We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Riad El Yacout

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad El Yacout
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

good place to stay, good attention, food, rooms. We had a fine dinner, good breakfast service.
The location was excelent, at the entrance of the medina near good places to eat, near the blue door. Attended by the owners, and good staff

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpv_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

We arrived at the riad very late (11:30 pm) and were met by the very pleasant staff with cold drinks and mint tea. Our driver had called ahead and they were happy to provide us with dinner (our first lemon chicken tajine) despite the hour. The riad is absolutely beautiful. We were given the "Bono" room which is apparently the best and we certainly wouldn't disagree. The whole experience, breakfasts, rooms, staff made us feel welcome and important. We had a private driver so we have no idea about location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scigal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

In June, 2012, I stayed at Riad Yacout during the Fes World Sacred Music Festival. Not only was the hotel convenient to the music venues, the medina with its souks and many other tourist attractions, it offered sanctuary from the heat of the day in a place of beauty and charm that incorporates Fes traditional arts and crafts in the daily life of its staff and guests. Numerous reviews already posted here say much about the decor, the rooms and the meals, so I would like to focus on the extraordinary staff. Everyone did his or her best to see that guests felt at home in their rooms, beside the pool, in any of the lounges and in the dining room. Those who were themselves well-traveled were eager to explain local customs in an international context and to converse about the international news of the day as well as Moroccan history. As someone with dietary restrictions, I was particularly impressed with the kitchen's willingness to adapt traditional Moroccan meals to fit my needs.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has an adequate armoire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We only spent one night in Riad El Yacout but we were very impressed. It was the most lavishly decorated riad or hotel we staying in during our two weeks in Morocco. The room was very large and there were three English language news channels on TV.

Another reviewed expressed complaints that puzzle me. Yes, the dinners are expensive, but no more so than other top-end riads. And our dinner and breakfast there were quite good. If you do not like the prices, the riad is very close to the Blue Gate and the numerous restaurants in that area. In fact it is in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We arrived at the riad with our driver and guide. We entered through the blue gate, and right there among the hustle and bustle of Fez was the entrance to the riad, steps away from the heart of the Medina. Once inside the door, we were hit with the beauty of the intricate stone work and beautiful tiles and the center garden's fountain. Each room off the center had lovely seating areas. As we walked to our room, we noticed another courtyard with a beautifully tiled pool just below our room, which was small with a lovely bathroom and windows that overlooked the pool. What the room lacked in size was made up in charm. As everywhere we stayed in Morocco, this riad had free Wifi, but it is only accessed in the central garden and rooms just off that. However, it didn't matter because it was relaxing to sit and drink mint tea and do my work on the iPad. It was a quiet place with wonderful staff who were helpful with everything from tipping to where to buy items that we needed. The food was delicious. We stayed in Fez two nights and in the mornings we had breakfast and there was an array of items. We had delicious dinners as well, and we loved our waiter who also worked at a restaurant in the medina where we had lunch one day. I highly recommend this riad. The hidden treasure of El Yacout was the roof deck where you could sit and watch the activities in the Medina with a 360 degree view. The manager who is the niece of the owner spoke perfect English because of her stint in Miami for college, and when she came to greet us said, "Hi guys" which immediately made us feel comfortable.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms that opened onto the pool were better than the larger rooms downstairs because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peptobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a beautiful Riad just a short walk to the souks. The courtyard is a calm oasis to sit and gather your thoughts (or look through your Moroccan guide books) and the terrace on the roof is large and a really great spot for enjoying your breakfast, which was very good. Dinner (pastilla) was really delicious and some of the best food we had in Morocco. The staff was very charming and friendly. Unfortunately my room was right next to the front door so I was aware of everyone coming in and out - so this would be the only negative experience. I would definitely return to Riad Yacout.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We loved everything here - the room, the location, the courtyard, the pool, and the staff. Not to mention the best food we had in Morocco.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeroen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 100 in Fes
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Yacout

Address: 9 Derb Guebbas Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#18 Family Hotel in Fes
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £73 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Yacout 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Old medina of the imperial city fez, Riad El Yacout is an ancient private residence of a rich merchant that was restored by a group of talented Fassis craftsmen to its former glory. When you arrive, you will be mesmerized by the serenity and tranquility that reign in the Riad and by the chanting of the birds and water sounds coming from the marble fountain that is gracefully centered in the courtyard.The winter garden exhales soft and refreshing scents. Take time to taste the mint tea in the comfort of the Moroccan living tradition.Admire the Arabo-Andalusian architecture which detects an art of refined living. Columns and arcades set up meticulously with floral and cursive sculptures marvellously engraved on Plaster and cedar doors.Discover the Moroccan gastronomy and enjoy the delights of the rich and varied Moroccan art of cooking. Our dishes are prepared with the finest spices and organic ingredients to give our guests a taste of the real and authentic Fassi cuisine.The meals can be served in patios, Moroccan living room, terraces or in intimacy of your residence according to your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad El Yacout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Yacout Hotel Fes
Riad El Yacout Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing