We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,263)
Filter reviews
1,263 results
Traveller rating
1,192
59
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,192
59
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream suiteorange suiteyellow roomorange treesrooftop terracehammam and massagean oasiscooking lessonthree nightslovely courtyardbreakfast and dinnerevery eveninghighlight of our tripthe hustle and bustlethe entire staffmint teastayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 1,263 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I could wax lyrical about our stay here for ages! We arrived on a chilly January afternoon to be welcomed with a delicious tea in front of a roaring log fire. Our room, the Cream Suite, was spacious with a beautifully painted door and lovely fabrics, a vase of glorious scented roses and a view over the courtyard containing orange trees and a fountain. The location is ideal for exploring the medina. The food was scrummy and plentiful, served up on the roof terrace (the stairs help you work up an appetite!) with stunning views. All our requests were dealt with efficiently and courteously.

So what makes this so different from any other place we've stayed? The people. Everyone we met was so hospitable, thoughtful, cheerful and kind - it would be insidious to single out any one person for praise. Nothing was too much trouble, yet it seemed as though friends – not staff – were taking care of us. When we went out one evening the fire in our room was replenished with logs; champagne arrived unbidden to celebrate my birthday; and a horribly early morning departure was made more bearable by a gently smiling bearer of breakfast to our room. I also had a truly wonderful time in the kitchen, where I learned - and laughed - a lot. AND I've been inspired to try to recreate some of the dishes at home!

We were unlucky with the weather in Fes, but despite that we had a memorable time staying at Riad Laaroussa. There were hugs when we left - and I hope to return some day. I defy anyone to find a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We were originally booked into the Red Room, which looked lovely, but the Cream Suite has a fireplace, so even more desirable in winter ...!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunkirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed a whole week at Riad Laarousssa and were delighted by the genuine hospitality and happy atmosphere there.
Everyone made us feel welcome and relaxed. The attention to detail was outstanding, guides, day trips and taxis organised at a mere word. We loved our room, Cream, spacious with windows overlooking the courtyard with birds singing in the trees. Cool traditional Moroccan tiled floor, warmed by the fire lit every evening. Extraordinarily quiet at night given that it's in the heart of the medina - we even heard an owl hooting. The riad is a haven from the hustle and bustle of the alleyways, particularly the roof terraces. Breakfast up there is a feast. Dinner likewise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protorhodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our stay was in unseasonably poor weather, but it has still left fond memories. The room was fascinating, and took some acclimatisation on arrival. Seemingly almost as tall as it was long, huge walk-through doors separated the bathroom space - with open shower, taps in the form of large kettles and good quality soaps and shampoos - from bedroom space. The Riad as a whole provides an oasis of calm in the confusing maze that forms the heart of Fes. The roof terrace is great: with a centrepiece of an inviting day bed, the views are wonderful, and give a good sense of the overall contours of the old city inside its ancient walls. If the weather is not up to it, meals are taken adjacent to the roof terrace, requiring herculean efforts on the part of the waiting staff to bring food up from the kitchens far below. Fred and Cathy are warm and charismatic hosts and their staff seem a happy unit. You get the feeling that they would make a success of anything they put their minds to, with a winning combination of charm and sense of design. Finally, a special mention for the real star of the show, the indefatigable luggage man who arrives from the maze of narrow streets to meet your car and with considerable energy for his years pulls your cases over some distance - up and down narrow lanes, past the many shops weaving in and out of playful children until you get to the tranquil oasis that is Riad Laaroussa.

A word re guides: when we arrived in Fes our Moroccan driver made the mistake of asking directions and we were beset by scooter-riding 'guides' offering to take us for a small price to where we were heading. Guides are everywhere in Fes and the big dilemma in a maze like place like this is whether you take one. Some fellow residents had pre arranged there's and basically, had a a historical tour peppered with trips to shops where they ended up buying many things they didn't want. We decided not to risk a guide ( hard sells are my idea of a nightmare) and to wander around the medina on our own with a map. If you have a good memory for where you have been, it is possible (and fun) not using a guide. however, don't stop to look at your map, don't dither at crossroads, otherwise you will have a gaggle of enthusiastic local lads offering you help! The hotel offers walkers to restaurants (small tip) and their own guides and although we didn't use them, I would trust the Riad to organise something acceptable and to people's needs if you feel you need one.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lorrainek443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was a lovely riad. We stayed for three nights in late December. First and foremost, the service here was incredible. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Rooms: We stayed in both the Grey and the Orange suite. Both had a lot of charm as well as wood-burning fireplaces.

Meals: breakfasts were outstanding. We dined here on Christmas Eve, which had a delicious tasting menu along with traditional musicians who encouraged all the diners to participate in the dancing/singing. It was quite fun, and the food was so good that we chose to eat here another night, which is a huge compliment from us as we rarely dine the same place twice when traveling. On our second night the chef specially made the pigeon pastilla for us (outstanding).

Hammam: this was our first hammam experience in Morocco and we had a terrific time. The hammam is set up for couples to enjoy it together. Very relaxing.

Excursions: the staff arranged for various excursions for us which all were executed seamlessly. We enjoyed our day trip to Meknes and Volubilis as well as our walking tour of the Fes medina.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A Thing of Beauty.

Arriving in Fez in the middle of December, after a journey through the desert, which at times seemed like a penitential pilgrimage, we made our way through the winding alleys of the Medina to Riad Laaroussa. Here, we were enveloped in sensuous comfort and beauty.

Our hosts Fred, the French recovering banker, and his wife Cathy have set a tone of exquisite courtesy and care, where the guest doesn’ t have to think, you simply have to be.

The building and rooms are magnificent, we were immersed in the glory of Moorish tile work.

The food , cooked by Fatima, was ambrosial. On our last evening Kathy asked us if we would like something special for dinner. And , Fatima obliged with stunning soups and delicious pastillas.

The staff is extraordinarily solicitous. Special thanks to Fz ,who took care of me when I was unwell, and Karim, who brought coffee and pastries to our room at 5 a.m. so that we could have breakfast before we caught our plane back to Europe.

Adding to the pleasures of Riad Laaroussa ,was bumping in Lou and Ben, the dogs, wandering around their kingdom.

The recommended guides, and restaurants, and cafes were excellent, and gave us an anchor in the enchanting and overwhelming Medina.

Riad Laaroussa is Fred’s vision. He is Mr. Fezziwig, (A Christmas Carol) to his staff, kind, generous and affectionate. He has taken all of them on vacation to Turkey and France, and both he and Kathy are very involved with the Fez Orphanage. Riad Laaroussa is a beautiful, kind hearted, and well run establishment. You couldn’t stay at a better place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews