We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was above and beyond”
Review of Riad Damia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Damia
Ranked #53 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Service was above and beyond”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Our stay started with an upgraded room and ended with service that went well beyond what would be expected.

On the morning we were scheduled to leave, I became horribly ill. The manager Fahrid, called a doctor for me at 7:00 a.m. At 8:00 when the driver he had arranged showed up to take us to Merzouga, Fahrid explained the situation and re-booked trip for the next day. He also contacted the our next hotel and told them we'd be arriving a day late
He even went to the pharmacy to pick up my prescriptions!

Now my situation was a bit unique, and hopefully no one else will have to go through what I did, but it's nice to be in a place with such responsive and helpful staff. I would consider returning to Fes just to stay here again, it was that good of an experience.

Lastly, this Riad is beautiful. The central courtyard is striking and the rooms, while not filled with antiques are lovely. The hot water works too.
The dinners, if you choose to eat in, are prepared by the owner and are delicious (and no, it wasn't the food that made me sick!).

This was by far the best place we stayed on our two week trip and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gavisphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Our stay at this beautiful riad was excellent. It has the old riches and magnificence. Azzedine , the caretaker at the riad was especially very helpful and was available to us 24x7.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Sujata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We met many nice people in Morocco, and the service we had at Riad Damia was the best of our entire trip. Excellent breakfast, with homemade galettes, pastries, fresh orange juice (sans pulp, though), delicious mint tea, yogurt, bread, butter, jam... We were greeted with mint tea when we arrived, and the owner even met us in the medina and walked us to his location. (We would not have found it otherwise, even with a good map-- but once we knew where it was, we never had problems finding it again. "In the medina" doesn't mean that much in Fes, where the medina stretches on and on, so the riad was in the medina walls but quite a distance from the two main alleys. This was fine for us, as we enjoyed the peace and quiet.)

Absolutely gorgeous courtyard-- palatial, with a huge skylight (that probably used to be open air) and impressive decor throughout. The room we had was like a dorm room with two twin beds. For $100/night, the room itself wasn't fantastic (the nicer rooms were double the price), but you can spend your time reading in the beautiful courtyard and just return to your room to sleep. Lastly, the hot water took several minutes to heat up, but was fine once it did.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chiyojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Some points about the riad
- it's quite away from the main part of the Medina and it is difficult to find your way through the Fez medina to/from this riad
- service was good and the manager even met us at the medina walls upon arrival to show us the way - he also brought me to the local shop to buy supplies
- the riad is advertised as having air-con but not all rooms do. the first room we were put in didn't even have a window and in august we just found that to be not acceptable
- the roof on the medina is closed over permanently and this makes the air very still and old - during hot august this is almost suffocating
- the riad attempts a grandiose atmosphere but i think it doesnt work and just appears old fashioned
- you dont get a key to the external door for yourself; just have to ring the doorbell to get in and await the manager to let you out
- this was the only riad in morocco that we stayed in that had a problem with ants and cockroaches ( we stayed in many riads during our 3 weeks holiday )
- when paying at the end of our stay the manager blatantly pointed out that the amount we gave him (equal to the balance due on the bill) did not include a tip for him and that we should definitely tip him as it was customary in Morocco. Altho i have no problem with tipping, i do have a problem with being told to tip whether i like it or not and this sealed my decision to not recommend this riad to anyone i know travelling to morocco

  • Liked — The bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — The still, musty air and it's location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

My family and I stayed at Riad Damia from April 6 - 9. Our stay at this beautiful riad was excellent. The riad proprietors, Mr. and Mrs. Farid & Wafae Lahlou, and assistant Azzedine were available to us 24x7. The breakfast and dinners were very good. When my 14 year old son's palate began to get fastidious they accommodated him by offering spaghetti and steak. And when they discovered he really liked strawberries they sent complimentary plates of strawberries to our room. They were eagerly consumed. Minor points include (1) the bathroom shower head did not work correctly and (2) our Dove soap bar went missing. Overall we would stay here again and I have no reservations recommending this riad to others who will be staying in Fes.

  • Liked — Architecture/decoration and staff service.
  • Disliked — We had to leave for Marrakech.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2006

We have just returned from a week at the Riad Damia Fez. This Guesthouse is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. The food was excellent, and visiting the old city of Fez was just amazing.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank imagequest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#37 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#48 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#25 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dmana
Riad Dar Dmana
#61 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#40 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Safadi
Dar Al Safadi
#42 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Damia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Damia

Property: Riad Damia
Address: Derb Sornas | Derb Sornas, 10 - Bab Ziat, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Damia 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the walls of the Old Medina, yet accessible by car, Riad Damia is a exquisitely maintained masters residence blending the beauty of Andalouse tradition with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Damia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Damia Fes
Riad Damia Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing