We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive Riad, But With Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attractive Riad, But With Problems”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at Riad Laaroussa for one night in June, 2012. The staff, especially Sabah, was very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, we immediately realized that the stairs to our room, the Yellow room, were too much for us to climb at our ages (77 & 78). There were three flights and the risers are higher than normal. We told the manager that we would stay one night, but we couldn't stay two nights as planned because of the stairs. If we had known how many stairs there were to climb, we wouldn't have booked this Riad. (It wasn't mentioned at their web site.) The owners and the manager couldn't have been nicer in arranging another hotel for us. They even sent an employee to accompany us to the new hotel which didn't have the problem with the stairs. It was a shame about the problem with the stairs because, otherwise, it is a very nice Riad.

Room Tip: If you have a problem climbing stairs, request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROC1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    51
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
216
585
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed in Riad Laaroussa a week ago with my brother and had a truly amazing time. The Riad is beautiful, clean, and quiet and the staff is incredibly helpful and welcoming. The rooms are wonderfully authentic with lovely drapes and large wooden doors, the roof terrace provides beautiful views of Fez and the foods was delicious. The staff is incredible and extremely helpful. My brother was yearning to swim in a pool and they helped us to find one and walked us there.

Overall a fantastic place to stay during a visit to Fez.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEllis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

One of the loveliest, most magical stays we've ever experienced. We stayed at Riad Laaroussa for three nights while in Fez, and throughout our entire trip (which spanned Tangier to Marrakesh with several points in between), these 3 days in Fez took the cake-- and the Riad was a large part of that reason. We fell in love with the Riad- the gorgeous outdoor garden space, the wonderful food, the rooftop terrace, and the luxurious space and amenities of our room would have made this stay deserve an "A" rating. But the warm, attentive, and obviously very happy staff made this experience an "A+" in our book. We miss them all!

Two suggestions if you book here:

1) Even if you're not a foodie, most definitely take a kitchen cooking class. We learned so very much, not just about the food, but about the culture of Morocco. Not wanting to take an entire day in the kitchen (the experience that is advertised in the book begins in the morning with a trip to the market, and ends late that afternoon), we asked if we could have an abbreviated course, and the staff were extremely accommodating. After a day on our own in Fez, we met Badia in the kitchen at 2pm- which was perfect. Badia was such a wonderful host--all we did was laugh with her (with some onion-inducing tears mixed in!)! HIGHLY recommend not to miss meeting her!

2) Do not miss out on the Spa and Hammam experience- we almost didn't do it to save time for more shopping, and we were so happy we did. Such a sensorial treat!

We had such a great time with Samir, Badia, Sabah, and everyone else. And Mimi the cat and Ben and Lou really made this feel like home :)
We'll most definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiFerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at Riad Laaroussa when my family came to visit me in May of 2012. Having lived in Morocco for 10 months, I thought I was well accustomed to the hospitality and friendliness of the locals. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how the staff at the RL went above and beyond to make us feel at home during our stay. From the amazing rooftop dinners to the wine and cheese we enjoyed upon arrival, everything about our stay was fantastic. Sabah and Fatima Zahra deserve a special shout-out for being amazing hosts. I highly recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Fes!

- Connor

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keegan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Book now! There isn't much else to say really. We stayed here last month for 3 days and quite simply loved it. Highlights: spacious and stylish rectangular rooms with gorgeous bathrooms, the rooftop terrace which has magnificent views of the old city, the broad selection of Moroccan wines which you can sip on that terrace, the downstairs inner courtyard and quality of service. The only thing which was disappointing was the dinner we had at the hotel where we had arguably the heaviest and tasteless tagine we had during our entire trip in Morocco. Having said that, rarely does a place deserve its number 1 slot as much as Riad Laroussa does. Big thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We've had a very good time in the Riad, on oasis in this busy city. Very nice people! The hamam & massage is a must!

Regards,
Sam & Cin

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank S d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at Riad Laaroussa and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. The entire riad staff is lovely and the rooms are comfortable, and both breakfasts and dinners are incredibly generous and delicious. The riad itself is beautiful and set in the middle of the medina, and the riad found us an excellent local full day guide to help us with navigating and sightseeing and shopping. Our stay was altogether a completely satisfying experience in all aspects, and I hope to return again soon. Thank you!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 98 in Fes
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 98 in Fes
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 98 in Fes
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 98 in Fes
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Property: Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing