We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“deserving of a top ranking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“deserving of a top ranking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in our short stay in Fes. Excellent staff were very pleasant, friendly, and attentive. Rooms were amazing - well decorated, spacious, and a great bathroom. Location is very central within the old medina. Little things were done well; for example, on arrival we were given some great homemade Moroccan cookies which one of our friends could not stop talking about for days. Overall a great choice, and probably our best accommodation in our 8 nights in morocco. A minor comment, not to take away from our dazzling stay there... If you are looking for a high quality deep tissue massage or hammam, our opinion was that what makes this place fantastic is the property, and not so much the spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windycity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    49
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
208
562
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I picked this Riad after researching riad after riad. Finally we pulled the trigger and picked Riad Laaroussa based on it's number one status on Trip Advisor. It was heaven and it didn't disappoint. The women who work at the Riad embraced us and always referred to us as their brother and sister. Fred and Cathy were in France, but we were embraced by Sabah and F. Zed, who treated us as family and acted as if every irritating request that we had was their honor. When the cab driver dropped us off at the mouth of the medina, we were shell shocked and couldn't believe something as beautiful as this Riad was in the middle of this medina. When we got to the Riad, we were stunned by the beauty when the door was opened and every person in the Riad was joyous and helpful, which is a must in Fes. Otherwise, it can be overwhelming. We were lucky that they appointed us (at our request) an amazing tour guide, who reminded us we were really all just friends and fellow travelers - named Hamid Do (?) - short for Mohammed (since his father and brothers were named Muhammed, as well). He took us to see all of the amazing sites in Fes, that we didn't know existed and didn't know that we wanted to see. He was a bargain at about $35 per day. We couldn't have navigated the city without him or seen the amazing sites. Also, because he grew up there - he took us inside places we wouldn't have been allowed. The riad is stunning and the rooms are more beautiful in person. Everyone seems to smile all of the time and the Hammam, is takes you back to another time. The beds are amazingly comfortable. We got two twins or doubles, in the yellow room - which were pushed together. But you wouldn't know it because it just felt like the most comfortable queen size bed and it only had one headboard. The views from the roof lounge area takes your breath away and the food is amazing. Especially the breakfasts. The wonderful dogs Ben and Lou have had their share of kitchen scraps and Mi Mi the cat, will let you know when she wants to say hello and hang out. We don't even like cats, and we let Mi Mi in our room. We got too busy for the free cooking class that they offer and we plan to do it next time we are there. They know where to send you to eat, so ask their advise on everything. If you are going to Fes, Riad Laaroussa is a must.

Room Tip: The yellow room was amazing - large, cozy and bright all at once!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
593 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

During our 2 week trip through Morocco, we spent 2 nights here in the Cream Suite after being upgraded from the Yellow Room. What a treat and how gracious of them! In the middle of the medina but very quiet. Our room was beautifully decorated with a fireplace. Our driver called to have us met at the gate and once we arrived, the fireplace was lit and the heat was turned on. Now, that is 5 star service. The person who walked us through the medina also had a luggage cart to help us carry the luggage.

Positives - free wifi but sometimes weak. Breakfast can be had anytime with crepes and french toast. The bathroom tends to be cold but there is a little heater in there. A hair dryer is provided in the room.

Negatives - the shower does not have a curtain so when you shower, the water tends to splash on the floor. The room where the toilet sits had a sewer smell. No eggs at breakfast.

We arranged for a half day walking tour through the Riad for 200 dh but somehow, unbeknownst to us, we ended up being on a full day tour (for 300 dh) without him mentioning this. We had to buy the guide lunch and he took us to 5 shops for shopping which was annoying. He also arranged a car and asked us to pay 200 dh at the end just for the car. We refused and had an argument. Although the tour guide was arranged by the Riad, we did not feel it was their fault but it really upset us. We did not even have time for photography after wasting an entire day with him. It is better to do a half day tour and explore the medina on your own afterwards.

Overall we had a great stay in this beautiful Riad. It was the biggest Riad we stayed in with a beautiful courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My family and I planned a 3 night stay at this riad based on the great reviews by other travelers. To our surprise, there was a mix up with the Internet booking agent and we actually had one double room available to 5 of us. Long story short, Fred and Cathy welcomed us to their private home for the night. We had the most relaxing breakfast on the terrace with Fred. Fred had already made arrangements for us at Riad Fes for the following 2 nights. Although a wonderful Riad, we found ourselves back at Laaroussa for the cooking class (definitely recommended) and a fantastic dinner.

What makes this riad special is the very personal attention each guest receives. The house is filled with the positive energy of a loving couple who have made an impact to the lives of all their staff and every guest they host. We left Fes hoping to come back and visit the team again.

FZ is a kind genuine ambitious woman from the medina who loves life and is fully dedicated to her work. She told us stories of how this riad has changed her life and she works hard to achieve her dreams of buying a house in the new city.

Fred and Cathy's mission is clearly to live life to the fullest and give back to the community as much as they can. We wish them well and happiness with their 2 children.

Fred has done a fantastic job with the renovations and has preserved the authenticity of the house. This is the cliche "home away from home" :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marche
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have travelled around Marocco for about 2weeks and this was the best value place we have been in. Perfect service, excellent location, verykind staff, clean and nice rooms, and maybe te best salades maroquaine we have had! The riad is in the Fez Medina, but once you enter you can feel like you are in a peaceful and very relaxing oasis. Strongly reccomended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I enjoyed three nights at Riad Laaroussa in November 2011 and I cannot say enough great things about it. We found the medina of Fes to be a charming, interesting and beautiful place and the same of Riad Laaroussa. As we were the only guests in the Riad at the time of our stay, we were upgraded to a larger room upon our arrival which was a very nice treat. FZ and the rest of the staff took amazing care of us while we were there. Every request was granted with a smile and courtesy, although few requests were even necessary because the staff anticipated everything we needed to make our stay as comofortable and pleasurable as possible without being intrusive. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious (I think it was the yellow room?)-we were able to peek into most of the other rooms as well and each one we saw was a unique little oasis within an oasis. RL was one of the highlights of our trip. I hope to make it back to Fes again one day soon and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We selected this riad in Fes after a detailed research in internet and reading all others's review. Well, this riad was far ahead of our expectations. Just to mention a few things: clean, well located, excellent food, elegant rooms, super friendly staff (always available to help), fantastic service. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoLON01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Property: Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing