We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven of tranquillity in the busy Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Souafine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Souafine
Ranked #36 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of tranquillity in the busy Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

During our 4 night visit, we stayed in the Jnane rather than the riad itself although we dropped in every now and again to the riad to sit in the courtyard, get information from Jalal, and enjoy a magificent last night dinner on the terrace overlooking the Medina.

Both the riad and the jnane (house with garden as opposed to internal courtyard) offer quiet, cool relaxation after the adventures, noise, bustle of the medina. Returning to them felt like a reward after hours exploring, being jostled by donkeys, importuned by young men to let them be our guide, and the general wonderful overload of the senses that is the souk. The quietness of both houses is enhanced by the quiet but ready service of the staff. A terrific breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice was served on the jnane's side terrace overlooking the garden with its hidden place to relax and read if one so wished. The internal courtyard of the riad is everything one could wish of Islamic domestic architecture appealing to the senses with its fountain, trees, and bird-song.

Hassan's final dinner on the terrace of the riad overlooking the medina - and served with great refinement by Jalal - was a fitting final memory of this idyllic place.

The only heads-up for travellers: at the time of our stay (Oct. 2011), guests staying in the jnane rather than the riad, have to pay their bill in cash. We were not prepared for this and it caused a bit of last minute scrambling to get cash. However, Jalal told us they were working to fix this.

All in all, an idyllic time and highly recommended for other travellers.

Ann Murray, Chicago, Illinois

Room Tip: Ground floor room in jnane (very beautiful) avoids stairs and has easy access to garden. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
79
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Fantastic stay at this charming Riad. M. Bernard was exceptionally considerate and helpful at all times. We were very well looked after by Jilal, who showed exceptional patience in answering our many and varied questions. Hassan's cooking was superb (we dined at the Riad on 6 out of 7 evenings) and we had great fun with him trying to determine the ingredients of every dish. An absolute haven of peace and tranquility - not to be missed!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Our family of five and my mother stayed at the Jnane Souafine upon our first arrival in Fes. The Jnane has narrow corridors and steep stairs to access most rooms but, overall, exceeded our expectations. It has a pleasant and leafy garden we did not know of, and breakfast is served outdoor on the side balcony; it also has a roof terrace with tables and a good view of the Medina and greater Fes.
Mohammed is a very pleasant man who takes care of the Jnane beautifully and serves breakfast in the morning, which consists of the mostly continental-style breakfast you'll find throughout Morocco, with croissants, different types of breads and yoghurts.
The Berbere room where my mother and my son stayed is located on the ground floor (a good choice if you don't like stairs much) and is very nicely decorated, with a beautiful carved and painted wooden door. The Rbati room where we stayed is the most spacious of the rooms in the Jnane, on the top floor, but needs a bit of attention, with ceiling paint starting to peel off and and overall lack of details. Both rooms on the first floor, which we got to see, are probably the best choice of accommodation, with nice tiled floors, nice doors and even nice bed spreads.
Dinner can be reserved in the nearby Riad, but it is not very good value for money, given that the Jnane is only 15 minutes away from Bab Boujloud, where many inexpensive restaurants are located. There's also a very decent restaurant next door to the Jnane.
Staff at the larger and more expensive nearby Riad will provide any help you need - Jalal kindly helped my mother organise a people's carrier with driver which was with us for 4 days and made our trip to Morocco a success.
Overall, the staff was faultless, the location of the Jnane good, but if we were ever to go back to Fes we would rather stay at Riad Alkantara, a magnificent riad a bit closer to the main medina road, with a beautiful large swimming pool set in pretty gardens, luxurious rooms and plenty of space (and, accordingly, twice as expensive).

Room Tip: first floor rooms are the best for view and decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

I stayed at Riad Souafine with a group of girlfriends and don't have the words to say how wonderful this place was to us. They truly make you feel welcome and provide amazing service - both in house and help with connections around the city. Jaleal was the BEST! host anyone could ask for!! Highly recommend! you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reggiegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

This is a riad that the is listed in riadsmorocco.com under the unforgettable category. Though it is a lovely riad, I would categorize a slightly lower category - deluxe. This should not be regarded as a negative, but only as a more accurate star rating of the riad. Great service - homely and superb food.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angieslist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

I travelled to Fes with a group of female friends and Jelal, Bernard and the staff at Riad Souafine couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. We had a really wonderful trip, and were sad to leave our new friends!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMAHER00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

"Classy" would you speak of the Riad or of Hassan's cooking. Very quiet for a tired businessman. Well serviced although very discreet and tips on how to get where you want to go either in terms of visit, souk exploration or trips around Fez.
Very good balance in terms of cost/benefit

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z0uhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#24 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Laayoun
Riad Laayoun
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Al Safadi
Dar Al Safadi
#47 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Norma
Riad Norma
#43 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Souafine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Souafine

Property: Riad Souafine
Address: 2 Oued Souafine | Ziat - Douh, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Souafine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina of Fez, in the residential district of Ziat, this guest house offers a range of 7 luxuous rooms, fully equipped and an unforgettable view that overlooks the heart of the ancient town. Suites range in size from 38 to 125m, they are chic and roomy, and have been recently renovated in the Fassi traditional style. For the gourmets, our chief will be proud to prepare for you the ultimate best Moroccan recipes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Souafine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing