We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$1,394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Fes Medina(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Riad Dar Guennoun(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
142
19
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
19
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftbeautiful riadold housethe hustle and bustleyogurtcuminrenovationhostsuitecourtyardtaxiscomfortdarebrahimbeautymoroccomedina
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Having stayed in several Dars and Rijads in Morocco I can state Dar Victoria was one of the best places we had a chance to stay in. Owned and reconstructed by French owners with an emphasis on detail. In places owned by locals one always has a feeling that the details have been omitted (something always doesn't fit, doors can't been closed, placement of lights doesn't make sense etc.). You can like it as a local specific but you will not find such things in here. We stayed 2 days and had a chance to fully enjoy the hospitality of the French manager in this beautiful house. The host was very nice and helpful, non-french speakers could appreciate her decent English. Food was delicious. We also appreciated a window leading to the street in our room since in Rijads there is always a problem with fresh air. Location of the place is also perfect since it is situated close to Medina. Avoid annoying Marrakesh! Go to more authentic Fez and stay in Dar Victoria!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Radim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Radim, many thanks for your comment! When you started we have forgottent to write some words in serbian! My memory is not so good if I cann't read. I hope all is good for you two! Best regards. Christine and her staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Placed in the old medina, this "dar" is a fascinating piece of history, where you can feel the scent of a shining culture and civilization.
Christine - the host - can become a teacher of history of art while unpuzzling the symbolistic of the breathtaking decorations of the inner walls of the courtyard.
Each of the rooms has its own history and specific decorations - you can relax and rest while enjoying the best comfort and food, after some quite tiring tours in the babel of medina.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Good morning Mhn22!

Thank a lot for your advice! Each one is special and unic. It's the same for houses.
We are lucky to manage Dar Victoria with is specific patio. I like to explain its story.
Aïcha and the staff thank you for your stay.
All the best for the both of you. And , maybe another time....!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed 4 days in this little Heaven's corner, myself, my wife and our two children (9 and 13).
This Dar is conveniently placed at 5 minute walk from Bab R'cif one of the Medina main gates and the delicious Place Seffarine, so it is ideal to visit the incredible, beautiful Fes Medina.
Dar Victoria is very clean and beautiful inside, all the suite are different and well furnished in Morocco style. There is also a large terrace on the top, on which Christine and his staff can serve breakfast (and what a breakfast we had!!!) or dinner. We stayed in Suite Saffire, large and silent, with 4 cozy beds.
Dar Victoria is run by Christine, a pleasant and interesting Frenchwoman, and with her we had the chanche tho have long conversations at night, in front of a hot herb infusion and looking at the beautiful engravings of the Dar interiors.
We choosed to have dinner in the Dar every night, and that is fine after strolling for all day up and down in the Medina souks, derbs and founduks; Aisha, the cook, pleased us every night with a different Moroccan speciality, all all the food was superb.

Thank you Christine for your hospitality, that was far more than a gentle business relationship, you made us feel betten than home.

Francesco, Elena, Virginia and Paolino

Room Tip: Saffire suite is ideal for a family of four people, but all the Dar is silent and one can sleep undisturbed
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Francesco, Elena, Virginia and Paolo,

Thanks a lot to went in Dar Victoria. What a pleasure it was.
Mum speaks still of you!
I liked our evenings speaking and eating "in family". Your children are so nice!
I hope your pictures are good and give you a very good memory about Morocco.
Maybe another day.... or in another time?!

All the best.

Christine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Dar Victoria is a magical Soufi house built 260 years ago with beautiful mosaic columns in the courtyard. Dar Victoria is situated in the Medina, so it's well located. Aiysha is a great cook. The food is delicious, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are beautiful. Christine will give a warm welcome.You can have a scrumptious breakfast on the rooftop terrace. The rooms are beautifully designed by a French designer. Each one is unique. Christine, Aiysha and Radia are wonderful people. Dar Victoria will make your trip to Fez very special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hello Dear,

Thank a lot to think of us! It's always a pleasure to meet someone coming at home. It's so exiting to discover the world through different kind of people. But someone are friendlier than others, isn't it? You are some one special for me.
All the best.
Christine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We really loved our stay in Dar Victoria. Christine and her staff made us feel really welcome and looked after us so well, and Christine (who is French but speaks very good English) gave us lots of useful information about the sights and restaurants etc. in Fez. The whole house is beautiful, and the inner courtyard is a welcome calm spot after the somewhat frenetic bustle of the nearby Fez medina. There was an excellent and varying choice of delicacies at breakfast, plus the option of Moroccan eggs which were delicious, and we also found Aisha's cooking to be superb when we 'ate in' for the evening meal. The location in R'Cif is ideal, with the whole medina within walking distance. We didn't find the directions to Dar Victoria on its website particularly easy to follow, but in fact the house is only just off the Arsat Berdalla 'garden' (a few trees in a small square) which is right by the first taxi rank that you get to as you drive into the medina from the south through Bab Jdid.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coraline suite, which is probably the smallest one but still a generous size for two people, decorated to a very high standard and with effective air conditioning. The window opens onto the street rather than the courtyard, but there was little noise during the night (certainly negligible compared with comparable locations in some European cities!).
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesjouarhate2, Gérant at Dar Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear,

First thank a lot for your pictures. Aïcha and Radia are very happy!
We enjoyed to have people from everywhere. To share our knowledges about Fez is normal and it is a pleasure to make discovered all that we know.
Our best pleasure is to make guests happy. When we give a few we receive a lot!

Thank again for your message and share my best souvenir with your wife!

Maybe another day?

Best regards.
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews