We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Dmana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Dmana
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Fes
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

This is truly a wonderful place to stay for a foreign visitor. It is a traditional Moroccan home that has been carefully adapted to serve as a hotel. Each room is different from the others and features attractive traditional furniture. You feel as if you’re being hosted by a Moroccan family, yet your room has (almost) everything that you may need, including private bathrooms and showers. The owners are extremely helpful and really seem to enjoy serving their guests and making their stay more pleasurable. Breakfast in the morning was great. The location is also exceptional, as you’re right in the medina. The one thing I thought was a bit strange is that the website claims that each room has TV and phone, but our room had neither. Not that we cared, but it’s just inaccurate. All in all, it’s a place that you should not miss out on.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMK36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    53
    7
    10
    9
See reviews for
24
52
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We had a great time at Riad Dar Dmana. It's a traditional moroccan house turned into a small hotel (Riad), the decoration in the common spaces is beautiful, and our room had a lot of space. WiFi was available from the room. The breakfast was awesome, just what we needed to start our visit to the city. They arranged our transfer from the airport for a reasonable fee, and they found us a guide to explore the city, (Fez is a real maze!). The Riad is near the vehicle-transited part of the city, so it's stress-free to get to the riad with the baggage. Also, inside it's very quiet, you can almost forget there is a noisy city outside!
The staff is friendly and helpful. They took the time to explain everything to us, always with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamburgueta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

My husband and I and our teen-aged son stayed at Dar Dmana for three nights. The room I had booked was a bit small so we moved to a bigger room. The staff, unasked, moved our luggage while we were out which was a pleasant surprise. We weren't charged for the upgrade. The owner said he wanted us to have a good impression of Morocco. It worked; we did. We had two dinners at the Dar and the food was some of the best we had in Morocco. On both evenings, we were treated to traditional Moroccan dishes.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithMarch2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

The owner has opened his Riad for the world see. His personal attention to our happiness is what made the experience so good.

On the first night, he arranged an authentic Moroccan dinner at a family's house. I recommend you go with some friends to spend the entire night eating great food and having great conversation.

The second day was the best! The owner was kind enough to tell us that our arranged day guide was too expensive, and he arranged a perfect guided tour for us and saved us €300. We also became friends with the guide!

The owner is a trustworty man, and values relations with the people who come to his Riad.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Wagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Perfect location, simple, but nice, clean place, helpful and polite staff. Room was small and poorely heated, food very nice but way too expensive for Fes. Would not go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattClaire097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

The setting was gorgeous -- large central covered courtyard with beautiful tile work, intricate mosaic fountain, artistic stucco and rich-colored cedar wood reaching up 3 floors, accessible by tiled balconies with sitting areas on each floor, and nice plants hanging down and growing upward. Rooms were equally artistic and tasteful. The food was great (typical local breakfasts included, and suppers if desired), and even more impressive was the solicitousness of the proprieters and staff. They arranged a terrific guide for us: patient, knowledgeable, eager to arrange for us to see or do whatever we wanted. When the medina got to be too much for us, the riad provided a peaceful respite.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxuxx53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansbach, Ge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I can't recommend this place enough. The place is beautiful. The service was excellent. The owner and staff did everything possible to make our stay convenient. The tours they booked us with were honest for a change. Location was right next to the medina. I would recommend this place to anyone heading there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tolliges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
riad Toyour
riad Toyour
#40 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Salam Fes
Riad Salam Fes
#25 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#11 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Andalous
Dar Al Andalous
#56 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dmana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dmana

Property: Riad Dar Dmana
Address: Rue Sidi El Khiyat | Rue Salaj, Douh, Batha 20, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Fes
#38 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Dmana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dmana is located inside La Medina, in the UNESCO's World Heritage List but ideally positioned close to the Batha square and having easy car access. There is a parking 2 minutes away the Riad. Rooms : Being a Riad the rooms vary from one to the other but all has been decorated with care and taste, in traditional Moroccan style, reflecting the characteristics of the traditional Moroccan houses. All the 10 rooms and 4 suites has air conditioning, fairly big bathrooms and satellite tv, wifi as well as direct telephone line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar Dmana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dmana Fes
Riad Dar Dmana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing