We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic riad”
Review of Riad Dar Dmana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar Dmana
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was our third riad in Morocco - by far the biggest. Quite spectacular and beautiful. Typical Moorish architecture and features. First room we had was fine but TV didn't work. Moved us to far superior 'suite' - think it was the most expensive. Very spacious and comfortable with small dressing area and amazing bath room. Only complaint was very dull lighting but this seems to be common in Morocco. Breakfasts enormous - something different every morning with lots of sweet things - again typical of Morocco. Didn't eat dinner there as you needed to give about 24 hours notice and we wanted to be a bit more spontaneous. Found a wonderful French restaurant a short walk away - Le Jardin des Biens. Staff at Dar Dmana helpful but a little reserved - think lack of English was the reason. Owner spoke good English though. Staff did not seem to speak much French either although they understood it. Very well situated for medina and more 'upmarket' area with some good restaurants and very pretty garden. Some building going on nearby - will probably become quite a smart area. Guarded parking right outside so taxis can get very close. Thoroughly recommend Dar Dmana as a beautiful base from which to explore Fez and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Rooms on first or second floor probably better than on ground floor. They might be noisy and a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damaris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

As stated in one of the reviews, this is a guest house converted from a large family home built about 600 years ago. It is beautiful and was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful ... Aziz was especially helpful with the luggage. As for the meals, they were excellent. Fatima was the chef during our stay and for such a young woman that has not had formal training, she is amazing!! Thank you to Aziz, Fatima and the rest of the staff, whose names I did not get, for making it feel as though we were visiting a family home. Also, you are within walking distance of shopping and restaurants and there are taxis sitting a short distance from the riad to take you wherever else you want to explore in Fez.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are no elevators ... Your luggage is carried to your room, but if you have a maj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Riad Dar Dmana is a guest house converted from a large family home built about 600 years ago. There is a large common court, used for dining. The huge carved wooden doors, the chiseled plaster work around the doors, the painted tiles, the richly embroidered cushions let you imagine the court of Sheherezad. Each room has a private bathroom. The family meals are excellent. The Dar Dmana is in the new medina so you need a guide to find the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakkasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The last review explains the good rating of this place on Trip Advisor; it can only be because people get cheaper rates if they give good reviews.
I stayed in one of the ground floor "suites", a double room with space for a sofa, but not a suite by any stretch of the imagination. The celing light & alcove lights didn't work, just a couple of low wattage wall lights, so I had to rely on my torch quite a lot.
The stench of sewage coming up from the bath plug hole made the whole room smell, & got worse when anyone in the riad flushed their toilet. There was also a very strong smell of damp.

The place is authentic in the sense that a lot of earth buildings that I saw in Morocco were falling down. The structural cracks in the wall above the bed were such that I actually prayed, before I went to sleep, that the place wouldn't collapse on me in the night. Can't say I've ever done this before...

There was mould on the walls, mainly in the bathroom, & something growing in the toothmug, which evidently hadn't been cleaned in quite a while.
I normally unpack, but didn't like to here as the place was so dirty. There were only 4 hangers (plus some cobwebs) in the wardrobe anyway, together with some heaps of seeds (possibly to try to cover up the bad smells?)

Walking around the sides of the bed involved climbing over furniture, as the bed was too wide for the width of the room. Wiring was pretty dodgy (see pic).

On the positive side, the architecture in the common areas was pretty & the staff were reasonably friendly; a couple of them (the owners?) also spoke English, which was a bonus.
However, do be aware that most of the photos accessible from the Trip Advisor website appear to be of a different riad; only about 20% appear to be for Dar Dmana.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WRGie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

You can get great rates if you ask nicely and promise to spread the word (for example, by writing a trip advisor review!). Fantastic interior and unbeatable location - quiet side street but only a 3 minute walk to Boujloud.

Room Tip: top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jm1091985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Riad Dar Dmana as part of a smae tour group. My room was on the ground floor adjacent to the eating are. It was spacious and well furnished. My one complaint is that my hand wash never dried and everything in my suitcase was became damp. Other guests on the upper floors had the same complaint. Our group dined here one night and the dinner was excellent. I recommend the experience. I have attached some pictures to encourage you to dine at the Riad. The staff are a family group and offer very fine service. This Riad should be part of your trip to Fes.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms did not have an outside window. Make sure you geta room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esccec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed here in April 2013. The building has been beautifully restored. The rooms are individually decorated, very attractive, and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. This was a highlight of my trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so rooms on the ground floor may be preferred to those on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tish91423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#49 of 101 in Fes
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Marjana suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Safadi
Dar Al Safadi
#53 of 101 in Fes
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#18 of 101 in Fes
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#33 of 101 in Fes
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 101 in Fes
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dmana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dmana

Address: Rue Sidi El Khiyat | Rue Salaj, Douh, Batha 20, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Fes
#37 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Dmana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dmana is located inside La Medina, in the UNESCO's World Heritage List but ideally positioned close to the Batha square and having easy car access. There is a parking 2 minutes away the Riad. Rooms : Being a Riad the rooms vary from one to the other but all has been decorated with care and taste, in traditional Moroccan style, reflecting the characteristics of the traditional Moroccan houses. All the 10 rooms and 4 suites has air conditioning, fairly big bathrooms and satellite tv, wifi as well as direct telephone line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar Dmana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dmana Fes
Riad Dar Dmana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing