We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very, very special place. But is goes far beyond the beautiful rooms filled with carefully chosen furnishings, the delicious food, the peace of the courtyard garden, the delightful, attentive staff. This is a place created by two people who have invested their heart and soul in the Riad:
their love of Morocco, of its people and culture. Their passion permeates into the fabric of Riad Laaroussa and clicks your psyche into one of total well being and relaxation, and of feeling embraced by the spirit of the place and its people. I could go on about the crispy white sheets and fluffy white towels, about the scrumptious breakfast served on the roof overlooking the thronging Medina below, the sensuous spa, the adorable, floppy Labradors who enchanted my daughter. But ultimately what sets this Riad apart from endless other homogenised versions, is the cohesion of people, place, and joyous spirit, which only comes from remarkable management. Fred and Cathy care deeply and equally about the contentment of their staff as they do of their guests. Strange, you may think, but this makes for a atmosphere of equals where happiness is all around. This is like being at home, only far, far better.

Room Tip: The green suite was sensational. A wallow in the sunken bath after a day exploring the medina was...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mangymacaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
There are newer reviews for Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Riad Laaroussa for 2 nights in early June. Cathy and Fred, the owners, were always around to make you feel at home, and the staff were extremely helpful. We stayed in the grey room, which was just spectacular. It was wonderful having breakfast on the roof each morning, overlooking Fez. As others say, it was such a relaxing and tranquil place to return to after a frantic day in the Medina, and enjoy their Moroccan tea. Fatima in the kitchen always welcomed you in to see what she was preparing for the day. We would highly recommend this Riad for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bmj54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Riad Laaroussa for part of our honeymoon, and everything was fantastic. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, from our suite to the roof terrace with panoramic views of the city from the heart of the medina. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially F.Z. Even the food was delicious. I cannot think of a single bad thing to say.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tda1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We travelled to Fes with our two kids, 10 and 12. We were able to stay in a single, very clean, comfortable, and spacious room - a beautiful loft for the kids, they just loved it. Service was excellent - very personal. Staff helped arranged tours, and transportation and was very responsive to even the smallest of requests. Wonderful rooftop patio, and central courtyard. Amazing location, in the heart of the old city. Food - outstanding. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We adored the Riad Laaroussa !! The roof top terrace is huge and amazing !! The Cream Suite is FANTASTIC !! The service is kind and amazing !! Located in the middle of the amazing Medina of Fes -- an experience not to be missed !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EAS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed our visit. Our arrival in Morocco seemed to consist of one disaster after another (lost luggage, nobody at our car rental counter, train breakdown ... all within about 12 hours!), so when we reached the Riad on our second night we were much relieved. And what a change! The stress just melted away in this beautiful Riad with the very friendly staff. We opted to have dinner in the Riad on the first night and it was an excellent choice. The meal was superb! We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace with a stellar view of the medina. Our room was beautifully decorated, although it did take me awhile to get the hang of the water taps! This really was a lovely place ... just writing this review is making me smile ...
(I give lower marks on sleep quality only because I prefer a softer mattress. It seemed to me that every hotel except one on our 3 week trip had very firm mattresses.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friends and I recently stayed at the Riad and it was a great experience. The property has been beautifully restored by the current owners. The courtyard is a great place to relax, read a book, decompress from a day of walking through the Medina. Our room, the "orange suite" was spacious (which is great for three women!!), and beautifully decorated with furniture from local artisans. The bathroom had one of the most interesting showers ever. Every night we would arrive to a candlelit bathroom. Amazing! Meals are served at the roof terrace which has an awesome view of the Fes landscape. Having a meal here is like having a meal at home. The team there is incredibly friendly, and genuinely interested in you, your background, and how they can make your stay as homey as possible. The meal is a gift that keeps on giving, where each part of the meal is brought out one by one. The breakfast was the highlight for me. Imagine sipping delicious coffee while overlooking the sunrise of the Fes landscape. Follow that with a delicious spread of fruit, cakes, homemade jams, eggs. And the cherry on top is a friendly face that sends you off on your day.

The only thing i would say is that they do have dogs. They are incredibly friendly so it's not a scary experience at all but good to know in case anyone is allergic.

Room Tip: Ask for the orange suite. You won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £91 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing