We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real pearl”
Review of Riad Jaouhara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Jaouhara
Ranked #129 of 211 Fes B&B and Inns
new mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“real pearl”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This place is beautiful,very well kept and decorated,confortable rooms and people here are just very sweet and nice. Great food served from there kitchen. Location is good too, in the heart of Medina.Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocomaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    5
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This Riad was wonderful. It was spacious, grand, and totally beyond our expectations. The staff were outstanding, the food delicious, the rooms spacious, the pool refreshing. The location was unbeatable and it was our favourite place we stayed in all of Morocco!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kts9699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

A short walk to either Place Batha or Bab Boujould. Quiet, efficient staff. Breakfasts so large, the second day I had to limit the choices, tasty, too. Had a very nice room on the top floor, three and a half flights upstairs. No, this is not an exaggeration. For those with mobility issues, see if you can get a room on a lower floor.

Booked thru Helen Ranger at Fez Riads,... a very easy transaction.

Interesting toiletries, in their own eco-friendly box. A quality riad in every sense of the word.
Did not eat dinner here, as there are too many good restaurants in the area. Others seemd to enjoy their meals here.

Would stay at the Jaouhara again. The only drawback is the myriad of stairs, but, this is just a fact of staying in a riad.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwoman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

A spacious riad with a great, cool garden and a medium size pool. Good rooms, great decoration. Good service. Very close to Bab Bouj loud and the souks. Great toast and ice cream at a small place called Disney Channel right outside the riad.
All considered, a good choice if you don't want to do a lot of walking for the souks, the new city, the bank, the taxis.

  • Liked — style, location
  • Disliked — stares to the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank atfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bch Cty, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We booked our Moroccan vacation privately through "Experience It" Tours who choose this beautiful property for our stay in Fes. This Riad has been meticulously renovated with extravagent work throughout the rooms and a lovely courtyard, with private sitting rooms, perfect for dining or lounging in the day or evening time. The staff, Ms. Halima Janati and Mr. Abderrahim Tannia, were gracious and accommodating, thus introducing us to true Moroccan hospitality. Our room had a large sitting room with a separate sleeping area and a large bathroom. Most of the rooms are suites and are located on the top floor, three flights of steps up. Each room has a private entrance. This building is very old so there are imperfections, but to us, this added to the authentic lodging we were looking for. The location is perfect, just on the edge of the medina so it is quiet but close to shopping. As much as we loved the decor and ambiance, the marvelous feature of this Riad is the cuisine. We had breakfast daily and ate our evening meals there as well, after our initial feast convinced us that no restaurant could do better. The presentation of the meals was as perfect as the quality of the food prepared by their chef. My husband and I agree that this Riad and the excellent service provided by the staff was the highlight of our trip to Morocco,

  • Liked — The Service and the Cuisine
  • Disliked — Lighting in the Rooms was at times, inadequate
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryFromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

This serene retreat is located a stone's throw from Place Batha next to an entrance to the medina. Nice continental breakfast with eggs. Our room was a suite (only one room isn't) with mosaic floors and walls. Friendly service you would expect. Free wifi in common area. No elevator -- our room was on the 3rd level. I would gladly go back again for another stay.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bedbug1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Riad Jaouhara offers a combination of in-the-medina action outside with luxury accomodation inside, overlooking the classic Moorish courtyard. The staff became like family during my 11-night stay; and the "petit dejeuner" (breakfast) was anything but "petit!" (I found myself needing only one other meal a day.) Each morning of my stay, the manager (part owner) made a point of stopping by me at breakfast time. He offered solutions to any concern I had for the day ahead.
Price of accomodations is higher than many other riads and dars within the medina, but the value is worth the extra cost. The artistic restoration work is superb; the rooms are larger than most elsewhere; my room boasted a convenient mini-refrigerator, an efficient air conditioner/heater and a full bath even with storage shelves; the roof-top terrace offers an unbelievable view of the Bab Boujloud section of the medina.

For the first-time visitor to Fez, it is particularly comforting to know that the Riad will pre-order a taxi to meet you at airport or railroad station arrival.

In my entire 11-day stay at Riad Jaouhara, I did not once find any reason to offer a complaint ... it was a wonderful experience in a magical land! (Philip Keil - San Mateo, California)

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank turbo_pk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Dar Seffarine
Dar Seffarine
#1 of 211 in Fes
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 98 in Fes
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 98 in Fes
918 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jaouhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jaouhara

Property: Riad Jaouhara
Address: 11 Rue de La Poste | Place Batha, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jaouhara Riad is a place where time suddenly ceases to run and we are drawn back harmoniously to live great memories of this historical site. The riad was built on early twentieth century by one of the well known families of the spiritual city of Fez, the Jouahri family. This is a place where fascinating traditional Moroccan art is joined by state of the art modern equipment for a maximum pleasure and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Jaouhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing