We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Support for Photoproject”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
2 reviews
“Great Support for Photoproject”
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I have traveled Morocco several times and I am still working on my free photoproject. I stayed in Riad Laaroussa for 3 nights - also with the purpose to get some support for my project. Thierry, Fred, Nourredine and all the staff have been very helpful and generous in their support. The service of the riad is perfect, also the food - loved the pastry cream...!!! The riad itself is gourgeous and must be one of the biggest houses of the medina. Book the hammam with massage - you wont regret it!
Thanks a lot
Ralph

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    51
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
219
594
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We stayed at Riad Laaroussa for three nights. We selected this riad based on reviews on trip advisor and ,as others have said, it exceeded our expectations which were very high. We booked well in advance via email and Sabah was always helpful in our choice of room and other advance information. Below I will attempt to give some of the highlights of our stay:
~This riad has been meticously restored under the direction of Fred the owner who has an eye for detail and certainly a respect for the original house. The restoration has been accomplished creating a harmonious balance that strikes you the moment you enter the big wooden door and the courtyard is before you. You are welcomed with tea and shown to your room. They are expecting you and already you feel very at home.
~We selected the GREEN SUITE just off the central courtyard. It was so beautiful and we liked the location as you have a small table and chairs right in front for relaxing or taking meals. The bathroom is really your own personal spa complete with "Le Sens de Marrakech" products.We saw a few rooms and while all are very nice the suites opening onto the courtyard were very special. Rooms have virtually everything you need for your stay.
~BREAKFAST on the roof terrace or courtyard if you prefer. Staff serves, at your table, a selection of fresh fruit, breads etc., Moroccan pancakes in Tangine , juice, good coffee in pot and more. This is no "stale buffet"! An excellent start to your day in Fes.
~MR. HAMIDOU is the guide recommended by Riad Laaroussa. Fred explained to me that they considered many guides but based upon guest feedback and their own impressions Mr. Hamidou is their first choice. We planned on having a guide only one day but ended up touring with him for three days. He is a very kind and interesting man who knows every corner of his birthplace and is excited to share it with you. Fes medina is only really understood behind the big doors. Mr. Hamidou will open many doors for you including homes,schools, bakeries and even a hammam. If you want he will shop with you but if not, no pressure. We found him helpful for some shopping as it can be overwhelming. We highly recommend Mr. Hamidou as your guide and thank Riad Laaroussa for introducing us to him.
~SAMIRA is the elegant lady who runs the first class kitchen at Laaroussa. She will invite you to go marketing with her at 11:00am daily and it is quite an experience. You can create your lunch and dinner menu and my 19 year old daughter really enjoyed this! Dinners are excellent and if weather permits you can dine on the roof, courtyard or small dining room next to the courtyard. The ambiance created in the courtyard especially at night with the lanterns, background music and quiet elegance is the best. One night they even had a musician playing. Dinner at the riad is a must.
~SPA is very interesting with hammam and massage. We opted only for massage and was very relaxing in a nice candlelit environment. Nice oils were used and it was the perfect wind down after a day of touring in the Medina.
~STAFF this is really what sets Laaroussa apart from most other places. Fred has gathered an exceptional group of people who you can just tell really enjoy working at the riad and have respect for him. Everyone is friendly and teamwork is the keynote. You would never hear "that is not my job" here. We would like to thank everyone who made our stay so special, including but not limited to the following: Samira for taking a personal interest in sharing her work and ideas with my daughter...Reda who is a very charming young man working mostly in the restaurant but he will even walk with you to a restaurant or shop (getting lost is easy)..and Sabah who seems to organize everything...she is a real professional. There are many others whom we remember their smiling faces but not all the names ..again thanks to everyone!
We loved Fes and our selection of Riad Laaroussa was key in making this such a good trip. It is a home not hotel in the Medina. We highly recommend this riad and be sure to give yourself enough time to just sit in the courtyard with some tea...take in the beauty...listen to the sounds highlighted by the "call to prayer" which really reminds you that you are in another time and place and isn't that what traveling is all about?

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Even though this Riad already receives great reviews, it certainly exceeded our expectations!

It is in a splendid location with marvelous views from the upper terras. The rooms are very nice and service is great. You are welcomed with candles in your bedroom and bathroom. The fireplace in the bedroom is a nice addition. Bathroom was well equipped and the lotion was super. Food was excellent as well.

Staff also was willing to accomodate our needs as it was our anniversary!
Staff is very honest and sincere. I lost my watch and they returned it to me.

Our only concern is that the Riad may not be able to address issues for people with trouble handling steps.

We recommend this Riad highly!

Tom and Ingrid

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mktk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Lovely old riad right in the very heart of the medina. We were a group of three girls and the riad staff (sabah) were extremely helpful in accommodating us We found our room a little dark and gloomy, though very beautiful. The courtyard is gorgeous, an oasis of tranquillity.

All the staff were wonderful. I particularly enjoyed my shopping/cooking/eating trip (solo) with Samira, who runs the kitchen. After our trip to the food market, I had an hour in the kitchen with most of the staff from the riad, all keen to practise their english and all so friendly. It was the highlight of my trip to Fez.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBC123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

everyone loves this hotel,and truely from the moment you step inside to the moment you leave everything is perfect.There is no sense of hurry,you aren't rushed and you never feel that you might be disturbing the staffs privacy.

We stayed and ate our evening meals at the hotel,so we ate twelve differing courses over the four days,honestly each one was an absolute little gem.All were perfectly seasoned and full to the brim with flavour.We felt we needed to applaud the chefs (Samira and Fatima ) every night,so we did!
We loved Fes and our time in the Riad.If you get a chance see Fes and STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDGATE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Did you ever walk into a place and feel instantly vindicated for all the hard work you went through to find it. Well, if Fes is the ‘soul’ of Morocco, then its spirit has certainly been convened behind the walls of Riad Laaroussa.

Meticulously restored by Parisian owner/host Fredric Sola, this stylish sanctuary is the reason you go on vacation. Each first impression made our smile wider. The serene garden courtyard, fragrant with orange trees. Our authentically detailed room, informally refined with contemporary comforts. And the harmonious magic of the Hammam.

Add an always attentive, never intrusive staff, and we were made to feel that we’d come to stay with a bunch of friends, with impeccable taste.

Fred’s perfect choice of a guide (don’t try to do Fes without one), Hamadu, translated the city walls, buildings, tiles, shopping, food, donkeys and daily life into an exotic, yet personally paced experience. The breakfasts on the roof terrace were an ideal way to start any day and the classically delicious dinner at the Riad, a perfect way to end it. Fred imparts his genuine caring with the passion of someone who loves the city, the culture, the Riad experience – and wants to make sure you get your piece of it all to take with you. Following his advice, we certainly did.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PosnicksRappaports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Jadida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2009

What a wonderful Riad made all the better by an amazing staff. The owner Fred is a charming, hospitable host. This makes ones stay at Riad Laaroussa truly memorable.
I had visitors from England and Fes was the one place they insisted on seeing. After
research and reading reviews on Riad Laaroussa I decided to book and it turned out
that the reviews were honest and our stay was great. Living in Morocco now for 2 years and having been disappointed by some riads this one is a GEM! You will not be disappointed. It is excellently located and Fred will find you a fabulous guide for a tour of the Medina, don't hesitate to ask. The food at the riad is great and on my next visit I will go food shopping and help prepare dinner, one of the options at the riad. The kitcken door and wall are glass and as we know the kitchen is the heart of the home and this one greets you with open arms. We stayed in the Blue and Yellow rooms and it was like having a prvate apartment to ourselves with welcoming fire and beautiful accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unbiased51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 99 in Fes
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 99 in Fes
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa

Property: Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, pool and garden, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing