We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Moroccan Experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Iman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Iman
Ranked #64 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Moroccan Experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Max and Kawtar are absolutely lovely hosts! Our first night there and they invited us to coffee with their friends and family they had visiting for the evening.

Max (who had an amazing breakfast waiting for us every morning) arranged some great tours for us and really helped us feel comfortable exploring the medina and Fez. Kawtar took us to a local Hammam and we had a great time there as well.

This was definitely the highlight of our trip and Max and Kawtar really gave us a wonderful Moroccan experience.
We left Fez with a very positive impression of Moroccan culture all thanks to Max and Kawtar!

-Emmy

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmtravelsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    54
    8
    14
    1
See reviews for
34
76
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Dar Iman is hosted by Max and Kawtar--two absolutely lovely, gracious people who helped us make our way through the maze of shops, restaurants, guides, donkey rides. I highly recommend Dar Iman as a place to stay in Fes.
Donna

Room Tip: Steep stairs to the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Riad was beautiful, great location and the rooms where nice the place was decorated so nicely. Max @ the Riad was so hospitable, giving us tips on how to get around and what to see. I would definatley reccomend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatinawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I absolutely loved this place. Person in charge ,Max , was extremely helpful any time needed. he went above and beyond to provide an outstanding service. Breakfast was very delicious as well. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukasekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu. Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spending 5 days at Dar Iman during the July music festival was a memorable experience. The riad is perfectly located in the medina for access to festival sites, just beyond the Bab Boulod (Blue Gate). Manager Max made us feel part of a special community, those of us who keep returning to Morocco to live briefly within Morocco's many splendored culture. Breakfasts each day featured delicious local foods, and the spacious, high-ceilinged rooms welcomed tired visitors at the end of each day. I will be back for the beauty of Fes and the hospitality of Max and Kawtar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

In addition to everything said in recent posts (about position, food, helpfulness and hospitality), all of which is absolutely true, we would add that Max and Kawtar are an absolute hoot. As well as being in the heart of the wonderful Fes Medina, by staying in this riad you will get an unforgettable insight into Moroccan life through the eyes of a droll Australian and his fiesty Moroccan wife. Loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoJo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spent a wonderful week in Fes at Dar Iman. It was very very hot and the riad was a welcome retreat especially the huge air-conditioned bedroom. Breakfast was delicious and ready for us whenever we woke.
Dar Iman is the real deal and the location is right in the heart of the old medina - this is by no means 5-star but is an ideal location from which to enjoy this part of Morocco. We were lucky enough to have a very authentic experience - made even more real by the unending assistance of our host, Max. The streets are full of cheeky urchins offering to guide or sell to you - fortunately I had the opportunity to play them at cards each evening and recover my days loses - thank you for assisting facilitate that Max - very special.
The guide and car contracted for our day tour out to Volubilis and Meknes were top-drawer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaihekeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#31 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#8 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryad Salama Fes
Ryad Salama Fes
#18 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Iman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Iman

Property: Dar Iman
Address: 6 Derb Ben Azahoum Talaa Kabira | Ancienne Medina, Fes 6300, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and comfortable riad is in a great location close to Ain Azleten and Bab Boujlod we are just off Talaa Kabira in the Ancienne Medinas of Fes. It has two grand suites on the ground floor and a further four double bedrooms on the first floor all with en suite bathrooms. Relax in the tranquil courtyard or on the roof terrace under the Berber tent, we have now opened a salon with TV. Very reasonable prices including delicious breakfasts, lunch and dinner on request. Close to parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Iman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing