We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a beautiful riad”
Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Tizwa Fes
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My stay in Riad Tizwa was great, but the service made it memorable. I stayed at their cheapest room, and although small, it was well designed and very beautiful. Miriam, the proprietress, was very attentive and helped me with everything from finding my way around Fes to finding a really low key but really good restaurant. She made sure that my hotel stay was relaxing and enjoyable...and it was! My stay was beyond perfect, one of the best experiences I have had with a hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

As with its sister riad in Marrakesh, the location is perfect for a stay in Fes, it is only a few minutes walk from the medina. Similarly, the architecture and decor has been impressively restored and although grander than its Marrakesh counterpart, it loses none of the idyllic ambience its owners have created. The riad has two terraces with impressive panoramas over the city and are beautiful to spend time either having the delicious breakfast in the morning, sunbathing in the afternoon or equally, to enjoy dinner in the evening with friends.

My stay there was exquisite on every level and some of the best sleeps I have ever experienced!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I spent 4 nights in Riad Tizwa which is the perfect place to stay when visiting Fez. It's a quiet location near to the medina. It has been beautifully restored and you feel as if you are stepping back several centuries when you walk in - with its stunning ceramic tiles, courtyard open to the skies and narrow steep stairways. But it is fully modernised and very clean and the staff could not have been more attentive. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a special treat.

Room Tip: The one at the top on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidgreen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

My girlfriend and I visited Fes for four nights and chose to stay at Riad Tizwa despite it being slightly more expensive than we had planned to spend. The Riad exceeded our expectations in every way. We were greeted with mint tea and cake after a late flight. The room was luxurous (with a four poster bed, sofa and private shower room) and sat within a beautifully decorated building.

Tizwa has a great roof terrace where a delicious breakfast is served. The single best thing about Tizwa is the staff who are very attentive without being intrusive. They are very knowledgeable and made great recommendations for eating and seeing the city and they greeted us with a smile every time.

The final thing to mention is that Tizwa is an environmentally aware place to stay and a note in the bathroom was useful in helping us to be aware of this too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The staff were great and so helpful. They arranged everything for us and were extremely hospitable. They welcomed us with traditional Moroccan tea, and the food was amazing, and all cooked fresh at the Riad. We will definitely go back at some point

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

The only thing I will add to the appropriately glowing reviews is that when there is a problem, the staff (especially Myriam and Samir) show a warmth, intelligence, and commitment (to the guests) that more than compensate. I am an older traveler with high standards, and Riad Tizwa did not disappoint. Try the wonderful breakfast on the roof even if the weather is less than ideal. And remember when you pay the bill to leave something extra for the staff. They divide the tip among them.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank olzybots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Wandering around Fes, feels like being in a Shakespeare play. It's extraordinarily mediaeval mixed with the North African exotic. We were recommended Riad Tizwa as it's slightly above the Medina with super views over and beyond the Atlas mountains and really easy to find - given that Fez is the words largest labyrinth, that's priceless. The riad is incredible, high, with a feeling of ornate grander and amazing value. Our room was huge with a roaring fire - v rosemantic! We took the train there with is 7 chilled hours and now there's a direct flight to and from Marrakech which is less than an hour.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzyb_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#18 of 100 in Fes
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#47 of 100 in Fes
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#4 of 100 in Fes
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
0.4 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#31 of 100 in Fes
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £35 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizwa Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing