We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”
Review of Dar Iman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Iman
Ranked #74 of 210 Fes B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Riad was beautiful, great location and the rooms where nice the place was decorated so nicely. Max @ the Riad was so hospitable, giving us tips on how to get around and what to see. I would definatley reccomend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatinawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    54
    8
    14
    1
See reviews for
34
76
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I absolutely loved this place. Person in charge ,Max , was extremely helpful any time needed. he went above and beyond to provide an outstanding service. Breakfast was very delicious as well. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukasekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu. Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spending 5 days at Dar Iman during the July music festival was a memorable experience. The riad is perfectly located in the medina for access to festival sites, just beyond the Bab Boulod (Blue Gate). Manager Max made us feel part of a special community, those of us who keep returning to Morocco to live briefly within Morocco's many splendored culture. Breakfasts each day featured delicious local foods, and the spacious, high-ceilinged rooms welcomed tired visitors at the end of each day. I will be back for the beauty of Fes and the hospitality of Max and Kawtar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

In addition to everything said in recent posts (about position, food, helpfulness and hospitality), all of which is absolutely true, we would add that Max and Kawtar are an absolute hoot. As well as being in the heart of the wonderful Fes Medina, by staying in this riad you will get an unforgettable insight into Moroccan life through the eyes of a droll Australian and his fiesty Moroccan wife. Loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoJo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spent a wonderful week in Fes at Dar Iman. It was very very hot and the riad was a welcome retreat especially the huge air-conditioned bedroom. Breakfast was delicious and ready for us whenever we woke.
Dar Iman is the real deal and the location is right in the heart of the old medina - this is by no means 5-star but is an ideal location from which to enjoy this part of Morocco. We were lucky enough to have a very authentic experience - made even more real by the unending assistance of our host, Max. The streets are full of cheeky urchins offering to guide or sell to you - fortunately I had the opportunity to play them at cards each evening and recover my days loses - thank you for assisting facilitate that Max - very special.
The guide and car contracted for our day tour out to Volubilis and Meknes were top-drawer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaihekeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I’m glad that I booked Dar Iman for our stay in Fes, at the busy time of the Sacred Music Festival.

Just a few minutes inside one of the main gates to the Medina, it was an ideal base to be able to walk to the Festival venues, enter deeper to explore the Medina maze or leave to take transport elsewhere.

Max and Kawtar seem to find the perfect balance between this being their home, and other peoples’ while they stay. Although I was keeping very strange hours, were always accommodating, helpful and supportive. Max’s experience in hospitality, both in Australia and Morocco, shows in his ‘just right’ attention to detail, such as the clear and helpful communication before our visit. Also in his willingness to answer what must be the same questions from guests again and again with a smile and a straightforward, personable manner.

When some of my daughter’s friends came to stay with us, Max and Kawtar were flexible and welcoming, providing a safe retreat from the sometimes overwhelming ‘attention’ from men on the streets. This review will likely appear with a note that I am a ‘friend’ of Max’s. Well, though we didn’t know him or the place before I booked, we feel that we are now; and I imagine many guests share that feeling. While there may be other more gilded or glamorous riads and dars in Fes, this was exactly right for us- a homely haven with a heart of gold.

Room Tip: We liked the room on the ground floor as we felt like the lounge area was part of our room. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Dar Imam is centrally located off one of the main streets of Fes. You have to go into a little side street which means you won't be getting the full force of noise from the main drag, but you are close enough to all the action. You literally walk 20 feet to it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The hot water works really well, too. it is full of the unique charms that you find in a riad, such as Moroccan lanterns, geometric floral patterned tile, and a central atrium. There is a lovely terrace above with a nice view of the city. By far, the best thing about this Riad is the host, Max. I have to say that if it wasn't for him we would literally have gotten lost, and probably sick by now. He knew all the ins and outs and what to see in the medina and where to eat. There is an AMAZING sandwhich shop so very close. I never thought I would ask seconds for spleen, heart, chicken, and sausage sandwiches, but I did! Why? Because it was awesome! And also very nearby there is a restaurant with amazing food that is run by 3 women. It was by far the best couscous I have ever had! And yup, Max recommended them. And, if the location still hasn't sold you, there is a hamam about a 2 minute walk from the riad, plus along the way you can buy that special black soap, too. His wife took me and another traveler. She helped set us up with the lady that was going to wash us, and really showed us the ropes, she even helped us buy the soap and she walked us to the hamam. Not only did they show us the ins and outs, but they also loned us their travel books so we could find our way through the medina. I really cannot stress enough how very helpful Max has been. It made our stay in Fes go much more smoothly than we had thought, and when we come back to Fes, we are coming back here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#30 of 99 in Fes
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#32 of 99 in Fes
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#10 of 99 in Fes
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dar El Hana
Dar El Hana
#79 of 210 in Fes
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Iman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Iman

Property: Dar Iman
Address: 6 Derb Ben Azahoum Talaa Kabira | Ancienne Medina, Fes 6300, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and comfortable riad is in a great location close to Ain Azleten and Bab Boujlod we are just off Talaa Kabira in the Ancienne Medinas of Fes. It has two grand suites on the ground floor and a further four double bedrooms on the first floor all with en suite bathrooms. Relax in the tranquil courtyard or on the roof terrace under the Berber tent, we have now opened a salon with TV. Very reasonable prices including delicious breakfasts, lunch and dinner on request. Close to parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Iman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing