We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate place to stay in Fez”
Review of Dar Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Victoria
Ranked #93 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greate place to stay in Fez”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Having stayed in several Dars and Rijads in Morocco I can state Dar Victoria was one of the best places we had a chance to stay in. Owned and reconstructed by French owners with an emphasis on detail. In places owned by locals one always has a feeling that the details have been omitted (something always doesn't fit, doors can't been closed, placement of lights doesn't make sense etc.). You can like it as a local specific but you will not find such things in here. We stayed 2 days and had a chance to fully enjoy the hospitality of the French manager in this beautiful house. The host was very nice and helpful, non-french speakers could appreciate her decent English. Food was delicious. We also appreciated a window leading to the street in our room since in Rijads there is always a problem with fresh air. Location of the place is also perfect since it is situated close to Medina. Avoid annoying Marrakesh! Go to more authentic Fez and stay in Dar Victoria!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Radim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Radim, many thanks for your comment! When you started we have forgottent to write some words in serbian! My memory is not so good if I cann't read. I hope all is good for you two! Best regards. Christine and her staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Placed in the old medina, this "dar" is a fascinating piece of history, where you can feel the scent of a shining culture and civilization.
Christine - the host - can become a teacher of history of art while unpuzzling the symbolistic of the breathtaking decorations of the inner walls of the courtyard.
Each of the rooms has its own history and specific decorations - you can relax and rest while enjoying the best comfort and food, after some quite tiring tours in the babel of medina.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Good morning Mhn22!

Thank a lot for your advice! Each one is special and unic. It's the same for houses.
We are lucky to manage Dar Victoria with is specific patio. I like to explain its story.
Aïcha and the staff thank you for your stay.
All the best for the both of you. And , maybe another time....!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed 4 days in this little Heaven's corner, myself, my wife and our two children (9 and 13).
This Dar is conveniently placed at 5 minute walk from Bab R'cif one of the Medina main gates and the delicious Place Seffarine, so it is ideal to visit the incredible, beautiful Fes Medina.
Dar Victoria is very clean and beautiful inside, all the suite are different and well furnished in Morocco style. There is also a large terrace on the top, on which Christine and his staff can serve breakfast (and what a breakfast we had!!!) or dinner. We stayed in Suite Saffire, large and silent, with 4 cozy beds.
Dar Victoria is run by Christine, a pleasant and interesting Frenchwoman, and with her we had the chanche tho have long conversations at night, in front of a hot herb infusion and looking at the beautiful engravings of the Dar interiors.
We choosed to have dinner in the Dar every night, and that is fine after strolling for all day up and down in the Medina souks, derbs and founduks; Aisha, the cook, pleased us every night with a different Moroccan speciality, all all the food was superb.

Thank you Christine for your hospitality, that was far more than a gentle business relationship, you made us feel betten than home.

Francesco, Elena, Virginia and Paolino

Room Tip: Saffire suite is ideal for a family of four people, but all the Dar is silent and one can sleep undi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Francesco, Elena, Virginia and Paolo,

Thanks a lot to went in Dar Victoria. What a pleasure it was.
Mum speaks still of you!
I liked our evenings speaking and eating "in family". Your children are so nice!
I hope your pictures are good and give you a very good memory about Morocco.
Maybe another day.... or in another time?!

All the best.

Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Dar Victoria is a magical Soufi house built 260 years ago with beautiful mosaic columns in the courtyard. Dar Victoria is situated in the Medina, so it's well located. Aiysha is a great cook. The food is delicious, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are beautiful. Christine will give a warm welcome.You can have a scrumptious breakfast on the rooftop terrace. The rooms are beautifully designed by a French designer. Each one is unique. Christine, Aiysha and Radia are wonderful people. Dar Victoria will make your trip to Fez very special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Hello Dear,

Thank a lot to think of us! It's always a pleasure to meet someone coming at home. It's so exiting to discover the world through different kind of people. But someone are friendlier than others, isn't it? You are some one special for me.
All the best.
Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We really loved our stay in Dar Victoria. Christine and her staff made us feel really welcome and looked after us so well, and Christine (who is French but speaks very good English) gave us lots of useful information about the sights and restaurants etc. in Fez. The whole house is beautiful, and the inner courtyard is a welcome calm spot after the somewhat frenetic bustle of the nearby Fez medina. There was an excellent and varying choice of delicacies at breakfast, plus the option of Moroccan eggs which were delicious, and we also found Aisha's cooking to be superb when we 'ate in' for the evening meal. The location in R'Cif is ideal, with the whole medina within walking distance. We didn't find the directions to Dar Victoria on its website particularly easy to follow, but in fact the house is only just off the Arsat Berdalla 'garden' (a few trees in a small square) which is right by the first taxi rank that you get to as you drive into the medina from the south through Bab Jdid.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coraline suite, which is probably the smallest one but still a generous size for tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear,

First thank a lot for your pictures. Aïcha and Radia are very happy!
We enjoyed to have people from everywhere. To share our knowledges about Fez is normal and it is a pleasure to make discovered all that we know.
Our best pleasure is to make guests happy. When we give a few we receive a lot!

Thank again for your message and share my best souvenir with your wife!

Maybe another day?

Best regards.
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was our first trip to Morocco and we couldn't have been happier. Dar Victoria is a wonderfully decorated building and Mme Christine and her staff are incredibly welcoming. Not only is the Riad a show in itself, it is also wonderfully located (2 minutes away from the heart of the Medina). Moreover, for those of you who are worried about logistics and transportation, Mme Christine will have all kinds of recommendations and contacts to share with you (including day-long trips outside Fez with a private taxi driver). Last but NOT least, meals served at the Dar - from breakfast to dinner - are simply amazing!! So sad this trip is over... will come back soon ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Not far from Fez Al Badi,is this unique Dar that was our home for 4 nights.Interesting architecture and tastefully decorated,we enjoyed our time here.Christine and her staff are superb,Nooruddin was helpful in guiding us through the intricate medina,Aiysha cooked delicious Moroccon cuisine and Radia took care of our rooms.We felt very at home and would definatelly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chikitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
2.9 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#49 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Victoria

Property: Dar Victoria
Address: 31 Rue Makhfia | Quartier Bourajoue, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Victoria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALLY SURPRISING 260 YEARS OLD HOUSE. MYSTERIOUS SYMBOLISM COVERING WALLS OF AUTHENTIC PATIO. 1 ROOM AND 6 SUITES ARE WAITING FOR YOU. IN DAR VICTORIA YOU CAN GET MANY ACCOMODATIONS IN CHARMING LUXURY SUITES. IN SEASON BREAKFAST ARE SERVED ON THE TERRACE OR IN THE COURTYARD. IN WINTER FIREPLACE IS THE BEST PLACE TO LOOK AT THE TV OR READ, LISTEN MUSIC, TAKE A CUP OF MINT TEA. REVERSE AIRCONDITONNER SYSTEM IN EACH PLACE. POSSIBLE TO RESERVE FOR DINNER. OUR STAFF WILL HELP YOU TO DISCOVER THE MEDINA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Dar Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing