We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and off the beaten track” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Sondos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Sondos
Ranked #66 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming and off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner was recommended this place when he e-mailed the author of "A house in Fez" asking whether she could recommend somewhere affordable, characterful and outside the main tourist areas while still in the Medina. It fulfilled all these criteria and more. The building itself is beautiful (although be warned the ground floor rooms don't have windows) and you definitely feel you've come somewhere exotic with history. Perhaps the biggest draw is the lovely roof terrace with views over old Fes, and situated next to a mosque with a beautiful call to prayer.

The location is great - close to the Bab R'Cif which in turn is close to the centre of the Medina (e.g. kairaouine mosque) and in a maze of narrow lanes. The only possible drawback is that if you've been out in the opposite end of the medina (e.g. by the Baghdadi Square/Talaa Kbira/Cafe Clock), crossing the medina at night can be complicated (easy to get lost, lots of unwanted "guides" etc.).

The staff at the Dar are a delight - Mouanis is friendly and knowledgeable and Sophia is very hospitable and interesting to talk to, and serves excellent breakfasts!

I would strongly recommend this to anybody wanting a homely, authentic base from which to explore Fes.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the roof - it's warm but has a window looking directly out onto the roof ter...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonRalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The staff are very polite and go above and beyond to make sure that your stay is comfortable. Mouanis is kind and will make you feel right at home. Sophia is friendly and will take care of your needs, in addition to providing a delicious breakfast. The hotel itself is charming and has great amenities, ie air conditioning, wifi, etc. The staff also speak English which is a definite plus in a city where English isn't widely spoken. I highly recommend this dar to anyone visiting Fes and who wants to live in the Old City, close to the medina.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our second time in Fez, but we struck gold with Dar Sondos and our hosts Mouanis and the lovely Sofia! From the mint tea on the roof terrace, to the wonderful breakfasts supplied by Sofia, and the warm friendship and local knowledge provided by Mouanis, Dar Sondos quickly feels like home. This Dar is a 2 minute walk to Place R'Cif to find taxis, buses, and coffee - its easy to find, the rooms are comfortable and air conditioned - and Mouanis helped with everything! An late night pharmacy run, a reliable and wonderful guide, taxis to the airport, and even introduced us to local artisans when we requested. Sofia has the best 'cooking school'! For half price of Cafe Clock, we spent two days cooking couscous, Moroccan salads and bessara - this included a trip to the local market to watch true Moroccan bargaining skills!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Malika room which was lovely, on the second floor. Naturally cool in the summer hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanAusSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dar Sondos is an excellent place to stay in Fez. Mouanis and Sophia take care of your every need, as we certainly put them to the test. It was a great relief to be able to rely on a very knowledgeable person to come up with the answers we needed. Breakfast is outstanding and is served on the rooftop terrace...a wonderful way to start your day. It's in a good location in the medina to allow quick access to get a taxi, yet far enough from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

The Mackenzies

Room Tip: we enjoyed our south side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

When I first saw the listing for Dar Sondos, I had a weird feeling that the experience would exceed my expectations. And it did! It was F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C! The dar is exceptionally beautiful and cozy. Mouanis and Sophia go out of their way to make you feel extremely comfortable. Fez can be a bit overwhelming, and this dar provided the comfort and quiet that we really needed. The location is good - it was extremely easy to get around though not in the heart of the touristy area (still in the heart of the medina though, don't worry). We loved our room on the top floor. The terrace was perfect for our morning mediation, breakfast and meeting the other guests who were intrepid travelers with interesting stories. Though this place is a small pension, Mouanis and Sophia treated us like family, and this place felt like our home. This dar was one of the best stays I have every had while traveling, simply because I truly felt at home. Thank you Mouanis and Sophia. Don't forget to read "A House in Fez" by Suzanna Clarke because Mouanis is "Si Mohammed"

Room Tip: The room off the terrace is great. It is many steep stairs to climb, and perhaps smaller then some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefHaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice place, comfortable and new as it was open only since few months. Staff very nice.

Only the area of FEZ might be seen as unsecure for international standards.

But it would get better and better I guess!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milosg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was my first time in Morocco and in Fes and it couldn't have been better! The city is buzzing with so many things that its impossible to fit it in one trip. I stayed in a couple of different riads depending on my shifting financial resources and my last few days were spent in Dar Sondos.

The rooms are simple, but very nice and done in good taste. And they are super clean. The work on the ceilings and doors is exquisite. I had the room "Sadi'a" on the terrace overlooking the medina, which allowed me to make good use of my camera in the mornings! To someone who has never been here, its a remarkable experience to see/hear all the different call to prayers going off at the same time all around the city.

Mohammad, the owner, was gracious and kind. On my arrival he got me a phone and a sim card without any hassle (and for cheaper than what I would have negotiated.) More importantly, he came to my rescue with just one phone call when I was lost in the labyrinths of the medina and being worked on by the local "guides"!

Sophia, the lady who manages the place is wonderful! She is soft spoken, hard working and generally quiet, but once you engage her you will end up having a wonderful conversation full of wit and jokes. (Just to confirm that I am not fibbing, she has a masters degree in philosophy!). In all the days that me and my friend stayed there, we never had to ask twice about our breakfast, laundry and cleaning of the rooms.

The Dar is located in a more spacious and cleaner part of the medina, with no impromptu guides trying to take you somewhere you don't want to go. There is a convenience store an alley away and a cafe, bus/taxi stop and ATM at about 2-3 minutes walk. All in all a wonderful and comfortable experience. I will absolutely live here again and will recommend it to friends traveling to Fes.

My best wishes to Dar Sondos!

Room Tip: The terrace room is a little bit of a workout, especially if you come in and out several times a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calveeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#4 of 59 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#34 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#47 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais El Yazid
Palais El Yazid
#109 of 209 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sondos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sondos

Property: Dar Sondos
Address: 67 Derb El Abbas Diour Jdoud Kalkleyen | R'Cirf, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sondos 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Sondos is a charming 300 year old house in the Fez Medina. It has been carefully restored to keep and enhance the traditional features, such as painted ceilings and carved plasterwork. The bedrooms are comfortable and well equipped, with reverse cycle air-conditioning. A delicious Moroccan breakfast is included, and may be taken on the terrace if you wish. There is free Wifi throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Sondos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing