We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best riad in Fes”
Review of Dar Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Victoria
Ranked #94 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Marseille, France
1 review
“One of the best riad in Fes”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I have been travelling to Fes for the last 2 years but never find the right place to stay. But now i have. In the "Dar Victoria": the location is great, breakfast is heaven, linen clothes are what we call luxury. Not only the house is beautiful in its architecture, It is also the best service you will ever get. Christine, Nordine, Aisha, Raida, Mounir are here to help, genuinely !!!
i will say no more, just try it...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audreym7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collioure66190
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

A great place to stay on the edge of the Medina, in the Andalous quarter. Cheap taxis available just round the corner from pre-dawn to well after dusk. The renovated building is a beauty and unusual even for this city. The welcome was warm, the manageress Christine, a mine of information and a great conversationalist. Breakfast varied and copious (keeping us at table chatting for hours, rather than exploring) and a set dinner that was excellent. Spacious suites - some could do with a bit more lighting - and a lovely communal lounge with open fire. Service was good. Can I find fault? Ummm. Sometimes the perfume of Moroccan drains was a little irritating. But, hey, this IS Morocco and Marrakesh can be much worse.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
360 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband and I spent three days at Dar Victoria, and couldn't fault it. Everything you read in past reviews about the beauty of the house is true - walking from the narrow lane through the heavy wooden door takes you from turmoil to tranquility.
Christine is the heart of the house with eveything taking its cue from her. Her staff are warm, welcoming and helpful, but Christine "makes the place". Her love of Dar Victoria and her absolute commitment to making her guests feel at home shines through.
We enjoyed a wonderful evening at dinner with Christine and several other guests - American, French, English and Ozzie (us). Conversation flowed freely (more or less) in two languages, along with good wine and food. Breakfasts were delicious - especially the Moroccan eggs prepared with olive oil, cumin and a touch of pimento - and the amazingly creative home made confitures!
A day in the souk (yes, it's an up and down maze and no respector of personal space) was made possible and enjoyable by an excellent guide recommended by the riad (his name was Mohammed).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

In Morocco, you often don't get to see the beauty of the extraordinary architecture, because the decoration of the buildings faces inwards. At Dar Victoria, you get to live in a palace for yourself. The public spaces - the courtyard, sitting room and rooftop patio are gorgeous. Ask the owner to explain the mosaics in the courtyard to you. The rooms are characterful and well-furnished, and air-conditioned. The service is friendly and personal but also exemplary. Every morning, you will be introduced to a range of delicacies at breakfast. The only downside with Dar Victoria is that there is no where much to eat dinner nearby - you'll have to take a taxi to the area on the other side of the medina where all the restaurants may be found.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This was an amazing hotel! SO beautiful! The host was quite eager to please and ensure our stay was a good one. The room was spacious and very comfortable with double sinks, a towel warmer, a great shower and a comfortable bed (Topaz Room). I wish we had stayed more than 1 night!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Care_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed three nights and wished we had stayed longer. Loved Fes and this Dar. We had the Emerald Suite--on two levels. The lower level opened on the inside courtyard--very nice--with sleeping upstairs. Good arrangement. Breakfasts included were ample and good, either in courtyard or on outside roof terrace. Dinners available if requested. Staff were generally accommodating and helpful to all requests. Location was fantastic. In the old medina which we highly recommend; also very short walk to taxis if you wanted to go outside the medina for dinner but not really necessary. Internet cafe right across from the taxi stand--culture shock using a Moroccan keyboard with all letters scrambled from US. We had two days with a guide arranged from the Tourist Bureau and he was excellent--others staying here used guides arranged by the Dar and were also satisfied. The medina/souks in Fes are up and down compared with Marrakech which was flat. Must have a guide--no way to navigate on your own, but definitely walk through. Top notch accommodations at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandjanet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We have stayed at various Riads in Marrakesh, but Dar Victoria, in Fez was really a step above the rest. True it doesn't have an interior pool, as you may well find in Marrakesh, but you will find a wonderful host in the name of Christine with very attentive staff to go with. There are six rooms and we were lucky to have chosen a room (Saphyr) with two double beds and a view of the Medina as well as the beautiful interior of the Riad. Aisha is the cook and not only does she make an amazing Tajine, but the breakfasts are something special in themselves - try the beetroot and ginger jam, it really is out of this world!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrid_viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
2.9 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#47 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Victoria

Property: Dar Victoria
Address: 31 Rue Makhfia | Quartier Bourajoue, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Victoria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALLY SURPRISING 260 YEARS OLD HOUSE. MYSTERIOUS SYMBOLISM COVERING WALLS OF AUTHENTIC PATIO. 1 ROOM AND 6 SUITES ARE WAITING FOR YOU. IN DAR VICTORIA YOU CAN GET MANY ACCOMODATIONS IN CHARMING LUXURY SUITES. IN SEASON BREAKFAST ARE SERVED ON THE TERRACE OR IN THE COURTYARD. IN WINTER FIREPLACE IS THE BEST PLACE TO LOOK AT THE TV OR READ, LISTEN MUSIC, TAKE A CUP OF MINT TEA. REVERSE AIRCONDITONNER SYSTEM IN EACH PLACE. POSSIBLE TO RESERVE FOR DINNER. OUR STAFF WILL HELP YOU TO DISCOVER THE MEDINA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing