We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Know You're in Morocco Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Dmana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Dmana
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Chicago, Illinoi
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You Know You're in Morocco Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is a beautifully atmospheric, gorgeously furnished hotel, which was once the home of a rich family. The staff is helpful and nice, the food is wonderful, the rooms and beds comfortable. You have to make sure to keep the plugs in the basins, or certain rooms have a bit of an odor. It has to do with the pipes used in some of the older hotels. I had the same problem in Naples when I stayed in an old hotel. But other than that, it was perfect, and has the advantage of being right in the Medina.

Room Tip: Try not to get the top floor, unless you're young and spry! There's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    53
    7
    10
    9
See reviews for
24
52
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I've been to Morocco many times and have stayed at several Riads. This one has the most welcoming owner and staff. Family run the dinner here is superb. Genuine in their wanting to make you comfortable I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurersyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, with a delightful staff. I highly recommend this hotel. It is a riad, meaning it started life as a palatial private residence. It has been lovingly converted into a small, boutique hotel. The hotel is located on the edge of the medina so it is easy to access, yet transports you out of the typical western hotel experience, allowing you to truly experience Morocco in a new, yet very comfortable way. Our stay at this hotel was the best accomodations we enjoyed during our visit to Morocco.

Our room was very comfortable and charming. The bathroom was roomy and contained a shower, but no tub. We were on the top floor and as there is no elevator, it was a bit of a hike to get there. Our luggage was delivered to our room by a young woman who lugged it up three flights of stairs. Yikes! This is not your typical, every room is an identical box hotel. Each room has its own shape, size and configuration and is lovingly decorated. There is a balcony that runs around the inside of each floor which affords a view down to the central dining area.

The staff could not have been more accomodating. Our request for ice, was promptly addressed (something which seemed to cause puzzlement at other places we stayed). When we couldn't figure out how to work the air conditioner in our room, a staff member was up there right away and after explaining we needed the remote control to work it, helped us locate the remote where it was hidden by my hat. *blush*

Breakfast was included and each day was a culinary adventure. The food was excellent! Meals are served in what was once the central garden around which the house was constructed. The area is now roofed over to enable air conditioning. The rooftop area affords a wonderful view of the city.

Why not 5 stars? There is no elevator. While we welcomed a bit more exercise, I can see others might find this challenging. I will add that our host was very open to reassigning accomodations to members of our group who found stairs to be more challenging. I value the experience of the staying in traditional, Moroccan accomodations over having an elevator, but others may not. There is wifi and it works well, but it to get 5 stars wifi should be accessible from every room. We had to go out onto the interior balcony and sit on the sofa there to get wifi. A wifi extender should be able to address this issue. Other than that, our stay at the Riad Dar Dmana was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel for your visit to Fes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
193 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We spent two nights at this Fes riad at the start of our Morocco holiday, and enjoyed it very much. It is a beaufiful 150-year-old mansion that is run by the family which owns and has restored it. The decoration is sublime,,,,,though the place seems a bit dark if you arrive at night, wait until the morning sun enters the courtyard!. The manager clearly takes pride in his family's patrimony, and gave us a brief history of the house when we asked. He was also very good in pre-arrival communications and arranged a car to pick us up at the airport, so finding the place was effortless. Our room was well-appointed and the heat pump worked well (important on cold winter nights). The location is first-rate, inside the Medina and walking distance to the major sights. We didn't have a meal there, other than breakfast (and the breakfast coffee was very good!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed here as part of an OAT tour and it was one of the two best places we stayed on the trip. The people were lovely, the food was excellent, the rooms were authentic, yet with the expected "amenities." Many authentic touches and an interesting story behind the house if you can find someone who knows it. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The two "suites" adjacent to the dining room are palatial!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BitterrootTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Dar Dmana was recommended by a colleague, and I am very grateful to him for introducing us to this beautiful riad run by the family homeowners. The proprietors are wonderful folk, and the lady of the house cooked the bestfood I have ever eaten in my life. The rooms are gorgeous on the whole - I wished I could have stayed in the Bahia room, or one of the suites on the ground floor. Each room has its own character and beauty. The couches on the first and second floors in the hallways overloooking the central courtyard were very comfortable places to sit, though they could use some better lighting for the darker winter evening hours. The staff is terrific, always providing everything we ever needed or requested. The staffwomen who offered us breakfast and kept the rooms lovely had excellent language skills, and were very gracious.
We went up to the rooftop, where the solar water heaters are placed, and enjoyed the best panoramic view of the city - even better than the also wonderful rooftop view from the Museum of Carpentry and Woodwork near Moulay Ismail. I wishes I could have stayed longer, and samples some of the other rooms, named either for a member of the owners' family, or for one of the peaks in the Middle Atlas. This riad was very conveniently located near Batha plaza and museum. Si Rachid and his house are terrific. Very Highly recommended! I want to take my students there as a group.

Room Tip: Tough to choose! The pictures onlne may help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rissieburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed for a week and the place was the highlight of our visit to fez, the house and its facilities were great and the food was just fantastic. Friendly people with great hospitality. If we would ever think to visit Fez again, the 1st reason will be to stay in dar Damana. Its location was the best ever, very close to the main taxi rank, 5 mins drive from the main city center, train station and the main taxi station. The closest bab was Bab Jeloud where good quality shops and restaurants are located with reasonable prices. They could also arrange your travel to and from airport, which always a good idea if you are not familiar with the city. They could also arrange for day or more tours round the medina or visiting other near by cities.

Room Tip: Best price can be obtained directly from the owner rather than websites or agencies. Any room is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenamj0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
riad Toyour
riad Toyour
#40 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Salam Fes
Riad Salam Fes
#25 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#11 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Andalous
Dar Al Andalous
#56 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dmana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dmana

Property: Riad Dar Dmana
Address: Rue Sidi El Khiyat | Rue Salaj, Douh, Batha 20, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Fes
#38 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Dmana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dmana is located inside La Medina, in the UNESCO's World Heritage List but ideally positioned close to the Batha square and having easy car access. There is a parking 2 minutes away the Riad. Rooms : Being a Riad the rooms vary from one to the other but all has been decorated with care and taste, in traditional Moroccan style, reflecting the characteristics of the traditional Moroccan houses. All the 10 rooms and 4 suites has air conditioning, fairly big bathrooms and satellite tv, wifi as well as direct telephone line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar Dmana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dmana Fes
Riad Dar Dmana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing