We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Cameron, Montana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed at Riad Laaroussa for 4 nights. Loved every minute of it. Staff is wonderful. Friendly, helpful and always smiling. Rooms are beautiful and the beds are very comfortable too. The food was great. We had dinner two out of our 4 nights there. One night we wanted pizza and they ordered it for us and had it delivered so we could eat on the rooftop. My mother-in-law and I also went to the Hammam that is there on site. It was delightful. It was such a relaxing experience. It is right in the Medina and you are right in the middle of it as soon as you step outside. They set us up with a guide one day and she was also wonderful. When we go back to Fez there is no where else we will stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJBEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    50
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
212
572
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My mother and I stayed at Riad Laaroussa for four nights at the end of our trip in Morocco. It's a larger riad than where we stayed in Marrakech, but you don't lose any of the personal attention. In fact, it is that personal attention that really stood out as a mark above anywhere I've stayed before.

On our first night, my mother fell quite ill and was not able to leave the room for two full days. The Laaroussa staff could not have been more attentive. When I was at breakfast on the roof terrace (a lovely, lovely start to each day!), five or six members of the staff each came by my table separately to inquire about my mother. They wanted to make sure she had everything she needed. They offered to take breakfast to the room for her. On her second day of being ill, they insisted on taking a tray of fruit, tea, water, and some bread for her. We declined housekeeping because she didn't want to leave bed. So instead, housekeeping left a basket of clean towels, bottled water, and tissues outside the door for us. Some construction was happening on the building next door, and the staff even offered to speak to the workers in case the noise was bothering my mother!

When she was finally well enough to come to breakfast, everyone came by to say how pleased they were to see her and that they hoped she was feeling better. Honestly, I have never seen such kind concern from hotel staff in my entire life. It was really, really touching. We both felt so cared for.

The riad is lovely and relaxing, with an inner courtyard and a gorgeous rooftop terrace with ample couches, tables, and even a lounger bed for passing some lazy hours in the sun with a book. Two friendly dogs and a friendly cat call the riad home, and they are always around happy to be petted. The location is great too for exploring the medina.

Oh - and the air conditioning is EXCELLENT. This is really important to us, and I imagine to anyone else considering a trip to Morocco in the warmer months.

The main reason I've held off a star is the stairs. Both of our rooms (the grey suite and the brown suite) were up very steep flights of stairs, as is the rooftop terrace where breakfast and dinner are served. I'm young and healthy, and I was breathless after each climb of these stairs (indeed, they are so steep that going down is in some ways worse!) For my mother and other older travelers, these stairs would be a real challenge. Maybe we're just out-of-shape Americans, but I do think travelers should be ready for these steps -- it is a new experience!

Anyway, I would happily recommend Laaroussa as a base for your time in Fez!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Riad Laaroussa is a beautiful riad in every way. The rooms are amazing and if you imagine yourself on the ideal Moroccan holiday, Riad Laaroussa is what it looks like. In addition the staff--absolutely everyone--is exceptional. They are warm, efficient, and infinitely patient. They were extremely accommodating of our young children as well as older guests. Furthermore, the location is ideal, it's in the heart of the media but somehow is a quiet oasis in the city. And if all of that doesn't impress you, book a night just for the food. Wonderful breakfasts and dinners not to mention lovely cookies, tea, and wine arriving before you even realized you wanted them. Wonderful. We're already planning out next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights when we visited Fes and we loved it! We stayed in the yellow room but was upgraded to the orange room on the second night. The entrance was not elaborate and when we first arrived at the door we were skeptical about this riad and thought we had made a bad choice. But as soon as you stepped into the riad, the atmosphere was totally warm, refreshing and lovely. Each room has unique decor that was thoughtfuly selected by the owner. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. When we checked in, our room was ready with candles and fireplace ready lighted up. Breakfast on the roof terrance was completely fantastic. We really enjoyed our time at this riad and would highly recommended it for anyone who comes to Fes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, U.A.E.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Lovely Riad. We were in the red room first, but there are no doors to the bathroom, it is just one big open plan. Very romantic but not for the bashful. So we moved to a larger grey room with a fireplace. Romantic, spacious and lovely. Biscuits and Moroccan tea free during the day :) Like a previous poster said, they have a cat. A very friendly cat. But more important than the cat, they have two big dogs.. very sweet and very friendly. The Riad is a home, to a couple with two kids, and to everyone who stays at the hotel. It really did feel like home. The staff is super nice. Not just nice, but super nice. So accommodating. The food is first class. There are lots of stairs to climb so if you have bad knees do be aware. This is DEFINITELY a place we will come back to again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salampeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

From the moment we stepped through the door we were instantly made to feel totally at home. All of the staff (not just the wonderful hosts Cath & Fred) were amazing and felt like friends rather than staff. Our two boys aged 10 and 13 loved the room (The Cream Room) and the breakfasts on the rooftop - they also loved the 2 resident Labradors and cat. I spent a morning with the chef shopping at the local markets in the Medina and then helping in the kitchen to prepare and learn about tagine cooking which was a fantastic experience and definitely a highlight. The in-house hammam was also fantastic. If I could return to any part of Morocco it would be Fes and the Riad Laaroussa.

Room Tip: The Cream Room was fabulous for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Beautiful, unique rooms and great service. Day begins with a full breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the Fes medina. Riad is centrally located in the medina - great for exploring and for getting lost. Most shopkeepers and other Fassi knew the riad and were able to help us get back to it when we were lost so this wasn't a concern. Wonderful service provided by Sabah and Karim. The owners, Fred and Cathy, were on site (they live next door) and very friendly and helpful. We weren't lacking for anything. If I return to Fes, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We were happy with the blue room. It had one twin bed and one single bed tucked in a corner. Worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimebien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Property: Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing