We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Great place. Very friendly hosts who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We arrived late and they offered to try and put together some dinner despite the fact the kitchen was long closed. Breakfast is served at whatever time you choose to get up and is on the roof with great views over the medina. The Riad itself is stunning and you'd never guess this would lie behind a plain wooden door in one of the side streets of the medina. Only downside is that's a little difficult to find (like many Riad's in a Medina) so get directions first.

Room Tip: we stayed in the yellow room - you have a nice little shared lounge are with view fo the courtyard j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shovelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

The owners Cathy and Fred found us a wonderful guide in Haimido who took us to places we wouldn't normally have seen. We really enjoyed sharing a Cous cous dish with friends of Hamido on the Friday. He is very sympathetic to the Fez way of life as he has lived here all his life. I enjoyed the Pink Floyd sound track he provided to accompany a new scene!
To return to the peace of the Riad where nothing is too much trouble was extremely relaxing. The owners and staff work as a friendly team and this is felt whether you are eating delicious meals to just sitting and taking your fabulous surroundings in. They were happy to provide mint tea and exquisite pastries at any [reasonable] time. I would definitely recommend it to anyone making a first visit to Fez and know afterwards you would return! Heather Wells

Room Tip: The Red room is on the first floor and is very romantic, with views of the Riads interior. Please n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninjy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

From the moment you arrive in Fes, Riad Laaroussa makes sure that your stay will be a seamless and comfortable one. The pick up at the airport, the transport of your luggage into the walled old town, the intro to your room and the welcome tea & biscuits, tips on how to get around - the service was impeccable and the team members are consummate professionals and warm. We had sumptous breakfasts at the riad and enjoyed a lovely dinner on our last night. The room was a beauty - unique with Moroccon decor and charm (though the copper taps could give you a little shock when water ran through them - this should be looked into!). The riad is simply beautiful - lovely courtyard center and the epitome of taste and sophistication and yet, homely and cosy. What I loved most was the roof top terrace where you could enjoy the evening breeze and night lights overlooking Fes and simply relax and unwind from the Medina. This will be an unforgettable place for me, not least cos my boyfriend proposed here :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

If u didnt try a hamam before u should go and try this, it is clean relaxing spcly along with the massage. The rooms are very nice and specious but the area in old town is not very nice . The staff is very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheriemam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Weaving our way through the labyrinth of narrow bustling streets of the Media we were totally gobsmacked when our driver opened the doors of Riad Laaroussa - an oasis of beauty and calm. We were looking for a relaxing break and we certainly found it here. Bespoke and tailor made tours are on offer. Shopping in the medina with the fantastic chef Badiae was amazing and then helping her cook in the large kitchen sitting around chatting to the staff as we sipped mint tea. On the days we were not out on a tour we sat reading in lounge or our room enjoying Fred's choice of world music that lazily wafted around the Riad. If all that was too much then there was always the Hammam where Rajae and Nezha soap, scrub and massage one into another world. Dinner and breakfast an equal joy as FZ makes certain that every part of your stay is perfect.
The owners Fred and Cathy have create a tranquil haven here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual and it will depend on your needs and budget. We loved staying in the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cejb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our stay at Riad Laaroussa was one of the highlights of our visit to Morocco. Moroccan-born Frenchman Fred and his American wife Kathy have created a wonderful community within the walls of this beautifully restored Riad in the heart of the Medina.
This is the total accommodation package with every detail attended to: the rooms are beautiful, spacious and air-conditioned, the bathrooms huge for Morocco. The service is impeccable from the moment of arrival when Laarbi the porter meets you and guides you through the myriad streets of the Medina, to the entrance of the Riad where you are greeted by a smiling face, mint tea and scented towels. There is a beautiful rooftop terrace where meals are served and a private Hammam where you can experience a cleansing steam bath and a wonderful massage from Nezha.
My husband spent a day in the kitchen and at the market with Badiae the talented cook, who shared the secrets of Moroccan cuisine- no charge!
I was privileged to be invited to view the old family home of Abdul who had lived all his life in the Medina.
The real asset of this Riad is the staff who exude warmth and hospitality and are willing to share their smiles and their stories with those who are lucky enough to visit. Queen of them all is FZ, an inspiring woman who lifts the spirits by her very presence. We won't soon forget the vision of her and her colleagues spontaneously bursting into song and dance on the rooftop on our last night.
If you are travelling to Morocco, look no further then the Riad Laaroussa as the perfect base from which to explore this fascinating city.
But the real

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brisvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I embarked on a wonderful honeymoon journey through Morocco and after a very long day of travelling from Casablanca, we arrived in the historic Fes and Riad Laaroussa. From the absolute moment we arrived we were treated like true royalty, a feeling that I've never experienced in any stay ever before. Cathy greeted us with refreshing rosewater towels and FZ made sure our bags were taken to our room. We originally booked the Brown Room, however Sabah was more than kind enough to upgrade us to the Red Room for our honeymoon.

The room was absolutely beautiful. Open concept, boutique style decor and pleasant. Room service was timely and organized. It always felt the rooms were clean and tidy everytime we walked in.

The food was also fantastic. It was our first tagine experience in Morocco and it was exceptional on both nights. Chicken tagine on the first night and beef tagine on the second night. It really didnt feel like restaurant food but just home made authentic Moroccan cuisine.

Although food, establishment, and location are key factors that help make this top of its class, I really believe that the team of people are the real reason that make Riad Laaroussa #1 on tripadvisor. Not for one second did we feel we were in a hotel or guest house. It was like we stayed over for a few nights with our closst friends. Owners Fred and Cathy were so humble, and very accomodating. Sabah and the rest of the team were so very friendly and nice to have around. The service they provided us was far and beyond just part of their daily duties but more as something they really had the pleasure of doing. And FZ, we dont think we have ever met anyone so sweet, and warm as FZ. Riad Larroussa is so very fortunate to have her as she is surely a gem. We were touched by her every presence from breakfast to dinner and all the helpful advise and suggestions.

Overall this riad is a very special place and it inspired me in so many ways. We definately feel that along with kasbah du Toubkhal this is probably the best place to stay in Morocco and if we do one day return to this wonderful kingdom, Riad Laaroussa is one reason why we'd come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joemangiacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 100 in Fes
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £94 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing