We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful riad”
Review of Dar El Hana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar El Hana
Ranked #56 of 225 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Had a great experience at Dar El Hana! Ben, Fatima, and Angela were so enormously helpful -- Fatima is a gifted cook! Try and eat a dinner there, especially if you are vegetarian/veggie-friendly and want to taste some of the wonderful market produce. The terrace, where breakfast was served each day (even in winter - the sun was warm enough) was such a joy, after the hustle and bustle of the medina. This is not a luxury riad but more like a family house, and feels incredibly well cared-for, and full of harmony. We loved being based there, and are grateful for the support from the staff. The other guests it attracted were also interested to meet.

Room Tip: We had Aladdin room, which is its own small garden flat (though not self-catering). It was comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephineJoyce, Owner at Dar El Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

I wish to thank you for taking the time to give us a great and honest review. This is exactly what I have wished to offer my guests...comfort and great fun, especially with good food, and with other guests as well.
Wishing you continued happy travels!
Josephine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Cozy, charming, hospitable that and more. The whole family is sad to leave Peace House or Dar el Hana as it is in Moroccan. We had a great stay in Fez and much credit goes to Angela, Ben and Fatima. An experience I hope to repeat soon!

Room Tip: Hibiscus is great but Jacaranda is the best! For 20 euros more it won't break the budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephineJoyce, Manager at Dar El Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you Peggy! Lovely to meet you and your family - you are all welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My girlfriend and I have just spent 3 nights in Fez staying at the Riad Dar El Hana.

Accommodation was excellent. Josephine (the owner) was very welcoming and extremely knowledgable and helpful in organising trips.

Great breakfast was served each day by her wonderful staff Ben and Fatima. Was definitely our favourite Riad of the holiday and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dufy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I first saw Dar El Hanna on TV on one of the Travel Channel’s shows. I loved its charm and decided to experience it in person. My companions and I visited Fes in November 2013 and stayed at Dar El Hanna for 2 nights. What a beautiful experience. The hotel was very charming, cozy and clean. The staff (Ben, Fatima and Ali) was very welcoming and made us feel at home. The owner, Josephine did a wonderful job preserving this 300 year old home and converting it into a charming hotel. I highly recommend it. I plan on staying there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephineJoyce, Owner at Dar El Hana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello Ted, I wish to thank you for your wonderful review, and I am delighted that you have shared this experience. We will welcome you back anytime. Happy journeying, Josephine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent four nights at the Dar El Hana in October 2013. Arriving from the station we were met by Ben, who guided us to the hotel. He explained the Medina to us so we would get the best out of our stay. We had a dinner cooked by Fatima on arrival, which was delicious. Especially her fish balls. Fatima and Ben were always there with tea and home made cakes. Special mention must be made of Arantxa, the manager. She went to endless trouble to make our stay pleasant. We were there during a religious festival, when everything was closed. She rang around to find us a restaurant which was open for dinner on two nights, and she accompanied us to make sure we did not get lost. She also managed to find two guides for us to take trips inside and outside the Medina. She was very good company and a fund of useful information. We will not forget her for a long time, and wish her well. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Conveniently located (easy to get to and near all the main sights of the Medina), attentive and thoughtful staff (Arantxa and Ben are the best), the four nights at Dar El Hana made for a very satisfying visit to Fes. It is just off one of the main streets, so it is a calm oasis with a lovely roof-top terrace where daily breakfast begins the day beautifully.

Room Tip: The Aladdins room at the ground level has its own private entrance which was a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The moment I entered this place, I knew I was home. Good location, cozy and clean. Homey! With Josephine, the first time I met her, I felt like I was visiting my aunt or a family member. She was very helpful and welcoming! I'll come back here anytime!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Ryad Salama Fes
Ryad Salama Fes
#12 of 225 in Fes
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#26 of 225 in Fes
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#3 of 225 in Fes
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
581 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#62 of 100 in Fes
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Hana

Address: 22 Ferrane Kouicha, Talaa K'Bira | Cherabliyene, Fes Medina, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £54 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is our specialty. Just 5 min walk from secure car parking and taxi access, pre-arrange a rendezvous and enjoy the welcome of our household staff. We help you orientate yourself with maps and information, and off you set confidently, to explore the Medina. On returning to Dar El Hana, relax in the tranquil atmosphere of this recently restored traditional Moroccan home. The modest decor reflects comfort and quality, accentuating the restored zellige, cedarwood and ironwork of 300 years. Dinners and cooking lessons can be arranged on request. We can also arrange excellent Guides and onward travel arrangements. Our 4th room, Aladdins Suite, is a comfortable room at very affordable price. We have stairs up 3 levels to the terrace. No elevator. Independant Family accommodation is also available with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar El Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Hana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing