We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosaic magique!”
Review of Riad El Yacout

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad El Yacout
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mosaic magique!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Step back in time while staying in this authentically restored riad . Ornate with mosaic walls and floors softened with decorative typical Moroccan lamps, colourful rugs, plump cushions and sofas, the heart of this place is in the inner courtyard anchored with a fountain . Round tables covered by Moroccan embroidered linens surrounded by plush armchairs are strategically placed along the perimeter of the courtyard. The rooftop slides back to reveal the open sky when weather permits. The bedrooms have windows that open onto the courtyard . This is typical of the architectural design of the era this riad was used as a family home. Sounds of conversation from other guests do echo and waft upwards to the bedroom we occupied . Owned by long time Fez resident, Allol and his daughter, Khadija who studied several years in the USA, an effort is made to get to know guests and tune into their preferences. Room was comfortable , furnished with rich burgundy velvet and brocade . Lamp fixtures were attractive though did not shed much light . Bathroom had an exotic sunken tub and shower and was pleasant to use. We appreciated the scattered fresh rose petals on the bed and mother of pearl in laid table. Laundry was efficient and inexpensive. A continental breakfast was served though compared to other places we stayed , we found the quality and selection average. We did not have dinner here as we had gracious private home hospitality . Other guests spoke of their enjoyment of the Moroccan dishes they tasted.

Room Tip: Room on upper level is preferable as more privacy is possible. Exterior of guesthouse is deceptive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review and lovely descriptions, it was a pleasure to read> we always love hearing what our guests say... and we loved hearing what you had to say.

You are more than welcome back to our Riad, in the future.

Happy Holidays

Riad El Yacout Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    69
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
105
182
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I joined an Explore tour of Morocco here and decided to book an extra night at the start to relax and acclimatise. Arriving after midnight after a long day of travel was a little disconcerting as the riad, in the heart of old Fes close to the Medina, is approached on foot through narrow alleyways but at the journey's end is a 'fairy-tale castle'. All was revelled the next morning when Fes sprang back to life. A wonderful Moroccan breakfast and a welcome from the owner, family and full complement of staff. We spent a relaxing morning by the pool and they recommended a walking tour of the Medina in the afternoon with an official guide. There is a fixed price for this, and it was a shame we had no-one else to share the cost, but as a personal tour it was comprehensive and we agreed worth every dirham. When all members of our group had arrived from various world destinations we took in the local attractions together travelling as far as Meknes, Moulay Idriss and Volublis, returning to the comfort of El Yacout for three further nights. We stayed in other unique riads, kasbahs and hotels as we continued our tour south to the Sahara and then west to the coast and I think everyone in the group would rank El Yacout as one of the best.

Room Tip: Our room entering onto the pool area may have been smaller than the exquisite suites higher in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikepgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I can't begin to tell all you future travellers to Morocco how fabulous Riad El Yakout is in Fes, Morocco.

Khadija is the daughter of the owner. He recently refurbished the riad back to its original beauty and glory. My friend and I unfortunately only had the the pleasure of staying there one night, but the stay was WONDERFUL. The riad is absolutely beautiful. Khadija is a delight - she spent some time in America, so speaks impeccable English (important to us ignorant people who did not try to learn even a few words of Arabic or French). But, not only that, she always went out of her way to make you feel welcome and that you were the most important guests she had ever had stay there.

The food is exceptional. Our breakfast on the day we sadly had to leave was fit for a king. I am not exaggerating. We asked Khadija why there was so much food and her response was that they wanted to showcase what Morocco has to offer. I ate so much, I could barely leave the table.

As for the rooms. They were beautifully appointed. We had a "two-storey" room. One bedroom with twin beds was on the first floor and the next room with a double was a few steps up. Really quite unique. The bathroom was HUGE and all the wonderful little products you could hope for, including the shampoo with Moroccan argan oil. (I bought some - believe me it works!).

We enjoyed our stay very much and, again, I would highly recommend staying there.

Bev F.

Room Tip: ANY room will be a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at several Riads in our recent two week travels throughout Morocco. Without doubt, the Riad el Yacout was the best we encountered. The facility is clean, quiet, well-situated, beautiful, the room -although small- was very comfortable, very well lit and complete, and the large shower was reliable and the water pressure strong. The resident manager, Kriselda-Erin, is vivacious and lovely. Being from S. Africa, her English is perfect and she did a number of things to make our stay and meals (breakfasts and dinner) problem free and memorable. We give the Riad el Yacout the highest rating possible: excellent !!
Lynn and Lloyd Malin Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. November 17, 2013

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Warm &'friendly riad. The owner could not be nicer. We were too tired to go out to dinner one night. She asked us what we wanted & prepared us a special meal. The rooms were clean & spacious.if I was to go back to Fes I would definitely stay at the Riad El Yacout again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

So, I was back again at Riad Yacout during my umpteenth visit to Morocco! Still a delightful place that set the standard for the traditional riad. Wonderful staff - they cannot be more friendly, attentive and helpful - from the owner, the manager to the waiters. Accommodation is spacious, comfortable and above all a real treat to the senses. The food - both breakfast and for dinner - is of a high standard. Do yourself a favour and stay at Yacout - you haven't experienced Morocco to its fullest if you leave without a stay at this wonderful riad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed two nights in this lovely riad, while on a tour of Morocco. We had a large room, one up from ground level. The courtyard is quite large, as was our room and bathroom. The bathroom had a large tub and double sinks. This was also one of the quietest riads we stayed in, as it was so well insulated that we didn't hear noise from outside the hotel/street. Yet, this hotel is located within the medina, so convenient to daytime exploring as well as an evening stroll.

Breakfast was a pleasant affair in the ground floor courtyard. The fountain was lovely and the birds waited patiently (almost) for crumbs from our breakfast. They served a large continental breakfast.

The manager was most kind. They did our laundry nicely and the charge was minimal, compared to most international hotels. When we heard about their famous guests, her showed us their guestbook and photos of the extended stay of Bono. Cool!

We had come to Fes with some tummy trouble, so didn't explore the restaurants for dinner. The staff was so kind to accommodate us with a special tummy-soothing dinner. We also enjoyed tea by the pool one evening, which was lovely.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Riad El Yacout and hope many travels come to enjoy their hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 98 in Fes
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 98 in Fes
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 98 in Fes
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Yacout

Property: Riad El Yacout
Address: 9 Derb Guebbas Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fes
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#18 Family Hotel in Fes
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Yacout 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Old medina of the imperial city fez, Riad El Yacout is an ancient private residence of a rich merchant that was restored by a group of talented Fassis craftsmen to its former glory. When you arrive, you will be mesmerized by the serenity and tranquility that reign in the Riad and by the chanting of the birds and water sounds coming from the marble fountain that is gracefully centered in the courtyard.The winter garden exhales soft and refreshing scents. Take time to taste the mint tea in the comfort of the Moroccan living tradition.Admire the Arabo-Andalusian architecture which detects an art of refined living. Columns and arcades set up meticulously with floral and cursive sculptures marvellously engraved on Plaster and cedar doors.Discover the Moroccan gastronomy and enjoy the delights of the rich and varied Moroccan art of cooking. Our dishes are prepared with the finest spices and organic ingredients to give our guests a taste of the real and authentic Fassi cuisine.The meals can be served in patios, Moroccan living room, terraces or in intimacy of your residence according to your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad El Yacout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Yacout Hotel Fes
Riad El Yacout Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing