We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Fez - beautiful restoration, stunning design, lovely family, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stay here. No matter what (seriously). Move your trip dates to Fez if there is no availability. Riad Laaroussa is among the best experiences we've had in all of our travels. The riad is hidden in the heart of Fez with rooftop views of entire medina. The decor and renovation will blow you away; orange trees in center of riad were glittered with ornaments for Christmas. FZ (manager) is absolutely delightful. Fred (owner, recovering banker, and artist/renovator) lent us warmer clothing and took care of us like family. Every restaurant recommendation or guide was best-of from our entire time in Morocco (even tips for a restaurant in Meknes and a later trip to Essaouira). Fred is also involved with the local adoption agency as well as many restoration projects, so there is no shortage of ways to engage in the local community.

Room Tip: Stayed in yellow room, great pick. Does not have tub or fireplace (as did some other rooms) but open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Insanely beautiful old riad with so many of the little details. Updated and modern, but still able to maintain the old Morocco feel. Little cold when we were there (May 2013), but also has an unreal roof patio that can let you see all of Fez. Would be great in the summer.

Food was also top-notch, but the charm of the place is what really separates it from everything else.

Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D'Arcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The best, most beautiful and also the most interesting Riad we stayed in during our stay in Morocco. It was also the costliest by far. The staff are nice and helpful; the owner and his wife are very personable and friendly who take a lot of time to orient the itinerant travelers like ourselves. Katy even lent us her baby stroller (Thanks for that Katy!!) The owner - Fred- has put in a lot of effort in renovating the building and it shows, the ceilings are really very high I guess maybe some are about 10 meters or more and the orange trees in the courtyard are a very nice touch. The service is good but needs a little bit more of a professional touch to make it perfect without losing out on the personal interactions - would have loved to have had the promised refreshment after we had deposited our luggage in the room. As already mentioned the Riad is a wee bit costly but good overall value for money.

Room Tip: We were in the Yellow Room and liked it a lot. Did not get to see the other rooms so cannot comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Beautifully restored old Riad - once you enter the inconspicuous door from the maze of the medina you are transported to a most soothing and authentic Moroccan experience. Catherine and her staff (Kareem is amazing) are like extended family in Fes - give great restaurant, guide and overall recommendations including help with onward transfers. The rooms are spacious and the large courtyard and rooftop terrace create a larger feeling of space.

The food is amazing - the breakfast spread is very generous, the lunch and dinner options are the best in Fes. I did not visit the in house hammam, but it seemed very professionally run.

Room Tip: The brown room is very small, opt for the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This Riad is a work of Art and as I understand it a labour of love.

The couple who own it and live on the premises with their adorable young children are very friendly and interesting to chat with.

The Riad is very large with a huge inner courtyard lit up with lanterns at night and rooms spread out on many levels. We were originally in the Red room but were graciously upgraded to the orange room on the first level. Initially this sounded wonderful but the problem was being November it was somewhat chilly and the ceiling must have been 20 feet high with a loft area. Despite having a fireplace we found it a little hard to stay warm. I imagine both rooms on the first level (orange and green) have this issue in the winter as they both are large with very high ceilings.

The stairs did not bother us as we welcomed some exercise and the breakfast was served in the top level with spectacular views over the city. All the rooms really are lovely and each one had its own personality, I just think we would have stayed warmer in a smaller room on a higher level.

The breakfasts were good, omelets to order, breads and jams, yogurt and fruit. The whole staff treated you like royalty and it was easy to feel special in such regal surroundings. As I was leaving when I mentioned to the owner I did not have a chance to buy Volubilis Olive Oil he ran to his apt and came back with a bottle for me to take home!

We ate at Cafe Clock twice and thought the food delicious and well priced. This Riad was the most expensive we stayed at in Morocco but it did have a lot to offer ( cooking classes, hammam which we took and enjoyed and a great location.)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This place is superb, with fantastic personal service (Kareem we loved you!!!), superb decor, yummy tea and biscuits brought to you at the perfect time, a breakfast spread that literally fills the entire table.
From the moment you walk in you feel like you've been transported to another time and place; one in which you're royalty!! The blue room was beautiful, comfortable and definitely met and exceeded our expectations. The rooftop terrace available at all times is spacious and gives you a panoramic view of beautiful fez or a uninstructed view if the star filled night sky. Definitely the best place we stayed during our entire trip; highly recommend to all my friends and family!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Basically a bed and breakfast, located in a large private home. Be prepared to climb plenty of narrow stairs, as there is no elevator and most rooms and the dining room (top floor) are located on the upper floors. We stayed in the Grey Suite on the top floor, which was roomy and very nicely appointed. The staff started a fire in our fireplace each night. The staff was great overall, very friendly and competent. Our breakfasts and the one diner we ate there were delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £94 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing