We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nuno M.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar El Hana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dar El Hana
Ranked #68 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nuno M.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Dar el Hana is a lovely place to stay in Fes, a relaxing, snug and serene guesthouse where I truly felt at home. I highly recommend it. The owner, Josephine, is a delightful and friendly host. The service is excellent, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the food, cooked by Fatima, unsurpassed – the best I had in Morocco. Ben too was always willing to help me and talk with me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
77
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed in the Hibiscus room. The bathroom is "across the hall" but what this really means is down a few steps and just adjacent to the public area, so it can be a bit awkward to run into other guests/management on your way to the toilet/shower, especially first thing in the morning. Fatimah's cooking is truly delicious, and I recommend having at least one meal at the Dar during your stay.
Location is really great. Bed is comfortable with nice linens. Good A/C.
I was not bothered by the fact that there is often times no English-speaking staff on hand at the Dar.
Rooftop terrace is nice, but there is no real lounge area with comfortable chairs/sofas (as there were at other riads). Indoor communal area is small but nice.
Overall, clean, good food, good location, but not excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We were met at the gate by the owner from Australia who spoke wonderful English. She pointed out many strategic points on the way to the riad so that we wouldn't get lost when we went out again. This was very helpful in a medina that is known for getting lost. She even gave us a map and went over the streets and where to find points of interest and restaurants. I got sick from the food I bought at the Clock Restaurant. Don't eat the salad or the camel burger. This riad was a wonderful place to get sick because the owner told us exactly what to buy at the pharmacy to get my stomach back to the point of keeping food in it. My only problem were the steps as I am 65 and they were a little too much for me being on the top floor. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at Dar El Hana in June with 2 friends. We were totally in love with our experience in Fes Medina. Josephine our host and her wonderful staff Ben & Fatima couldn't do enough for us to make us feel at home. Josephine has connections with the best guides and tours available in the region. The roof top terrace was a highlight each night and the outdoor shower is a must! We took cooking classes with Fatima...a wonderful sensory experience for all the senses. The hospitality and amenities are way beyond expectations, the cost of our stay was extremely affordable. The house has a number of accommodation options and is perfect for families or sole travellers. I only wish I could have stayed longer I will definitely return! Thank you Josephine, Ben & Fatima :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Just last week we spent two days at Dar El Hana in the heart of the medina. The experience was so vivid that the sites, smells, and sounds still linger. Ben was tremendously helpful and made it simple for us to see Fes in the two days we had. The roof deck is wonderful and provides a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the medina. It was particlarly great to be there during Ramadan to hear the evening call to prayer. Thanks for the memories.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aidan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at Dar El Hana for two nights in July 2012. The only thing I'd complain about is the walk off the main medina street to the Dar... it was a bit creepy. We were probably safe the whole time, but it was a dark and windy alleyway unlike those in Marrakech which were cleaner and much better lit.
Dar El Hana was great. It's in an ideal location. "Ben", an employee of the Dar, was EXTREMELY helpful and very kind. He took us through a map of Fes and pointed out the must see locations. What great service! He really made us feel welcome and was always willing to answer our questions when we had them. He strongly influenced my perception of Dar El Hana.
Rooftop terrace was beautiful, what a great view. We stayed in the Jacaranda suite. Big room with a good bathroom. On the negative side, the bathroom had a plumbing problem which caused a bad smell at times.
All in all, I would recommend this place with a few reservations (dark alleyway felt creepy, and the smell of the bathroom was an issue).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephineJoyce, Owner at Dar El Hana, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Willyliam,

I thank you for taking the time to write this review, and appreciate the positive comments, particularly appreciating Ben, and our valued Staff.
It is most unfortunate that the street lights in our neighbourhood were out at the time of your stay, and, despite repeated requests by us, the local authorities were about to, or were perhaps in the process of, upgrading the electrical system in the medina, to support the increased demand.
I am happy to report that the changeover has been completed, and the normally very well lit streets are indeed well lit again, including the street light outside our front door.
The Medina's plumbing system does have a reputation for occasional unsolicited "smells" issuing back up the drains with no S-bend. Hence you will find the plug in the sink, or plastic in the drains in an attempt to block this. I do realise that there is sometimes a smell which can be an issue; if I could rectify this I would, and fortunately it is rarely a problem. I will reassure you, however, that it is not a lack of cleanliness issue.
I am delighted that you have overall enjoyed your stay, and thankyou once again for this opportunity to respond.
Warmest regards, Josephine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leusden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Dar el Hana is a very beautiful guest-house. We really enjoyed our week in Fes and our stay in Dar el HAna. It is more like a privat hotel, with very friendly an caring people. The terras on the roof has a very impressing vieuw and all the rooms in the house ar so very beautiful!!
The beds are good, everything is very clean and the breakfasts are very good. Don't forget to ask Fatima to cook for you once, it is really good!

Ben and Fatima, thanks for all!

Nynke Lely( Holland)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nynke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mochachic, Owner at Dar El Hana, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
It was a great pleasure to have your family for the week at Dar El Hana. I am delighted that you enjoyed Fes and Dar El Hana, and especially that you have taken the time to share your experience. Although I was away at that time, my staff expressed to me that you are a lovely family. We would welcome you back anytime. Much appreciation, Josephine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Bouanania
Dar Bouanania
#134 of 209 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#9 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#6 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryad Salama Fes
Ryad Salama Fes
#22 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ziryab
Dar Ziryab
#131 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Hana

Property: Dar El Hana
Address: 22 Ferrane Kouicha, Talaa K'Bira | Cherabliyene, Fes Medina, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is our specialty. Just 5 min walk from secure car parking and taxi access, pre-arrange a rendezvous and enjoy the welcome of our household staff. We help you orientate yourself with maps and information, and off you set confidently, to explore the Medina. On returning to Dar El Hana, relax in the tranquil atmosphere of this recently restored traditional Moroccan home. The modest decor reflects comfort and quality, accentuating the restored zellige, cedarwood and ironwork of 300 years. Dinners and cooking lessons can be arranged on request. We can also arrange excellent Guides and onward travel arrangements. Our 4th room, Aladdins Suite, is a comfortable room at very affordable price. We have stairs up 3 levels to the terrace. No elevator. Independant Family accommodation is also available with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar El Hana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing