We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, friendly staff, and great location! We'll go back!”
Review of Dar El Hana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar El Hana
Ranked #82 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Charm, friendly staff, and great location! We'll go back!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Josephine was so attentive, even before our arrival and after our departure. The entire Riad was charming and all the staff were great. Being in the center of the Medina was great and it was still quiet and peaceful at night. The terrace where we ate had a spectacular view and food was amazing.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor that was great, but all other rooms looked good. I don't thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephineJoyce, Owner at Dar El Hana, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Hi again "Kalin D" - to thank you for such a sweet review. I was happy that you enjoyed your stay, and such a bonus that you have taken the time to share this for others to see.
We look forward to your next visit.
Warmest wishes
Josephine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
77
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falset, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Dar El Hana is very well located in the Fes Medina. Leaving the very secure front gate, thirty metres on, you are drawn into the whirlpool of the Medina. We hired a car for part of our stay to be able to visit Volubilis at our leisure. We parked the car for 2 nights in the open carpark Aïn Alitzen, 200 m from the Riad.
Upon our arrival Ben gave us a very clear explanation of the highlights of the Medina. We managed very well with his maps and our lack of fixed destination.
We stayed in the Jacaranda suite and appreciated the extra space to spread out during our 3 night stay. A very comfortable, firm bed, a great shower, space and a view onto the interior plaza all made for a charming room. The sun and the view from the roof terrace (with honesty fridge) were great in the morning.
Merci beaucoup Arantxa, Ben et Fatima XXX

Room Tip: The Jacaranda Suite comprises 2 rooms and a small bathroom. The single bed and the desk in the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZinSPAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Spent 5 days here at the end of October. Great location at the heart of the Medina, a World Heritage Site, on a quiet side street just off the Tala'a Kbira (the main street in the Medina), but with easy access to and from the Bab Boujloud at the western end of the Medina and the Bab Ain Zleten. Very clean and comfortable with a very attentive and supportive staff who went out their way to make my stay (my first in Fez) most enjoyable and worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vambery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

What Can i say. I have been travelling for the past 6 months and i have not come across friendliness like this in all my travels. From the minute i was greeted at the Train station by the organised driver and meeting the staff at the Dar, i instantly felt at peace and welcomed to Dar El Hana, i guess that's why it translates to Peace House. The Staff, Arantxa, Ben and Fatima where always more then happy to accommodate any of my needs, from home cooked meals and cooking class, which i highly recommend, to organising tours and guides. The Fridge is always stocked and works on an honesty system, breakfast every morning on the terrace was amazing and all home cooked. there was wifi covering the entire property, the beds where a special treat with embroidered pillows and high quality linen, the size and comfort let me sleep like a baby. The place was exceptionally clean to my standards. there was a house laptop for guest us, ipod doc and a collection of books and music.

Room Tip: Note to all; all accommodation in the Fez Madina is built on top of each other. earlier in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveller_0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I would highly recommend this beautiful Dar situated in Fes's fabulous Medina ( the only place to stay) All the rooms are beautifully furnished with traditional Moroccan furniture, wonderful roof terrace and a great dining and seated area if the weather wasn't so good. The service was the best I 've experienced in Morocco, and we can't thank Arantxa enough for all the help with retrieving our missing baggage, Ben for his knowledge of the Medina and where to go and Fatima for the best meal of our trip. There was 5 in our group and we had the whole Dar to ourselves which was very special, somewhere I will definitely return to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and very different, we went on their web site to pick ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Enjoyed every aspect of the experience. Smooth arrival from car park with our luggage wheelbarrowed right to the front door. Lovely tile, carving, beautiful and CLEAN. Wonderful rooftop terrace for barbecue, which was a delicious option Josephine offered our group. Even included traditional music. True cultural immersion. Breakfast made fresh daily, guides available on request for sight-seeing, shopping, etc.
DEFINITELY will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Dar el Hana is a lovely place to stay in Fes, a relaxing, snug and serene guesthouse where I truly felt at home. I highly recommend it. The owner, Josephine, is a delightful and friendly host. The service is excellent, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the food, cooked by Fatima, unsurpassed – the best I had in Morocco. Ben too was always willing to help me and talk with me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.4 mi away
Riad Laayoun
Riad Laayoun
#10 of 99 in Fes
527 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
941 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Riad Fez Yamanda
Riad Fez Yamanda
#53 of 216 in Fes
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Hana

Property: Dar El Hana
Address: 22 Ferrane Kouicha, Talaa K'Bira | Cherabliyene, Fes Medina, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is our specialty. Just 5 min walk from secure car parking and taxi access, pre-arrange a rendezvous and enjoy the welcome of our household staff. We help you orientate yourself with maps and information, and off you set confidently, to explore the Medina. On returning to Dar El Hana, relax in the tranquil atmosphere of this recently restored traditional Moroccan home. The modest decor reflects comfort and quality, accentuating the restored zellige, cedarwood and ironwork of 300 years. Dinners and cooking lessons can be arranged on request. We can also arrange excellent Guides and onward travel arrangements. Our 4th room, Aladdins Suite, is a comfortable room at very affordable price. We have stairs up 3 levels to the terrace. No elevator. Independant Family accommodation is also available with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar El Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Hana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing