We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A World of Warmth and Welcome in the Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A World of Warmth and Welcome in the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our stay at Riad Laaroussa was one of the highlights of our visit to Morocco. Moroccan-born Frenchman Fred and his American wife Kathy have created a wonderful community within the walls of this beautifully restored Riad in the heart of the Medina.
This is the total accommodation package with every detail attended to: the rooms are beautiful, spacious and air-conditioned, the bathrooms huge for Morocco. The service is impeccable from the moment of arrival when Laarbi the porter meets you and guides you through the myriad streets of the Medina, to the entrance of the Riad where you are greeted by a smiling face, mint tea and scented towels. There is a beautiful rooftop terrace where meals are served and a private Hammam where you can experience a cleansing steam bath and a wonderful massage from Nezha.
My husband spent a day in the kitchen and at the market with Badiae the talented cook, who shared the secrets of Moroccan cuisine- no charge!
I was privileged to be invited to view the old family home of Abdul who had lived all his life in the Medina.
The real asset of this Riad is the staff who exude warmth and hospitality and are willing to share their smiles and their stories with those who are lucky enough to visit. Queen of them all is FZ, an inspiring woman who lifts the spirits by her very presence. We won't soon forget the vision of her and her colleagues spontaneously bursting into song and dance on the rooftop on our last night.
If you are travelling to Morocco, look no further then the Riad Laaroussa as the perfect base from which to explore this fascinating city.
But the real

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    49
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
208
562
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I embarked on a wonderful honeymoon journey through Morocco and after a very long day of travelling from Casablanca, we arrived in the historic Fes and Riad Laaroussa. From the absolute moment we arrived we were treated like true royalty, a feeling that I've never experienced in any stay ever before. Cathy greeted us with refreshing rosewater towels and FZ made sure our bags were taken to our room. We originally booked the Brown Room, however Sabah was more than kind enough to upgrade us to the Red Room for our honeymoon.

The room was absolutely beautiful. Open concept, boutique style decor and pleasant. Room service was timely and organized. It always felt the rooms were clean and tidy everytime we walked in.

The food was also fantastic. It was our first tagine experience in Morocco and it was exceptional on both nights. Chicken tagine on the first night and beef tagine on the second night. It really didnt feel like restaurant food but just home made authentic Moroccan cuisine.

Although food, establishment, and location are key factors that help make this top of its class, I really believe that the team of people are the real reason that make Riad Laaroussa #1 on tripadvisor. Not for one second did we feel we were in a hotel or guest house. It was like we stayed over for a few nights with our closst friends. Owners Fred and Cathy were so humble, and very accomodating. Sabah and the rest of the team were so very friendly and nice to have around. The service they provided us was far and beyond just part of their daily duties but more as something they really had the pleasure of doing. And FZ, we dont think we have ever met anyone so sweet, and warm as FZ. Riad Larroussa is so very fortunate to have her as she is surely a gem. We were touched by her every presence from breakfast to dinner and all the helpful advise and suggestions.

Overall this riad is a very special place and it inspired me in so many ways. We definately feel that along with kasbah du Toubkhal this is probably the best place to stay in Morocco and if we do one day return to this wonderful kingdom, Riad Laaroussa is one reason why we'd come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joemangiacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

To the unititiated, the very hot medina in Fez could be overwhelming, with its chaotic, bustling shady pathways, filled with colourful robes & shop-wares spilling into the streets crowded with locals, tourists & the ubiquitous Moroccan cats, but being met by cheerful Laarbi who leads you calmly through the turmoil to the unassuming wooden door & through into the cool green garden of arty Riad Laaroussa remedies all.
We were greeted by warm smiles form all, sweet mint tea & cakes from FZ, then a chilled rose from Fred...bliss!
The twelfth century Riad is beautifully restored so has stunning tiles & plaster work and each room has its own colour scheme & style. There are some that are accessed only by steep stairs so I recommend asking about these if you have any mobility issues.
The staff are without exception friendly & helpful & Sabah especially will go to great lengths to resolve any problems you may have. It seems that Fred & Kathy are generous patrons of their team & it shows in the confidence & ease they have with guests. The overall feeling is of staying in a modern & very stylish home populated by a large proudly Moroccan family.
There are many artisitic touches, from the paintings, artifacts, & furnishings to the wonderful stainless steel furnished room on the roof.
All in all I think the size of the riad and the relaxed ambience make this a brilliant Fez experience.

Room Tip: Be aware that a couple of rooms have access via steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieAKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Riad Laaroussa and have to say that that it was a wonderful experience from the moment of contacting them. On arriving in Fes they sent someone to help with our luggage. We had a wonderful welcome when we arrived in the Riad, lovely hot scented hand towels and afternoon tea. The riad is spectacular, and very elegant. It was so relaxing to sit on the stylish sofas in the garden, and have refreshments and a light snooze listening to wonderful background music. A good breakfast was served on the terrace where we able to sit on comfortable armchairs under sun umbrellas and pass an enjoyable hour or so before setting off for the day. Our room was the blue room, which was decorated with great taste, wonderful furnishings, and paintings. The bathroom was huge, double sinks, a massive shower room plus a bath and shower. Words cannot do this room or Riad justice, let's just say it's the type of place you would find pictured in one of those upmarket home magazines like House and Country, and think WOW, wish I had a home like that. Nice touch was that when we returned to our room in the evening we found that the house-keeper had lit a scented candle and insense stick in our room. This is a riad where you immediately feel at home, there are many homely elements about it such as games dotted around for you to use or lots of books, plus two extremely, loving and playful dogs. (and I am afraid of dogs!!).
Everybody who works in this Riad is very friendly and helpful, really Morrocan hospitality at its best! You are on holiday in a riad, but in reality they make you feel like you at home and with a family. We decided to eat here and the food was excellent. We used one of their guides to take us around the city, who was professional and good value too. Unfortunately we did not have time to participate in Laaroussa's cookery lesson day - I was disappointed we didn't have time to do that. They are located in the Medina, it is not difficult to find this Riad, but like all the medinas if you don't pay attention as to where you are going you will get lost!! This was without a doubt one of the most hospitable places where I stayed in Morocco. If you are thinking of booking this Riad, don't hesitate, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

this was by far and away the best Riad we stayed in during our trip. The room was wonderful-super high ceilings, great bathroom(including towel warming rack-though clearly not needed) and a great fireplace. The breakfasts on the roof were top notch as well. the staff was really great, and they have these two lazy chocolate labs and a cat which were really friendly.
Great place, great service-probably the thing i will miss most about morocco will be staying here.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

my husband and I spent 3 nights in Fez. This Riaad is in the old City. It is quaint and peaceful. A real sanctuary from the hustle bustle of the Medina. The attendtion to detail and personal touch was so refreshing. It was a small Riaa so you immediately felt at home. Service was excellent. Loved our room - the 'grey'suite. Very romantic and relaxing. The staff are friendly and most helpful. Please note - lots of stairs. we were fine but it can be a problem if someone is injured etc.

Room Tip: we had the Grey suite. top floor and close to the front. the room was really big and decor was inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in a Riad in most of the bi cities in morocco and this one really stood out.
Good position, the Spa was great, Beautiful Riad and the best thing was not worrying about finding a restaurant as the food was the best traditional that we had on our visit. We are vegetarian and let them know before we went, they provided us beautiful food in an amazing setting. Thankyou.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Property: Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing