweet to him. We stayed in the Anneka suite; the rooms are decorated in minimalist, yet traditional, way, which just enhances the impressive restoration of this ancient riad. We spent Christmas Eve there and it was magical: dancers, music, an incredible feast, wonderful fellow travellers and the owner's friends...it felt like family. My only negative was the wifi signal wasn't great, but that's pretty common in the medina, and our bathroom could've been a bit larger. Overall, an incredible place; amazing service and really lovely people. Recommend very highly.

Room Tip: They're all beautiful, but the ground floor rooms don't get much light and have less privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Seffarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Seffarine

Property: Dar Seffarine
Address: 14 Derb Sbaa Louyate | Seffarine, Fes 30020, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Seffarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Seffarine Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing