We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Tizwa : Fes, what a beautiful time”
Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Tizwa Fes
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I stayed in Fes in April and had the best time ever. I was travelling alone, and decided to extend my stay (twice) at Riad Tizwa. The place is just like a palace, the staff were friendly giving the right amount of attention (not too little, and not too much). Best food i have tasted in Morocco, great breakfasts and a bed that made me sleep for 12 hours. Nice touches: rose petals, natural soap and an eye out for the environment. Totally recommend it. Stayed in Rabat, Essaouira and Marrakech, but like Fes the best.

I would totally recommend this place for the intelligent traveller looking for good place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryHercules007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2009

Stayed here in November 2008. Very disappointing. Best thing about this place was the driver who collected and returned us to the train station. It was a cold and very impersonal. Staff (young guy (he did his best) and a young lady) very inexperienced. No sign of the owners. After all our travelling, we just wanted to relax for a while upon arrival but the Receptionist was wanting us to eat (pronto) the meal that we'd booked. Breakfast was abismal. Considering we were so near to the Medina , we were served croissants from same pack for days. Packet jams and honey etc etc We had to pay extra for eggs and considering all the delicious bread in Morocco, ours was a western baguette (goodness knows where they found it but I don't think the locals ever saw the like. The decor was not quite right. Nowhere to put your stuff in the bathroom, the bedroom was badly set out, although big. When we were having breakfast (we were on the ground floor) I noticed the receptionist was inside our bedroom (slipped in through a back door) and was cleaning our room before we'd finished our ablutions. She cackled constantly with the locals who popped in regularly when we were there which was not a little irritating. When we got back after a long day out in the cold we had to ask them to light the fire in the lounge for us. The lounge area was so uncomfortable and completely wrong. We did write a letter of complaint to the owners who offered to refund us the cost of the eggs.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juniper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I've just got back from a very relaxing 5 day holiday in Fez , Morocco . I highly recommend Riad Tizwa , it is fabulously restored ,very relaxing , comfortable , centre located ,and the staff couldnt be any friendlier or more helpful
The Riad has beautiful rooms and bathrooms
The breakfast and dinner meals were excellent
The city Fez has a lot to offer , we had a guide who took us to the most amazing places
After 5 days we came back to London wanting for more and already planning our next trip to Fez and Riad Tizwa
I'll share a photo of me enjoying some mint tea in the courtyard of this memorable Riad
Cheers

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank london_boi_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Had a four day birthday break in Fez. And to be honest it couldn't have been better.
The Riad Tizwa is a gem - with all the features of a traditional Morrocan villa, cool inner court yard, beautiful mosaic tiles, painted ceiling and sunny roof terrace. However what made the trip really special was the service and the lovely staff.
The food was great - breakfast was served anywhere but we tended to eat on the top roof terrace. The breakfast included, chocolate coissant, delicious home made vanilla yoghurt, fruit salad, museli, bread, butter and jam as well as pancakes dipped in honey.
We had dinner on the terrace one evening, which was probably the tastiest thing we had all holiday. I cannot recommend the lamb and date tagine with almonds highly enough. You have to give a couple of hours notice as everything is cooked from scratch but dinning on the terrace is a real treat (very romantic).
I think what makes the difference between Riad Tizwa from other palaces I have stayed in Morocco is the genuine warmth of the welcome and the interest everyone toke of us. They arranged for a birthday cake (beautifully iced with my name) as apparently effortlessly as a brilliant guide to take us on a walking tour of the city. Which was fascinating with trips to ancient madras, the tannery and tile makers.
We had a charming room, on the top terrace and spent lots of time lounging around reading. The room had an ipod dock, wireless internet connection and beautiful bathroom. Was very sad to leave as we only got to scratch the surface of Fez.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Highly recommend this riad! We recently stayed for three days with a total of 5 in our party. The staff was competent, friendly, and went above and beyond the call to ensure our every need was met. The breakfast and dinner meals were excellent, and the staff even went to the extra effort of preparing a "walking lunch" for us on the day of our departure.

Rooms were comfortable, well appointed, clean, and the overall "feel" of the place was great! Excellent rooftop location for dinner meals and sunset views over the medina. The hotel staff organized several day trips for us, using a combination of local guides and the hotel driver even served as an ad hoc guide during a day trip to Volublis and Meknes. We can't say enough about the staff...........the best!

I know this seems like a overly glowing review, but we travel frequently, and to have an exceptional experience like this deserves recognition. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveinseoul3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We had a wonderful weekend in Fes, staying at this beautiful, peaceful and welcoming Riad. The staff were utterly charming and the manager was a fantastically friendly and helpful source of information about the city and Moroccan life. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and decorated with an eye for detail. The terrace has great views over the city and though the house is located in one of the less lively areas of the medina, that makes it quiet, easy to find and perfect for relaxing away from the hecticness that can sometimes be a bit overwhelming.
We didn't eat lunch or dinner there, but the breakfasts were wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jung0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Recently stayed at Riad Tizwa for a long weekend break. Found it to be spacious and stylish with every convenience catered for. A lovely suite up on the roof provided a peaceful haven for much needed rest and relaxation. The lovely staff were all friendly and really helpful. Seriously great breakfasts to set you up for the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmundo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#21 of 100 in Fes
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#51 of 100 in Fes
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#42 of 100 in Fes
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £37 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizwa Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing