We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of Riad La Cle de Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad La Cle de Fes
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I hate being the voice of negativity, but we were underwhelmed by our stay here. The Riad is nicely decorated and clean. The rooms are cavernous which makes heating them almost impossible. The bed was not the most comfortable - I woke up with back pain which rarely if ever happens to me. The internet is pretty much unusable here. Our major disappointment was the service. They were not unpleasant, but really didn't go our of their way to make us feel welcome, despite the fact that we were the only guests there. We were also disappointed in the restaurant recommendations the manager provided. We asked for a good, authentic restaurant in the area and were taken to probably the worst meal of our entire trip in an overly-touristy restaurant nearby that was filled with equally discontented tourists. The second disappointment came when we asked for a recommendation for a tour guide who has a knowledge of the history of the city. We were told this was no problem and a guide was arranged. He was at best, apathetic and had minimal knowledge of the city's history - despite his "official tour guide" status. He took us to one or two historical sites in the medina before proceeding to drag us through a series of stores hoping to gain a commission. At the end of the tour, he tried to raise the price. When we mentioned this to to Riad manager she seemed less than concerned, which was bothersome.

In short, its a nice building, but in our opinion, the finer points of service are definitely lacking here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderluster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31011996, Propriétaire at Riad La Cle de Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Your message held all my attention, and I am really sad to let a traveller leaving the RIAD LA CLE DE FES dissatisfied. It is for me and all the staff a great disappointment because we work hard every day so that all is perfect although we are in the heart of Medina with all the technicals disadvantages that we meet each day. About the service which was for you the most negative point, I feel really afflicted, the RIAD LA CLE DE FES received the note of 5/5 by 205 travellers out of 209. We will go on to progress to satisfy you and to be better. I thank you for your comments which always enable us to progress and to remain to listen travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

The architecture is awesome and this old riad has been restored in an artistic style with great decorations. The rooms and bathrooms are good and so is the air conditioning. The internet access was terrible, but was made up by the hospitality of the staff, particularly Amal the helpful and gracious manager, Mohammed and and Halima, the cook.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinamariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights with our infant. This was our first stop in Morocco and the airline delayed getting our bags for several days. The staff here was absolutely great, they went out of their way to help us get to the market, buy our essentials and gave us updates about our bags. We had dinner here and the food was great, they let my wife help out in the kitchen and even entertained our baby. It was home away from home. They were very caring, hospitable and the rooms were also very comfortable and spacious. Thanks to the excellent staff, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We had a really great time in this Riad! The Staff was very nice!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r8freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel offers a very nice atmosphere, is well located, and offers excellent service and food. I felt like at home. Very quiet. I just liked it very much.

The architecture is beautiful, the old riad has been restored in a very original and artistic style. The pool offers freshness and taking breakfast next to it is a perfect way to start the day. Ahmed is very charming and helpful and responses to very wish. 1001 nights feeling at its best

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This must be one of the most beautiful Riads in Fez and certainly one of the best places I've stayed at in all my many travels, both business and pleasure. Our stay here eclipsed all expectations, from the extremely warm and friendly staff to the stunning rooms, courtyard, pool and roof top, to the great breakfast provdided every morning. Francoise and team, thanks for blowing us away and making our time in Fez unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

What a wonderful place is Riad La Cle de Fes. This was our first time in Morocco, myself and my 2 teenagers. Driving from the airport to our Riad was a real shock, especially coming from New Zealand. The place looked awful, I was really worried about what to expect when we got to our Riad. When the driver pulled up for us to get out I wanted to tell him to keep driving. But what a pleasant surprise we got when we entered our Riad. (Don't be shocked by the look of the outside) Inside the place is beautiful. The staff are awesome. We were late checking in and they had waited up for us with dinner ready and drinks. The Riad is minutes walk to the old madina, a must visit and the main attraction in Fes. I suggest you hire a guide to show you around the old madina it is a labyrinth. We made good use of the outside swimming pool. Manager Amal, and staff, Halima, Mohamed, Zineb, Fatima, were fantastic. Halima, the chef, cooked lovely Moroccan dishes for us everynight, and i was able to join her in the kitchen and learn some Moroccan recipes. Their hospitality was outstanding. They treated us like family, we were really sad to leave them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 100 in Fes
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#5 of 100 in Fes
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Cle de Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Cle de Fes

Address: Medina, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#10 Business Hotel in Fes
#13 Family Hotel in Fes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £60 - £781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Cle de Fes 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Riad next to the Batha square in Medina. This house maze leads us to the heart of the Moroccan civilization, refined and full of charm, like the 3 patios, one with a small pool .You discover 5 bedrooms, 2 with sitting area and fireplace .They are all bright, furnished and tastefully decorated. This is an intimate Riad and also outward with its panoramic terrace The cooker takes you into the discovery and explosion of flavors. This is a very different place from the other, looking to the future, respect for the old, and the freshness of his choice for modern decoration, is not it today is, the vision of Morocco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad La Cle de Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fes Riad La Cle De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing