We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“experience the beauty of a Fez Riad”
Review of Riad Dar Dmana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Dmana
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Spent 4 nights at Dar Daman in June. The owners are on site friendly and helpful. The Riad has been done beautifully with lovely antique pieces and traditional decor.
The rooms are lovely and the breakfasts lavish. The location is great, especially if you like to wander the medina or are there for the Sacred Music Festival.
Prices are mid range.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanche62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2009

excerpts from a travel diary...

Coming to Fes in the middle of the night was kind of frightening ( different language, different people, etc. ), but when we found the wonderful riad Dar Dmanan by chance, we instantly felt safe. Mr. Rachid, the owner of the riad, welcomed us very kind and friendly. During our 4 day stay he became a friend, helping us even as we had a realy serious problem...

The traditional maroccan riad is so rich of details, luxurious and represents beauty in every piece. We were very thankful to have found this piece of traditional arabian art.

Additionally, the staff is so warm and friendly - we felt like belonging to the family...
After every night a great maroccan breakfast ( different bread variations, eggs, olives, jam, etc.) was waiting for us, served by the friendly servicegirl Hakima.
One night we enjoyed a chicken tangine that was so delicious and tasteful. Afterwards we learned that the chef of the riad, Hayet, cooks only in the traditional way of maroccan cuisine - absolutely magnificent!!!

To sum up our experience: the stay at the Dar Dmana was the perfect start to our Marocco trip - beautiful, warm, friendly and luxurious - more than we ever wished for :)

- Yunus & Kristin

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriststern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 12 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 January 2009

This old family home turned riad has a sophisticated and beautiful appearance, yet is friendly, clean and comfortable to stay in. My winter stay was warm and comfortable, hot water available 24/7 and the public areas were all at a pleasant temperature. From the first welcome tea/coffee and biscuits the staff could not do enough to make my stay pleasant.

No TV - but that was an oversight at the time.

Situated close to one of the gates of the Fez Medina it makes quick forays into the medina simple yet for those requiring parking there is a monitored park nearby.

An ideal location for a lone traveller.

Added bonus - the food was of excellent quality, presentation and taste.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kay01nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Dar Dmana is a small family-run guesthouse, located in an attractive, traditional Moroccan house. It enjoys all the usual advantages of such an establishment over the large impersonal hotels you see around the edge of the medina.

I have always found the family friendly and helpful and the quality of the service offered has been consitently high. In the past the family has gone to considerable trouble to accommodate my arrivals and departures at unsocial hours, and without any extra charge.

I am restoring an old house in the Fez medina, and have often found the advice and assistance of the family useful, and sometimes invaluable.

Dar Dmana is a quiet, well-run guesthouse in a good neighbourhood. Its rooms are always clean and comfortable. The food is good (I particularly enjoy the salad dishes), although being a small guesthouse, the menu choice is limited (but there are plenty of good restaurants nearby if you want a change).

Although not cheap, I would still recommend Dar Dmana without hesitation because I know what to expect: a high standard of service and good accommodation in pleasant surroundings. This is my fifth time at Dar Dmana and I'm looking forward to returning next year.


James , Witham UK

Stayed: October 2008
Thank JamesWitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Stayed at the Dar Dmana for one night. We haden`t even brought our luggage to the room when the owner was already trying to get us to arrange a shopping tour to his nephews shop in the medina for the next day. we declined.
rooms are outrageously overprized (100 euros for a mediocre double). staff made us feel very unconfortable and didn`t even greet us when we would return to the riad.
the owner made us pay ten times the price you would pay at a teleboutique for an inland phonecall we made from the hotel and when we confronted him, he gave us some threadbare reason.
overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I strongly agree with the other review 'avoid at all costs'. I am surprised that there are so many good reviews of this riad as our experience was so negative.

I would definately not recommend this place and it certainly left a bad taste in our mouths. When we arrived we were invited to have some mint tea which we thought was a lovely touch. Beware this is just to sweeten you up for the hard sell. They tried to force several tours and activities on to us. In the end we did decide to go with their offer for a guide through the medina the next day, big mistake. We were told the price would be 200 dirhams and we checked this with the owner and his nephew severals times and got them to confirm that this would be all it would cost for the day. Of course this turned out not to be the case. When our guide arrived the next day the first thing we were told is that would would need 200 dirhams for the taxi. We protested as we had been told it would be 200 dirhams in total. The guide informed us that yes it was 200 for her but the taxi was seperate. She made a big fuss about having already booked it so we went along with it but weren't happy. We found the guide to be pretty useless, boring and totaly insincere. She even made us pay for her drinks and some cake in the morning. We soon got fed up of visiting shops where she would get commission and also we didn't fancy her taking us to an expensive restaurant so we could pay for her lunch so we ended the tour only half way through. We were relieved to be rid of her. We left this dump the next day and would like to have complained to the owner or his nephew when we were leaving but they were nowhere to be found. I think the guide tipped them off so they were avoiding us.

This place left a really bad taste in our mouths. The nephew tells you to be careful because a lot of people think tourists come with a car load of money but he knows this isn't true. Wrong that's exactly how you are made to feel. Both him and the owner are extremely insincere and over bearing, you can't relax in this place. They have no idea how to treat a guest and we found them to be very dishonest. Not surprisingly we were the only guests in the place for the two nights we stayed, but of course we were told that they were full the night before we arrived. Do not stay in this riad, it spoiled our first few days in Fez, and I wouldn't like this to happen to other people who are meant to be on holidays enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Safadi
Dar Al Safadi
#53 of 100 in Fes
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#51 of 100 in Fes
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar el-Ghalia
Dar el-Ghalia
#65 of 100 in Fes
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#32 of 100 in Fes
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#56 of 100 in Fes
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dmana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dmana

Address: Rue Sidi El Khiyat | Rue Salaj, Douh, Batha 20, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Fes
#38 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £63 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Dmana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dmana is located inside La Medina, in the UNESCO's World Heritage List but ideally positioned close to the Batha square and having easy car access. There is a parking 2 minutes away the Riad. Rooms : Being a Riad the rooms vary from one to the other but all has been decorated with care and taste, in traditional Moroccan style, reflecting the characteristics of the traditional Moroccan houses. All the 10 rooms and 4 suites has air conditioning, fairly big bathrooms and satellite tv, wifi as well as direct telephone line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar Dmana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dmana Fes
Riad Dar Dmana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing