We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the whole family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver, canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We travelled to Fes with our two kids, 10 and 12. We were able to stay in a single, very clean, comfortable, and spacious room - a beautiful loft for the kids, they just loved it. Service was excellent - very personal. Staff helped arranged tours, and transportation and was very responsive to even the smallest of requests. Wonderful rooftop patio, and central courtyard. Amazing location, in the heart of the old city. Food - outstanding. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    51
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
219
594
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We adored the Riad Laaroussa !! The roof top terrace is huge and amazing !! The Cream Suite is FANTASTIC !! The service is kind and amazing !! Located in the middle of the amazing Medina of Fes -- an experience not to be missed !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed our visit. Our arrival in Morocco seemed to consist of one disaster after another (lost luggage, nobody at our car rental counter, train breakdown ... all within about 12 hours!), so when we reached the Riad on our second night we were much relieved. And what a change! The stress just melted away in this beautiful Riad with the very friendly staff. We opted to have dinner in the Riad on the first night and it was an excellent choice. The meal was superb! We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace with a stellar view of the medina. Our room was beautifully decorated, although it did take me awhile to get the hang of the water taps! This really was a lovely place ... just writing this review is making me smile ...
(I give lower marks on sleep quality only because I prefer a softer mattress. It seemed to me that every hotel except one on our 3 week trip had very firm mattresses.)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friends and I recently stayed at the Riad and it was a great experience. The property has been beautifully restored by the current owners. The courtyard is a great place to relax, read a book, decompress from a day of walking through the Medina. Our room, the "orange suite" was spacious (which is great for three women!!), and beautifully decorated with furniture from local artisans. The bathroom had one of the most interesting showers ever. Every night we would arrive to a candlelit bathroom. Amazing! Meals are served at the roof terrace which has an awesome view of the Fes landscape. Having a meal here is like having a meal at home. The team there is incredibly friendly, and genuinely interested in you, your background, and how they can make your stay as homey as possible. The meal is a gift that keeps on giving, where each part of the meal is brought out one by one. The breakfast was the highlight for me. Imagine sipping delicious coffee while overlooking the sunrise of the Fes landscape. Follow that with a delicious spread of fruit, cakes, homemade jams, eggs. And the cherry on top is a friendly face that sends you off on your day.

The only thing i would say is that they do have dogs. They are incredibly friendly so it's not a scary experience at all but good to know in case anyone is allergic.

Room Tip: Ask for the orange suite. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

To the Owners and Staff:

We stayed 7 nights at Riad Laaroussa, and we would like to express our extreme gratitude to your outstanding staff. Riad Laaroussa is beautiful and tranquil but your staff makes it special. They make the difference!! Their genuine generosity and care is second to none.

My husband and I have travelled extensively and stayed in amazing places all over the world, and yet, we have never experienced the level of professionalism and warmth as the one offered by the lovely workers of Riad Laaroussa. They truly treated us like family.

From the moment we arrived to the time of our departure everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Your staff works very hard to ensure that the guests are happy and comfortable.

Delicious food!!

Thank you for making our stay wonderful, and we will definitely visit again!

Warm regards,
Paula

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent? Upstairs rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 852paulalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed two nights in the Cream Room at Laaroussa. We were warmly welcomed by the staff through the outwardly plain door into a cool, calm oasis. The contrast between the inside of this Riad and the hot hassled streets outside was dramatic. The Riad is located inside the old city or Medina, which is a chaotic warren of narrow and endless alleyways which are both challenging and intriguing. A must to experience. The Laaroussa has been impeccably and luxuriously renovated and it is easy to feel Sultan like within its opulence. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. I must mention especially FZ who went to valued lengths to make my birthday special and provided us with breakfast at 6am before our enforced early start. FZ's genuine warmth and assistance was appreciated by the four members of my party. Great location, just step outside the gate for all the action of the old market place that you could want.

Room Tip: We had the cream room which was upstairs, private and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWhistler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the moment we arrived to the time for our departure absolutely everyone was helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. It's almost impossible to find words to describe how amazing the service was. We have stayed in many luxury hotels over the years and none come close.

Kathy & Fred the owners are often around and happy to chat about how they came to live in Fez and develop the Riad, Fred showed us a number of the rooms explaining his designs for each room and explaining some of the challenges they encounter such as the plumbing and how you make a kettle into taps! The building is beautiful and sensitively refurbished and provides a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere in the centre of the bustling Medina

If you have the time to spare a morning spent in the kitchen with the cook, Fatima, is well worth it. Then to eat the food in the evening is a bonus, I would do it again but next time take a note book so I can try and attempt some of the dishes at home.

We ate at Laaroussa 3 out of the 4 evenings and each meal was superb as were the breakfasts.

We treated ourselves to the full works in the spa and can highly recommend especially after a day exploring the medina.

Will definitely visit again

Room Tip: Our room was the Green suite which we loved but having seen a number of the others we would have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 99 in Fes
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 99 in Fes
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Property: Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing